Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   I upgraded 130 to 430 RBZ and I'm not looking back. (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/i-upgraded-130-to-430-rbz-and-im-not-looking-back-209198.html)

Deepjeep1371 01-03-2013 12:04 AM

http://www.jk-forum.com/jk-electrica...12-jku-208451/

430 RBZ (non nav)
Ok, let me start by saying thanks to all that helped out through this process. Panthermark, and many others as well as the above link from nagovis in jk forum that saved the day.....
For starters I have a 12 JKU with connectivity and Infinity system. I have been researching everything out there on the 430 (non nav) RBZ head unit. Like many others have stated I too wanted a stock look and the 30 gig hard drive, dvd player, and the ability to add a camera one day (lock pic). I was not concerned with paying so much more for one with navigation and the worry of it being antiquated by next year. I, also like most, have a smart phone, Tom Tom and numerous other devices I can use. I digress....
So after all the research and Panthermark's info (shout out) I narrowed my options down to a newer 2011, 2012 take out. These have the most recent software and the later units are "Anti theft" models which I thought was important. Note: Without the four digit code the radio is a brick. So that could help with thievery. I located a new take out from a private seller on ebay. It was removed from a 2012 Dodge Caravan with a couple thousand miles on it. The four digit date on the radio ending in a "2" , proves that and it had a #P0509.....Part Number which is the most recent. There are many 506 part numbers out there as well. (they will work too). After reading the link above, I removed dash cover and installed the unit today. I took my time and had no serious trouble. Again the pics in the link from nagovis were awesome. The unit originally showed the Dodge theme but once I turned of the vehicle and back on it booted with the "Jeep" splash screen. Awesome! Another point of concern that people have voiced has been what color are the buttons back lit in? blue or green? Mine are blue (most newer ones are, I believe) However, with the touch screen being all blue I think it's looks nice and offers nice contrast. I tested all the u connect and steering features before dash reinstall, and all work perfectly. I also put in a dvd and was pleasantly surprised. (Great if I get kicked out the house, lol) but seriously it does work really nice. Of course, only in park, but not sure who would drive while watching a dvd, I'm digressing again..... But in closing it has been trying but I waited for WHAT I new would pop up sooner or later and got it. I love the look and features and will be filling the hard drive up soon via usb. I got tired of having to carry my ipod, plug it in and scroll forever, I got a lot of music. Just some Fyi, they range in price from $360 up to $550. I picked it up for $425 shipped. Thanks again for all who have helped. I hope this helps.
.

Deepjeep1371 01-03-2013 12:09 AM

1 Attachment(s)
By the way. The Sirius is activated, no phone calls or anything. And based on how much time I had left on my original 130 (about 5 months) I may make out a little better cause this came from a newer vehicle. The Sirius subscription follows the head unit.

Attachment 193876

Deepjeep1371 01-03-2013 02:19 AM

Another big shout out to "discochris" for his help!

panthermark 01-03-2013 06:22 AM

Glad it worked out for you. :thumb:

Yeah, going with an RBZ was one of the better investments I've made. 100% plug and play....and the install is a snap.....especially if you already have Connectivity. Everything hooks right up.

Mine came out of a 2010 Town and Country...so it starts with 506. Therefore I have the green back-lit buttons to match the dash, but mine is not anti-theft, and it still has the Chrysler splash screen. But the Sirius account on mine had expired and I had to fight like heck with Sirius to get it transferred from my old 130 to my RBZ.

Having the extra USB port, the hard-drive for music, and the LCD screen (for Lockpick eventually) is what I wanted without paying +$1000 for a 430N or 730N unit.

yellowtailfan 01-03-2013 08:08 AM

Ya'll just put a bug up my axx. Dang it !!!! :p And I thought I'd be fine with the stock unit in my 2013 JK sport. Honestly, this is one thing I didn't upgrade that has bugged me... left a lot of technology on the table in hindsight.

Any other sources besides ebay? (amazon, craiglist /dallas, tx, others...?)

Thanks again, awesome information.

kappaknight 01-03-2013 08:20 AM

You can watch a DVD on these? Maybe I should try it out.

panthermark 01-03-2013 11:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kappaknight (Post 3176695)
You can watch a DVD on these? Maybe I should try it out.

Only in park unless you get lockpick or something similar (which is the same for all Jeep HU's)

But yes, the 430 RBZ does play DVD's.

You can "listen" to DVD's while in motion, but that is a bit lame for most movies. However, for something like an MTV unplugged DVD, it is great.

fawsty 01-04-2013 12:13 AM

Can I install this same unit in my 2011 JKU, when I have the piece of sh!# stock radio, with no connectivity? I have no microphone or anything in there now. Been looking on Ebay as well, but don't want to buy it without knowing it's corret, and will plug in. I don't want the satellite connection or the Nav.

Steven

Deepjeep1371 01-04-2013 01:43 AM

I believe so. The radios have two ports in the back. i think you would just plug into the one your harness fits. As far as Sirius if you don't have it already installed its just one less wire you have to plug in.

Deepjeep1371 01-04-2013 05:43 AM

Not porn. :: Rofl ::

panthermark 01-04-2013 07:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fawsty (Post 3180659)
Can I install this same unit in my 2011 JKU, when I have the piece of sh!# stock radio, with no connectivity? I have no microphone or anything in there now. Been looking on Ebay as well, but don't want to buy it without knowing it's corret, and will plug in. I don't want the satellite connection or the Nav.

Steven

You can install the same unit, but without Connectivity you won't have bluetooth or hands free calling.

Ltblue 01-04-2013 08:04 AM

When I bought mine I had ordered the 430n, and when it was delivered it only came with the stock 130. I flipped out on the owner and the sales dept. and even the owner was stomped when he looked at the build sheet and it said 430n. Anyways, he apologized and said that he would order and install the 730n for me ASAP. :)

yellowtailfan 01-04-2013 08:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by panthermark (Post 3181163)
You can install the same unit, but without Connectivity you won't have bluetooth or hands free calling.


I have a 2013 wrangler unlimited sport. Stock (base version) radio. Will I also have connectivity / bluetooth "plug ins" available? :surrender: (is it put in all 2013 and simply not hooked up is what i'd believe)

I'm very interested in making this MOD, don't wanna have the wrong impression(s).

:popcorn:

jadmt 01-04-2013 09:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by yellowtailfan (Post 3181318)
I have a 2013 wrangler unlimited sport. Stock (base version) radio. Will I also have connectivity / bluetooth "plug ins" available? :surrender: (is it put in all 2013 and simply not hooked up is what i'd believe)

I'm very interested in making this MOD, don't wanna have the wrong impression(s).

:popcorn:

ditto I am in the same boat, inquiring minds want to know plug and play in 13 with base 130 unit?

panthermark 01-04-2013 12:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by yellowtailfan (Post 3181318)
I have a 2013 wrangler unlimited sport. Stock (base version) radio. Will I also have connectivity / bluetooth "plug ins" available? :surrender: (is it put in all 2013 and simply not hooked up is what i'd believe)

I'm very interested in making this MOD, don't wanna have the wrong impression(s).

:popcorn:

Do you currently have the Connectivity package?
You can get the 430RBZ, but you need the Connectivty package (either from the factory, or the Mopar kit) for everything to work.

yellowtailfan 01-04-2013 01:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by panthermark (Post 3182064)
Do you currently have the Connectivity package?
You can get the 430RBZ, but you need the Connectivty package (either from the factory, or the Mopar kit) for everything to work.


DUMB QUESTIONS... it's what i'm good at :dance:

How can i tell the presence of connectivity package? vin #? other identifying #'s? Do i have to pull out the unit ? :cool:

jadmt 01-04-2013 02:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by yellowtailfan (Post 3182307)
DUMB QUESTIONS... it's what i'm good at :dance:

How can i tell the presence of connectivity package? vin #? other identifying #'s? Do i have to pull out the unit ? :cool:

You are one step ahead of asking my questions lol.

panthermark 01-04-2013 02:16 PM

Build sheet will say...

I'm assuming you have a 2013.

Do you have any of these:

Connectivity Group$495 / $8 a month

  • Remote USB Port (located inside of center console/armrest)
  • Tire Pressure Monitoring Display The Tire Pressure Monitoring System continuously checks all four tires and provides individual tire pressure readings to keep you informed of potential over or under inflation which could degrade handling and vehicle safety.
  • Uconnect® Voice Command with Bluetooth® Communicate virtually hands-free with an in-vehicle, voice-activated system that allows you to talk using your Bluetooth®-compatible phone.
  • Electronic Vehicle Information Center

jadmt 01-04-2013 02:27 PM

thanks looks like I don't have it.

panthermark 01-04-2013 02:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jadmt (Post 3182471)
thanks looks like I don't have it.

You can add it...well parts of it. Qtec sells the mopar kit for $299. It will give you Bluetooth and a USB port....but you may want to consider aftermarket when you add in the price of an rbz. The kit needs to be flashed by a dealer. However, you dont need it to add an rbz.

yellowtailfan 01-04-2013 04:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jadmt (Post 3182471)
thanks looks like I don't have it.


...ditto i gotta big bag O' Nuttin':facepalm:

discochris 01-05-2013 02:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Deepjeep1371 (Post 3176083)
Another big shout out to "discochris" for his help!

Thanks!

For those who are interested, my Jeep is pretty bare bones, so I don't have the connectivity package or the Infinity setup, and my RBZ install was really easy. I don't know what vehicle mine came out of (mine is anti-theft with the blue lighting), but it booted to the Jeep logo right away. The steering wheel controls work perfectly, and I've had no real issues, other than some trial and error stuff with loading the hard drive. Obviously I don't have bluetooth or phone integration, but that's not important to me.

I have a Sirius/XM subscription, but I'm getting satellite radio free right now since the install. I haven't contacted them to move the RBZ unit to my account, and I won't until it runs out. My experience with them is that they are probably the worst company on the planet for customer service, so I'll delay that as long as possible.

Binx 01-08-2013 07:48 AM

Is the sound any clearer or cleaner sounding out of this unit than the stock 130.

mhanksii 01-08-2013 09:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by panthermark (Post 3182498)
You can add it...well parts of it. Qtec sells the mopar kit for $299. It will give you Bluetooth and a USB port....but you may want to consider aftermarket when you add in the price of an rbz. The kit needs to be flashed by a dealer. However, you dont need it to add an rbz.

What happens if I install the RBZ and Bluetooth module without a dealer flash? What does the flash do? I'm in Germany and don't have the option of driving down the street :banghead: but I do have an RBZ sitting in my livingroom. I haven't bought the bluetooth kit yet... any help?

panthermark 01-08-2013 09:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mhanksii (Post 3199018)
What happens if I install the RBZ and Bluetooth module without a dealer flash? What does the flash do? I'm in Germany and don't have the option of driving down the street :banghead: but I do have an RBZ sitting in my livingroom. I haven't bought the bluetooth kit yet... any help?

The system won't know you have bluetooth.

You can install the RBZ without the module as well. Since your are in Germany...make sure you have the correct RBZ. I'm not sure if the European models will work or not in your vehicle. Actually, I'm not sure if you have the European version of the Wrangler.

mhanksii 01-08-2013 09:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by panthermark (Post 3199035)
The system won't know you have bluetooth.

You can install the RBZ without the module as well. Since your are in Germany...make sure you have the correct RBZ. I'm not sure if the European models will work or not in your vehicle. Actually, I'm not sure if you have the European version of the Wrangler.

I bought my Wrangler from Maryland just before I left for Germany and my RBZ is out of Georgia. So even if I install the bluetooth module it won't work in my Jeep until a dealer activates it?:facepalm::surrender:

panthermark 01-08-2013 09:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mhanksii (Post 3199047)
I bought my Wrangler from Maryland just before I left for Germany and my RBZ is out of Georgia. So even if I install the bluetooth module it won't work in my Jeep until a dealer activates it?:facepalm::surrender:

Correct, the system needs to be flashed to let the CAN-Bus know that the Jeep does have Connectivity.

You can pop the RBZ in for now, and it will have the exact same functions as your 130....but you will have a hard-drive, touchscreen, and a USB port.

mhanksii 01-09-2013 02:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by panthermark (Post 3199095)
Correct, the system needs to be flashed to let the CAN-Bus know that the Jeep does have Connectivity.

You can pop the RBZ in for now, and it will have the exact same functions as your 130....but you will have a hard-drive, touchscreen, and a USB port.

Sounds like I may be selling my RBZ+Lock Pick and just picking up an aftermarket headunit with bluetooth built in:banghead:. The Bluetooth option and hands free calling was the whole reason I wanted the upgrade, the touch screen DVD function were just a bonus

bajarat 01-09-2013 09:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mhanksii (Post 3202998)
Sounds like I may be selling my RBZ+Lock Pick and just picking up an aftermarket headunit with bluetooth built in:banghead:. The Bluetooth option and hands free calling was the whole reason I wanted the upgrade, the touch screen DVD function were just a bonus

Mhank

I am in Germany (Cologne) and just purchased a JKU in the US(for use in the US). If you are interested, PM me with a price and see if we can cut a deal if you decide not to keep the RBZ.

Since I am a 2 post n00b I don't know if you can PM me. If not, please post in this thread and we can figure out a way to get in contact with each other.

Thanks
BR

PM also sent......

panthermark 01-11-2013 10:04 PM

Doing some research on lockpick....noticed this:

UCONNECT AND VOICE RECOGNITION ENABLED ON CAPABLE NAV RADIOS - JUST ADD A MICROPHONE AND YOU ARE READY TO GO

I wonder if that means uconnect can be turned on with the 730n's? What about 430 vs 430n's>


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 PM.