Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   Please help!! Lights!!! (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/please-help-lights-205295.html)

alecprice1 12-13-2012 07:27 PM

Please help!! Lights!!!
 
Hi I bought the hella 500ff lights and ive been trying to figure out how to wire them and i have no idea. Everything i see says wire them to the high beams but i dont want to do that...I just want them to be wired with the switch it came with....All the diagrams havent helped because they all show something different...If someone could please help with this i have been trying to do it forever!!

Jerry Bransford 12-13-2012 07:49 PM

Did you buy a pre-wired wiring kit that has a relay integrated into it? That makes getting driving lights installed properly an easy job. Especially since driving lights must have/be controlled by a relay, you don't just want just a switch controlling them.

I agree that you should wire them so they are on only when the high beams are on. This is the reason... so when you suddenly encounter oncoming traffic with your driving lights on, all you have to do is hit the headlight high/low-beam dimmer control on the stalk and both your brights and the driving lights will shut off together.

I had my first driving lights wired so they were not connected to the high beams and it was a PITA having to reach for/find the driving light switch at the same time I'm shutting the high beams off & the oncoming traffic is already flashing their brights at me.

Now it's one flick with the high beam switch on the stalk & they both shut off together. When would you ever want the driving lights on without the high-beams being on as well anyway?

brokeagin 12-13-2012 08:02 PM

I have a small pair I can over ride with a switch hooked to my low beams and my big ones hooked to my high beams also hooked to switch. So much easier than fumbling with switches when meeting traffic.

lifted tj 12-13-2012 08:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alecprice1
Hi I bought the hella 500ff lights and ive been trying to figure out how to wire them and i have no idea. Everything i see says wire them to the high beams but i dont want to do that...I just want them to be wired with the switch it came with....All the diagrams havent helped because they all show something different...If someone could please help with this i have been trying to do it forever!!

I had the same set up on my ZJ, you don't have to wire them into the high beams, ground the lights to there own housings run the Power wires together, like your running a normal set of lights just with the inline fuse and the relay mount the relay on the fire wall and run the wires for the switch through the firewall I ran the power to the battery like normal, and the green wire I ran to the negative cable, it's been a few months from when I did mine and I switched them to my wrangler with the factory clips

alecprice1 12-13-2012 08:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lifted tj (Post 3101417)
I had the same set up on my ZJ, you don't have to wire them into the high beams, ground the lights to there own housings run the Power wires together, like your running a normal set of lights just with the inline fuse and the relay mount the relay on the fire wall and run the wires for the switch through the firewall I ran the power to the battery like normal, and the green wire I ran to the negative cable, it's been a few months from when I did mine and I switched them to my wrangler with the factory clips

so i can use the green wire that comes from the switch just as the negative wire straight to the battery??

alecprice1 12-13-2012 08:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford (Post 3101362)
Did you buy a pre-wired wiring kit that has a relay integrated into it? That makes getting driving lights installed properly an easy job. Especially since driving lights must have/be controlled by a relay, you don't just want just a switch controlling them.

I agree that you should wire them so they are on only when the high beams are on. This is the reason... so when you suddenly encounter oncoming traffic with your driving lights on, all you have to do is hit the headlight high/low-beam dimmer control on the stalk and both your brights and the driving lights will shut off together.

I had my first driving lights wired so they were not connected to the high beams and it was a PITA having to reach for/find the driving light switch at the same time I'm shutting the high beams off & the oncoming traffic is already flashing their brights at me.

Now it's one flick with the high beam switch on the stalk & they both shut off together. When would you ever want the driving lights on without the high-beams being on as well anyway?

Thats a good point...i guess i should just wire them to the high beams...i thought i would just wire them like there own set of lights...but i could just use them with my high beams i guess...i just dont know which wire to connect them too so they are with my high beams....

lifted tj 12-13-2012 08:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alecprice1

so i can use the green wire that comes from the switch just as the negative wire straight to the battery??

That's what I did. Lol n it worked

alecprice1 12-13-2012 08:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lifted tj (Post 3101475)
That's what I did. Lol n it worked

lol damn thats awesome....now for the 2 wires coming from the lights...do i just ground the blue one and for the blacks just run them to the relay?

Patrick H 12-13-2012 08:16 PM

I personally wire all my auxiliary lights so I can run them regardless of headlight operation. I have a small set of flat/ wide beam (similar to a fog beam, but not amber) that I run all the time when the headlights are on, especially the low beams in town. They are aimed low so as not to blind oncoming drivers, but really help light up the sides of the road to help spot deer (yes, in town).

lifted tj 12-13-2012 08:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alecprice1

Thats a good point...i guess i should just wire them to the high beams...i thought i would just wire them like there own set of lights...but i could just use them with my high beams i guess...i just dont know which wire to connect them too so they are with my high beams....

If you have a test light and a buddy handy probe the wires when the high beams are on? Jerry is pretty good with jeeps, he might have more insight that I don't. Iv only had my wrangler 5 months and Jerry helped get mine going when I bought it.

alecprice1 12-13-2012 08:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lifted tj (Post 3101486)
If you have a test light and a buddy handy probe the wires when the high beams are on? Jerry is pretty good with jeeps, he might have more insight that I don't. Iv only had my wrangler 5 months and Jerry helped get mine going when I bought it.

Im in the same boat....ive had my wrangler for 4 months now....Im just trying to make this as easy as possible lol me and my buddy are doing them tomorrow...he has 2 lights and i have 4...ive had them for a while so i just want to get them working

lifted tj 12-13-2012 08:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alecprice1

Im in the same boat....ive had my wrangler for 4 months now....Im just trying to make this as easy as possible lol me and my buddy are doing them tomorrow...he has 2 lights and i have 4...ive had them for a while so i just want to get them working

The black is ground and blue is power, I have two hella 500ff wired to my factory fog light switch, and two 100w KC's mounted on the wind shield, that the po had installed and didn't run them very well so I gotta re wire, sucky thing is mine came with a 6 foot western plow so once I connect that I won't have my fog lights I think.

alecprice1 12-13-2012 10:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lifted tj (Post 3101554)
The black is ground and blue is power, I have two hella 500ff wired to my factory fog light switch, and two 100w KC's mounted on the wind shield, that the po had installed and didn't run them very well so I gotta re wire, sucky thing is mine came with a 6 foot western plow so once I connect that I won't have my fog lights I think.

oh damn...well thank you so much...im gonna try putting the green right up to the battery, if it doesnt work ill just end up putting them with my high beams...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.