Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Defective TPMS (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/defective-tpms-206116.html)

Deuceboy 12-18-2012 11:22 AM

Defective TPMS
 
I bought a 2013 JK 3 weeks ago with 25 miles on it. It came from the dealer with a pro comp lift and 35's on it. The day after I brought it home the TPMS went off. I'm on my third visit to the dealer to have the problem looked at, the tires have been pulled, sensors checked; on trip 2 the tires were pulled and sensors replaced; now on trip 3 the module in the vehicle has been pulled and replaced, still no fix. I'm told the module can see the tire sensors are there just can't receive the pressure reading. All told I've spent roughly 15 hours in the dealers lounge. Is there a way to simply shut the sensor off?

Deuceboy 12-18-2012 11:24 AM

I'm not so helpless that I can't occasionally manually check the tire pressure. Has anyone else had a problem like this?

rich67 12-18-2012 11:32 AM

I don't understand why the dealer won't just take care if this under the warranty. Was the vehicle pre owned or were the lift and wheels installed by the dealer? I'd hope that this is a warranty issue, in that case I'd be on them to fix it and make it right.

Deuceboy 12-18-2012 11:48 AM

Oh it's under warranty and the dealer keeps trying to fix the issue. All equipment was installed by the dealer. I can't be the first person with this issue?

Deuceboy 12-18-2012 11:51 AM

The whole rig has less than 250 miles on it. You wouldn't think the TPMS would go bad this soon.

daggo66 12-18-2012 11:53 AM

Have you tinted your windows? That's just one of the many things that can affect the signal. It's listed in the om.

Deuceboy 12-18-2012 11:57 AM

Nope, the problem started the morning after I drove home from the dealer.

Deuceboy 12-18-2012 12:20 PM

Dealer is now telling me its the tire sensor module. This my third jeep and the third vehicle I've had with tire pressure sensors and this is the most problems I've ever had.

3JKs1H1 12-18-2012 12:43 PM

Damn that's a lot of posts.

The frequency changed for 2013, they need to have that part #. THe dash (on 2012's wanted to see 31-32psi) That means because of variances of temperature, leaks, etc you need to be at ~ 35.

nwbronco 12-18-2012 01:05 PM

I'd run up to about 37 psi and then do a couple of start runs to see if it clears. Those sensors are funky. Especially when going to a standard to flotation type tire.


Bob K.

strider_mt2k 12-18-2012 01:22 PM

Mine is at the dealership right now with TPMS issues.
Tires are right, but entry once in a while on a cold day I'll get the indicator.
It was time for an oil change and a tire rotation anyway, so the time was right to take care of it.

22k miles btw

mcgee10 12-18-2012 02:52 PM

Procal and set them to 10 psi and never see that light again. TPM on a jeep wrangler what were they thinking. You spent 15 hours sitting at dealer and for $149.00 for a procal.

LMT Rubi 12-18-2012 05:42 PM

You might not be the only one OP. I am running the 2013 ProCal module version and I can't seem to shake the indicator off. I have called AEV so many times and been instructed to do all sorts of things but nothing has worked for me. I believe there is something wrong with my TMPS sensors. I have yet to take it to the dealer but once I do, I will report back my findings.

firehawk 12-18-2012 06:53 PM

spare
 
:dance:check ur spare tire make sure it has a minimum of 35lbs, i had the same problem about a
a week ago and that's what i had...good luck ...:thumb::thumb:

JKCliffDiver 12-19-2012 06:03 PM

Damn you, TPMS...
 
A slight Hi-jack...

Yup, it's winter time. My TPMS light is on too. Granted I did air down to 20psi for some snow action this weekend.

I aired back up to 32-ish psi after I got off the mountain, Light still on. Just today I had Discount Tire up my pressure to 35 for all 5 tires and you betcha, it's still on. Even after the 20 minutes @ 15mph per OM. Maybe I should just wait the 3 hours for a cold reading and see what happens?

Now I've been on this 33 Duratrac/MB72 Tire/Wheel combo for over 16K and have 3 rotations on 'em, but this is just funky :confused:

tcass 12-20-2012 08:00 AM

i'v got about 25000 on mine and i've had problems with my TPMS about three times. i too wish you could unhook it and run without it. i think while the primary reason for a safety alert to the driver when the pressure gets low.....i can't help to wonder if there is a secondary $$$ involved somewhere in this.

cass :wavey:

Deuceboy 12-21-2012 02:26 PM

JK spent 2 days at the dealer and issue still not resolved. Dealer did tell me that there are 3 other 2013 JKs that have been in with the same problem. I smell a recall coming.

JoAnne 12-24-2012 12:42 PM

I also get a low pressure signal from my TPMS about every 2 months or so (2010 sport JKU). It's annoying and I finally got a little compressor to keep psi in high 30s.

Last time it happened, I stopped by Les Schwab for advice, and the guy said I was overinflated dropped me down to 35.

I am not an experienced rider, but assume 35 or lower is for trails but 37-39 better for daily commute? Was planning to pump up as soon as it stops raining...if it ever does.

What psi do people run at for commuting vs. riding?

tomthbomb 12-25-2012 08:27 PM

subscribed

therinr 01-13-2013 10:27 PM

Mines been on since the last rotate (4,000 miles ago). Just got a ProCal, set the TPMS to 28 and aired all 5 tires to 30. Light came back on within 10 seconds.

LMT Rubi 01-13-2013 11:56 PM

^^^ you need to have a 6 lbs. difference between your threshold and your actual tire pressure.

Blkfenderslookbetter 01-14-2013 09:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Deuceboy (Post 3117705)
I bought a 2013 JK 3 weeks ago with 25 miles on it. It came from the dealer with a pro comp lift and 35's on it. The day after I brought it home the TPMS went off. I'm on my third visit to the dealer to have the problem looked at, the tires have been pulled, sensors checked; on trip 2 the tires were pulled and sensors replaced; now on trip 3 the module in the vehicle has been pulled and replaced, still no fix. I'm told the module can see the tire sensors are there just can't receive the pressure reading. All told I've spent roughly 15 hours in the dealers lounge. Is there a way to simply shut the sensor off?


Did the dealer install the factory sensors or an aftermarket? This could be the issue and they're just stalling (on your dime/time) trying to get them to work. BS! Make them put the factory ones in. My dealer did not want to spend the time dismounting my old tires to get the sensors out... I did not want to spend the dough for MOPAR sensors, we compromised and I paid for cheaper aftermarket sensors that they said would work. I wasn't real happy because I had negotiated a TPMS swap when I made the deal... anyway they didn't work, dealer replaced with MOPAR units at his expense... now they work.

Also, your 35" tire pressures should be lower than the tires that came from the factory, and maybe they did not adjust the ECM correctly.

It's easy to just have them turned off (ProCal or dealer) but it's a feature that come's on a new Jeep. It's a NEW Jeep... for me, it sure as hell better work!

Lbear 01-14-2013 10:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoAnne (Post 3138916)
I also get a low pressure signal from my TPMS about every 2 months or so (2010 sport JKU). It's annoying and I finally got a little compressor to keep psi in high 30s.

Last time it happened, I stopped by Les Schwab for advice, and the guy said I was overinflated dropped me down to 35.

I am not an experienced rider, but assume 35 or lower is for trails but 37-39 better for daily commute? Was planning to pump up as soon as it stops raining...if it ever does.

What psi do people run at for commuting vs. riding?

If you are running stock size tires you should use the pressure stated in the door frame. That is what your tpms is set for. If you change tire size then you will need to use the tire manufacturer recommended pressure and re-set your tpms value accordingly with a Pro-Cal or similar device (also have to re-set tire revolution value so speedo and ECM are getting correct values).

As far as for trails, airing down only a couple of psi won't do anything. You need to drop the pressure significantly (10 lbs or more at least- some go 15-20 lbs) depending on conditions. Check with experienced Jeepers in your area for what they do for specific tires in specific conditions (eg sand, mud, snow or rocks).

JoAnne 01-19-2013 11:43 PM

OK thanks. I am ignoring the light from now on and just running at recommended pressure (35 psi).

ltdanyj 01-20-2013 12:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcgee10 (Post 3118324)
Procal and set them to 10 psi and never see that light again. TPM on a jeep wrangler what were they thinking. You spent 15 hours sitting at dealer and for $149.00 for a procal.

Don't blame Jeep, blame the federal government. It's required standard equipment on all vehicles sold in the US, just like airbags...

tomthbomb 01-20-2013 02:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ltdanyj

Don't blame Jeep, blame the federal government. It's required standard equipment on all vehicles sold in the US, just like airbags...

So if my air bag that I paid for is defective and I am injured as a result I sue Obama?

kEat 01-20-2013 02:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcgee10 (Post 3118324)
Procal and set them to 10 psi and never see that light again. TPM on a jeep wrangler what were they thinking. You spent 15 hours sitting at dealer and for $149.00 for a procal.

Yep. Kind of a bandaid fix but the ProCal is awesome. Worth every cent.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.