Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   Lighting Project has hit a snag.... (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/lighting-project-has-hit-a-snag-20741.html)

vin211 08-17-2008 10:50 AM

Lighting Project has hit a snag....
 
Hey Everyone,

I posted early on in the week. Everything sounds so easy until you're about to go through with it. I am installed a set of Hella's near the windshield and another set on the front bumper.

Problem number 1: The electrical connectors they give you for the connection to the battery are really small. I went to Home Depot yesterday to find a larger connector but they didn'th ave anything.

Problem number 2: I know someone told me there's a way to get all the wiring through the firewall by removing 5 screws. Would someone be able to send me a picture or explain a little bit better where these screws might be?

Problem number 3: For the windshiel lights, I really don't want to drill into the frame of the Jeep. Is there another way around this? Someone said earlier to raise the hood and just fish its way around and then seal everything off.

Thanks guys for your help. I'm going to go mount the lights just to see how everything looks.

cavediverjc 08-17-2008 10:58 AM

You can run your wiring under the cowl, just remove your wipers and the black screws securing it in place. That's one of the cleanest ways to do windshield lights, in my opinion. That's how I ran my wires and I'm happy with the install. Here's a pic.....sorry I don't have any close-ups....don't know if this will do you any good.....

http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l2...terlift010.jpg

Jerry Bransford 08-17-2008 11:14 AM

For passing wiring through the firewall, there's a black blank rubber grommet in the driver's side footwell above the accelerator pedal, to the right of it if I recall correctly that is where pretty much all TJ owners pass their wiring through. Drill a small hole or cut an 'X' through it and it's a done deal.

vin211 08-17-2008 12:02 PM

Everything sounds good so far. How about making that connection to the battery? I got these little connectors that came with the lights. Any suggestions on that?

Rawkon 08-17-2008 12:06 PM

I would take power from your fuse box. if you pop it open you can see a big power wire going to it. take your ground form somewhere else other then the battery as well

vin211 08-17-2008 12:51 PM

Thanks! I already designed a nice little bracket to mount the harness under the hood. There's already a hole there for some reason so that's where its gonna go. I'm going to figure out a nice way to get the wiring from the windshield to wear it needs to go.

Also, I found the rubber grommet near the gas pedal. Thanks for the advice for that...its kind of cramped under there so I'll probably pop that sob off later on today.

Jerry Bransford 08-17-2008 01:00 PM

No need to remove the grommet, in fact I would leave it there to protect the wiring you pass through it. :)

Mike B. 08-17-2008 01:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rawkon (Post 256177)
I would take power from your fuse box. if you pop it open you can see a big power wire going to it. take your ground form somewhere else other then the battery as well

Rawkon,

Are you saying don't use the neg. post on the battery as a ground? If you are, why's that?

vin211 08-17-2008 02:01 PM

You guys are very informative! I love it. Unlike the folks sometimes on the enlisted Air Force forum lol.

603TJ 08-17-2008 08:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike B. (Post 256192)
Rawkon,

Are you saying don't use the neg. post on the battery as a ground? If you are, why's that?


Simply Put: There's no need. You don't have to run a ground wire all the way to the ground terminal. Ground the lights to a bolt that is running into the frame or on the body. For my windshield lights, I grounded each of the separately using the 2 of the screws that of the cowl (2 of the 5 screws that are mentioned above to remove it.) I grounded the left light, on the far left screw and the right on the far right one. Open the hood, remove the rubber seal at the top of the engine bay, and you'll see the screws I'm talking about. You need to remove them to run the wires, so why not use them as grounds once you have to put them back in? Works like a charm.

solo97tj 08-17-2008 08:48 PM

here is a write up i found
http://www.wranglerforum.com/tj-jeep...hts-15306.html

vin211 08-18-2008 11:18 AM

I tried removing that piece but got frusterated the other day doing it. I think I'll try it tonight when I have more patients. It doesn't come off to easily. So would I remove the windshield wipers as well? How about just the blades because it looks like a pain to remove the entire whiper system.

Thanks

drewkac 08-18-2008 01:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford (Post 256168)
For passing wiring through the firewall, there's a black blank rubber grommet in the driver's side footwell above the accelerator pedal, to the right of it if I recall correctly that is where pretty much all TJ owners pass their wiring through. Drill a small hole or cut an 'X' through it and it's a done deal.

When i wired in my power wire for my sub i used the same grommet. it was a very simple way to pass the fire wall. make sure you go through it though, do not just remove it. and i also agree that you want to wire into your fuse box

DUCKIT 08-18-2008 04:00 PM

5 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by vin211 (Post 256185)
Thanks! I already designed a nice little bracket to mount the harness under the hood. There's already a hole there for some reason so that's where its gonna go. I'm going to figure out a nice way to get the wiring from the windshield to wear it needs to go.

Also, I found the rubber grommet near the gas pedal. Thanks for the advice for that...its kind of cramped under there so I'll probably pop that sob off later on today.

Here are a few pic's of what I did ............hope They help ;)

vin211 08-19-2008 09:59 AM

After doing some wiring last night I come to find out that it has completely drained my battery. I jumped it a couple of times but its no good. So I'm purchasing a new battery.

As from some of you have said, taking power from the fuse box seems like a great idea! Is there anything else I need to consider when doing this? Anything at all?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 PM.