Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   HVAC blower switch lost detents?! (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/hvac-blower-switch-lost-detents-212999.html)

Highway n Toad 01-17-2013 03:43 PM

HVAC blower switch lost detents?!
 
Why can't this happen in May?! I can no longer turn on the blower for the heat. It seems to have lost the detents; switch just whirls from low fan to high position without locking in. And none of the positions activate the blower, not even the high. Brrrr!:eek:

I checked the simple stuff: 10a Fuse behind glovebox checks out fine. Relays under the hood seem ok. I pulled off the switch and its not broken or spinning on the axis - its moving the axis its coupled to.

Has anyone experienced this?

Highway n Toad 01-17-2013 05:49 PM

UPDATE: I have the high speed blower back, and the position detents, but not the lower blower speeds, 1, 2, or 3.

I took the instrument panel front off and unplugged the wire harness from the back of the blower switch. It looked clean but I wiggled it back and forth after I plugged it back in. Even without power I could feel the detent switch positions had returned. Weird. When I put it back together and turned on the ign switch, I got it to blow on high speed! <golf clap>

At least now it seems to resemble some of the symptoms of other posts. And now I can make the long commute to work tomorrow without shivering to death!

Any input would be appreciated though. Taking it to the shop is such a pain...

mjwithatj 01-17-2013 06:47 PM

Sounds like what happened to me. The switch melts on the inside and the metal tab connectors move out just enough to not make a connection. Unfortunately you will need to buy a new switch. I recommend rockauto.com.
KnoxOffroad - View topic - Blower Speed Switch Melted? Fix IT!
The above is a link to a writeup I did to add relays for all four positions. There is a writeup on wranglerforum somewhere to add a relay to one speed. The linked writeup is my first so forgive me if I made any mistakes but it fixed my problem.:hide:
Also, you can always run the blower without the relays until you have time to do a relay setup but you run a risk of melting the new switch as well.
Hope this helps!

kjeeper10 01-17-2013 06:50 PM

Yep .. The fan motor wears and draws current the system can't handle. Eventually wires/switch burn up. Very common.
Actually the very first google search that led me to this forum :D

FYI- speeds 1/2/3 are through the resister.
4 is direct to the battery.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.