Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   430N Randomly Resets EQ Settings (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/430n-randomly-resets-eq-settings-205384.html)

KittyPrawn 12-14-2012 09:37 AM

430N Randomly Resets EQ Settings
 
This has happened to me about 4 or 5 times now. I will park my Jeep some place and get out. When I get back in and start my car, my radio starts on the info SAT station. The settings on my EQ are all reset and I have to put them back.

My preset stations don't reset, and I don't have anything on my harddrive to know if those things are effected.

Does anyone have this issue? Any ideas of what's happening? I haven't checked the wires, but I would assume if it were a loose wire issue, it would happen while I'm driving and maybe hitting bumps. This has only happened after I've parked and turned the vehicle off.

rfortune 12-14-2012 09:52 AM

Happened to me 3x now. Once just the EQ and twice the EQ and all presets were wiped out. No idea what causes it, but like you it happens when the vehicle is turned off not while in use.

LarsA 12-14-2012 10:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KittyPrawn (Post 3103118)
This has happened to me about 4 or 5 times now. I will park my Jeep some place and get out. When I get back in and start my car, my radio starts on the info SAT station. The settings on my EQ are all reset and I have to put them back.

My preset stations don't reset, and I don't have anything on my harddrive to know if those things are effected.

Does anyone have this issue? Any ideas of what's happening? I haven't checked the wires, but I would assume if it were a loose wire issue, it would happen while I'm driving and maybe hitting bumps. This has only happened after I've parked and turned the vehicle off.

Happened to me once, also while the Jeep was parked overnight; have owned mine a little less than 2 months now. My 430N just seemed to reset itself completely: equalizer settings back to 0, custom background photo gone, Bluetooth not linking up with my phone, etc. The harddrive contents didn't get erased, though. Minor stuff, but annoying nonetheless; hope it doesn't keep happening...

KittyPrawn 12-14-2012 10:09 AM

My Bluetooth hasn't lost the links to my phone/ipod. So, the EQ is really the only problem I've run into.

I have a scheduled service appointment tomorrow for a free first oil change. Maybe I'll ask them to take a look at it, or ask them if they've heard of this problem.

SouthTJ 12-14-2012 10:44 AM

Happened to me once. I came out of work and the 430 was off and I always leave it on. Stations intact, bluetooth still connected and just EQ settings reset. Hasn't happened since.

KittyPrawn 12-14-2012 11:42 AM

The most interesting trend I've seen so far... is that we all have 2013 Rubicons. I'd like to see if some people without Rubicons have this issue. If they don't, what could be related to the problem that only exists with the Rubicon?

Riccochet 12-14-2012 11:45 AM

Mine is a 2012 Rubicon and it does it from time to time.

termite 12-14-2012 12:33 PM

I have a 2012 Sahara and it has done it occasionally. It does not seem to matter whether the Jeep has been left overnight or if it was only shut off for 10 minutes. It is pretty random. Maybe once every couple of months.

KittyPrawn 01-04-2013 09:56 AM

So, just as an update to this...

I brought my Jeep in for my free first oil change and mentioned there was this issue. I also mentioned that I did not think it was a hardware issue.

So, they're replacing my radio. If you guys bring it in and they decide to replace the radio, there is one thing you should check if you use Sirius at all. The dealership decided to transfer my radio at the time. I went in on Dec 19th. I can't get back to actually replace the radio until Jan 12. That's 3 weeks where I have had no access to Sirius.

It isn't a huge deal for me right now because it is still the free trial and I have other radio options. But, just something to watch out for!

I'll let you guys know if this fixes anything with the random turn offs and resets. But, I have a feeling that it won't.

JandS 01-04-2013 10:01 AM

Our 2012 Rubi does it occasionally

SoFlaJeep 01-04-2013 10:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KittyPrawn (Post 3181480)
So, just as an update to this...

I brought my Jeep in for my free first oil change and mentioned there was this issue. I also mentioned that I did not think it was a hardware issue.

So, they're replacing my radio. If you guys bring it in and they decide to replace the radio, there is one thing you should check if you use Sirius at all. The dealership decided to transfer my radio at the time. I went in on Dec 19th. I can't get back to actually replace the radio until Jan 12. That's 3 weeks where I have had no access to Sirius.

It isn't a huge deal for me right now because it is still the free trial and I have other radio options. But, just something to watch out for!

I'll let you guys know if this fixes anything with the random turn offs and resets. But, I have a feeling that it won't.

\

You should be able to do that without returning to the dealership yourself. Call Sirius, have your ESN number handy, and tell them that you are on a trial membership and the manufacturer had to replace the radio and that radio needs activating. When you give them the ESN number they'll confirm your membership and send a signal to the radio telling it that it's okay to receive their signals. Simple as that!

Go to this URL for instructions on how to find the ESN:

Find Your Sirius Radio ID - SiriusXM Radio

SoFlaJeep 01-04-2013 10:15 AM

I also have the 430N in my 2013 Sahara JK and it has all sorts of little quirks. If I'm listening to the iPod and have "Random" selected then turn off the vehicle, when I return "Random" is deselected and when I press the Menu button the screen that allows one to select Random is gone. I have to select something besides "AUX" then select AUX again and it's back and I can select Random. Frequently it will completely lose my iPhone (usually when I'm Bluetooth streaming) and that requires some jockying around to get back. All in all my opinion of the unit is pretty low given its cost and all of its quirks. It also completely loses the iPod which will require that I disconnect the USB and reconnect it and then it's rediscovered. I intend to bring this up when I go for the first service.

KittyPrawn 01-04-2013 10:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SoFlaJeep (Post 3181527)
\

You should be able to do that without returning to the dealership yourself. Call Sirius, have your ESN number handy, and tell them that you are on a trial membership and the manufacturer had to replace the radio and that radio needs activating. When you give them the ESN number they'll confirm your membership and send a signal to the radio telling it that it's okay to receive their signals. Simple as that!

Go to this URL for instructions on how to find the ESN:

Find Your Sirius Radio ID - SiriusXM Radio

I called Sirius. That's how I found out what the issue is. I don't have the replacement radio yet. I still have the old one. My Sirius account has the NEW radio ID - for the radio that isn't installed yet. They can't send a refresher signal to my radio because it isn't considered active on the account. It would cost money to swap it back. Believe me. I've tried. I've been on the phone with Sirius for more than 4 hours total since I lost signal to begin with and didn't know why.

SoFlaJeep 01-04-2013 10:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KittyPrawn (Post 3181606)
I called Sirius. That's how I found out what the issue is. I don't have the replacement radio yet. I still have the old one. My Sirius account has the NEW radio ID - for the radio that isn't installed yet. They can't send a refresher signal to my radio because it isn't considered active on the account. It would cost money to swap it back. Believe me. I've tried. I've been on the phone with Sirius for more than 4 hours total since I lost signal to begin with and didn't know why.

Ouch! Bit of a sticky wicket isn't it? Oh well I should not have assumed that the new radio was already in your Jeep.

Good luck!

KittyPrawn 01-04-2013 10:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SoFlaJeep (Post 3181637)
Ouch! Bit of a sticky wicket isn't it? Oh well I should not have assumed that the new radio was already in your Jeep.

Good luck!

Yeah. If I were paying for this, I probably would have raised hell. But, because it's not costing me much more than time (and really, what better do I have to do but sit in my car and talk to Sirius customer service during rush hour traffic), I will just wait until my appointment in a few weeks to let the Service Department know how they messed up. The next person they do it to might not be as tolerant!

SouthTJ 01-11-2013 04:49 PM

Happened to me a second time. First time was a month or so ago coming out of work and the jeep had sat for about 4 hours. This time I ran in a store, bought some ammo, came out and eq was reset. Only way I know is that the radio was off and I never turn it off.

Let us know what they say when you take it in, Deb.

KittyPrawn 01-14-2013 02:03 PM

This is what I know they did to my Jeep:

1. They flashed it. I think this was an update for it.
2. They replaced the radio. I couldn't get any confirmation as to why this was necessary. It may have been as instructed.

I can't tell you if this has definitely fixed the issue. I know I didn't have this problem all last month between when they flashed my system and when they replaced the radio. But, with something this inconsistent, I don't know if it's fixed or luck. I don't know if the radio replacement was necessary, and I suspect that it may not have been.

kappaknight 01-14-2013 02:40 PM

My 430N radio acts up too.

The EQ has been reset twice. I thought maybe I wasn't hitting the SAVE button correctly or something.

It's randomly lost my iPhone 5 as a media player while connected via the wire.

It never picks up the iPhone in time when doing bluetooth streaming. It'll try, then default to radio, then I have to bring it back to AUX if I want to listen to it.

I'd like to keep it stock to deter theft, and I honestly don't care too much about it. it'd be nice if it just worked as intended though. I'm thinking about getting a Lockpick at some point. It'd be a shame to waste it on a half broken system.

CharacterZero 01-14-2013 02:55 PM

On my 430N, I like to listen to a USB drive (MP3s) on random play. Every time I start the Jeep, I must switch off AUX (select radio), then go back to AUX, then select menu, then select random play. Pretty lame design flaws that it can't remember random play across restarts and that I must leave and return to AUX to enable access to the correct menu. :nonono:

siddious33 01-18-2013 01:58 PM

My 2012 Sahara does this occasionally too. No real rhyme or reason to when or what causes it. Mine will reset the equalizer and kick you to the Sirius info station, but it keeps my presets and usually never has an issue with the iPod functions.

I just chalk it up to things that are quirky on the Jeep, like when the AC just cuts off for 3-4 seconds when you stop at a light and then kicks back on again. I thought that was a serious issue, but thanks to this forum I know lots of other Wrangler drivers experience it as well.

lesgoff 05-20-2013 10:12 PM

My 2012 Sahara (Arctic) also does this randomly. The EQ, Photo and presets are reset randomly. I had it do this once while driving. Maybe I will get the dealership to check it out during my next service.

LewdDude 05-21-2013 08:23 AM

just by chance, it may not have anything to do with it, but there is a reset button on the left side of the steering wheel... any chance you guys could be hitting that? I know I did once, but on purpose to see what would happen. I noticed when I got my jeep while trying to get the ECO MPG estimate to show, the units were all set to KPH and I set them all to MPH and when I hit the reset button on the wheel, everything reset...lol imagine that? anyway its only a 3 band EQ so it was an easy reset. So maybe you guys are hitting this button getting out of your jeeps?

http://images.gtcarlot.com/pictures/80439367.jpg

lesgoff 05-21-2013 11:51 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Well anything is possible... my controls are different

LewdDude 05-21-2013 01:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lesgoff (Post 3778255)
Well anything is possible... my controls are different

well I assume one of those buttons must be used as the reset as well, or its just in a different location

lesgoff 05-21-2013 03:36 PM

Found this post on jeepforum site.

2012 jk electrical issues anyone? alarm & radio issues - JeepForum.com

User Layth posted the following

I just got a radio update for my 430N for the "resetting" issue. Same symptoms. Radio restarts, background image resets and it goes to a different station (but presets remain). This update was *supposed to* fix that very issue. Got it done 2 weeks ago. Too soon to say it worked for sure, but so far it hasn't done it.

I will get the actual update number next time I go out to the Jeep. But there is a update for sure.

Layth

KittyPrawn 05-24-2013 06:06 AM

The reset button on the steering wheel has nothing to do with the radio. It is to reset things in the EVIC. Also, the issue for me happens when the vehicle is turned off, I'm definitely not hitting reset when I'm not in it.

SouthTJ 05-24-2013 09:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KittyPrawn (Post 3788185)
The reset button on the steering wheel has nothing to do with the radio. It is to reset things in the EVIC. Also, the issue for me happens when the vehicle is turned off, I'm definitely not hitting reset when I'm not in it.

KittyPrawn, has it happened again since they flashed the system and replaced your radio?

Mine has done it probably a total of 5 times since mid October and every time it happened while it was off.

SoFlaJeep 05-25-2013 06:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KittyPrawn (Post 3103614)
The most interesting trend I've seen so far... is that we all have 2013 Rubicons. I'd like to see if some people without Rubicons have this issue. If they don't, what could be related to the problem that only exists with the Rubicon?

I have a 2013 Sahara with the 430N (October 2012 build) and the radio is completely bonkers. It loses my iPhone, randomly starts the voice recognition and asks for input, loses menus and on and on. I don't think that it's a problem with a specific model it's just a badly designed and implemented radio. My question is whether or not the folks with the 730 series nav/radio are seeing anything like this. Yesterday I made an appointment to drop it at the dealer to have it diagnosed and while I was speaking with the service advisor I asked how many of these he had seen "Never heard of a problem with these radios before." was his reply. Got a feeling that this is going to turn into a huge "fuster cluck" real quick.

KittyPrawn 05-25-2013 11:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SouthTJ (Post 3788576)

KittyPrawn, has it happened again since they flashed the system and replaced your radio?

Mine has done it probably a total of 5 times since mid October and every time it happened while it was off.

Yes, it happens less often, but the issue hasn't been completely resolved.

darticus 06-19-2013 03:16 PM

2013 Moab with 430n radio and have it one month. Today it was off and on an AM channel with no signal. Haven't checked other things as yet. What should I check??? Sounds like it the radio not the jeep wrangler. Going out to check. Does the 730 radio do this also??? Ron


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM.