Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Recalibrate of '05 Rubicon Speedo (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/recalibrate-of-05-rubicon-speedo-212346.html)

biggie 01-16-2013 12:30 PM

Recalibrate of '05 Rubicon Speedo
 
I know it's been asked before but does anyone know the procedure to recalibrate the speedo in a '05 Rubicon without using aftermarket correction devices? I've heard that it needs to be done via programming as opposed to 231 equipped models, that require a speedo gear change. I've been told that factory parameters allow for up to 35" tires. Mine are 33's. The local chrysler/Jeep dealer has not been able to do it and they are supposed to be in contact with tech support for the correct procedure. It's only been a couple days but they do not have a procedure yet. thanks.-TB

Dextreme 01-16-2013 12:34 PM

Do you not have a speedo gear on x-fer case?


Changing Your Jeep Speedometer Gear

biggie 01-16-2013 01:34 PM

Personally, I haven't checked. This is what I've been told. I am familiar with the the 231 case and gear changing options on it. Everything I've forund so far leads me to believe that there is a signal generator on the T-case and the ECU is programmed to interpret the signal based on other variables like axle ratio, tire size. etc.

jkp 01-16-2013 06:55 PM

There is not a speedo gear on the Rubi Tcase.

f9k9 01-16-2013 07:24 PM

Many dealer techs have difficulty in programming for the correction of different gearing and tire sizes in the 03-06 Rubis. It's hit and miss and if, you aren't in tight with your local dealer, the costs could add up. Personally, I prefer a speedo correction device and you have many to choose from. I prefer the Yellow box. I can correct for tire sizes, tire wear and gears.

jasongind 01-16-2013 07:42 PM

Re-gearing is your best option to correct speedo on a Rubi, that's what I as told. There is a programmer, cannot remember the name off hand, but it cost like $380 and once connected to a vehicle it can only be used with that one.

f9k9 01-16-2013 09:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jasongind (Post 3238011)
.......There is a programmer, cannot remember the name off hand, but it cost like $380 and once connected to a vehicle it can only be used with that one.

You're thinking of the Hypertech but, there are probably, at least, three others. Yellow (Yellr) box remains connected and you can adjust for tires and/or gears all day long. I paid around $100 for mine but, there are other others available. Mine requires tracing a couple of wires and doing a little soldering but, there is one that is literally plug and play.

jgorm 01-17-2013 10:01 AM

I'm a diablo dealer and I, nor diablo techs, could get the tire size change to work on my jeep. I think its called a speedcal to interface on the signal. I'm not sure there is another way.

Sccafire 01-17-2013 01:00 PM

I have the SpeedoHealer. Cost about $130. Takes about 10 mins to install. It is a plug-n-play unit.

Jerry Bransford 01-17-2013 01:18 PM

There are several electronic speedometer calibrators out there with one popular model being the Truspeed. I'll post more info on that tonight with another less costly calibrator as an alternative to the more expensive Truspeed.

Only non-Rubicon transfer cases have a speedometer gear that can be changed to calibrate the speedometer. Rubicon transfer cases don't have speedometer gears, Rubicon speedometers can only be recalibrated electronically.

Zeep 01-17-2013 05:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford (Post 3240801)
There are several electronic speedometer calibrators out there with one popular model being the Truspeed. I'll post more info on that tonight with another less costly calibrator as an alternative to the more expensive Truspeed.

Only non-Rubicon transfer cases have a speedometer gear that can be changed to calibrate the speedometer. Rubicon transfer cases don't have speedometer gears, Rubicon speedometers can only be recalibrated electronically.

Rubicon T-cases use a tone wheel and sensor, not unlike the modern camshaft, crankshaft sensor's.

Jerry Bransford 01-17-2013 07:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford (Post 3240801)
There are several electronic speedometer calibrators out there with one popular model being the Truspeed. I'll post more info on that tonight with another less costly calibrator as an alternative to the more expensive Truspeed.

Only non-Rubicon transfer cases have a speedometer gear that can be changed to calibrate the speedometer. Rubicon transfer cases don't have speedometer gears, Rubicon speedometers can only be recalibrated electronically.

The other speedometer calibrator besides the Truspeed which is sold all over the Internet is the Dakota Digital at Universal Speedometer Signal Interface

03rubi 01-17-2013 09:01 PM

I have an 03 Rubicon and I am using a "Dakota Digital " speedomete correction and it works well. Just google "Dakota Digital" for info.

paul65k 01-17-2013 10:43 PM

I was all excited when I saw this thread as the new tires and wheels I just added have caused the speedo to be off my 2MPH according to the GPS.....I think for 2MOH I'll just do the math in my head instead of spending another hundy that I could use for something else that will allow me to have some more fun :D

Cheers!

Sccafire 01-18-2013 12:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by paul65k (Post 3243167)
I was all excited when I saw this thread as the new tires and wheels I just added have caused the speedo to be off my 2MPH according to the GPS.....I think for 2MOH I'll just do the math in my head instead of spending another hundy that I could use for something else that will allow me to have some more fun :D

Cheers!

Just curious but at what speed is it 2mph off? The faster you go the more the speedometer will be off.

jasongind 01-18-2013 12:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 03rubi (Post 3242681)
I have an 03 Rubicon and I am using a "Dakota Digital " speedomete correction and it works well. Just google "Dakota Digital" for info.

How does this unit hook up? Do you have to hard wire it and leave it in, or plug into the OBDII port?
I"m interested in this. I can easily do the math while driving and to calculate fuel economy, but I'd like to accurately keep track of overall miles with the odometer.

I just downloaded and read the installation manual. Did you install yourself? IF so what Option did you use and where did you mount it?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.