Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Adding coil springs (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/adding-coil-springs-212389.html)

Chrisco5 01-16-2013 03:14 PM

Adding coil springs

Im new to the threads and have question that someone can hopefully help me out with..
I have a 2008 JK Sahara that has the teraflex 2.5 inch coil spacer lift with shock adapters attached to my stock shocks, bump stops, rear sway bar links, brake line brackets and a track bar bracket. This kit here:

TeraFlex 2.5" Lift Kit w/Shock Adapters (07-13 Wrangler JK 2 Door) 1352002 - Free Shipping over $75!

Im wanting to go a little higher with it and was wondering what would be the easiest way to go about doing it. If i took out the 2.5" coil spacers and put 3 or 4 inch coil springs in would that work? Thanks

jkjeeper06 01-16-2013 04:00 PM

You want 5.5-6.5" of lift? Unless you're putting 40"s on that's so high. 37's will clear with just a fender trim and 2.5". With 3.5, no need for fender trim. How much meat do you plan on putting under there?

But to answer your question: you can do that, but you'll replace all of your control arms and drive shafts first

Chrisco5 01-16-2013 04:49 PM

Im not wanting to have the bigger 3" or 4" coil springs AND the coil spacers, I'm just wanting to know if I take off the 2.5" coil spacers and the original stock coil springs, can I add just the 3" or 4" coil springs for a total lift of 3" or 4" since I already have shock adapters, bump stops, rear sway bar links, a brake line bracket, and a track bar bracket installed? Or would I need more parts? If I do need to add more parts, what do I need?

jkjeeper06 01-16-2013 05:26 PM

Oh that makes sense. Yes you can do that. You might need to look at control arms if you get towards a 4 inch lift but that's subjective depending on how you like it

Daniel_M 01-16-2013 05:38 PM

Quote: