Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Aux Fuse Block and switch wiring (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/aux-fuse-block-and-switch-wiring-213443.html)

nicovalencia 01-19-2013 06:41 PM

Aux Fuse Block and switch wiring
 
Greetings WranglerForum!

Used to be an old jeepforum member, and just got over to WranglerForum via my brother's advice.

I just got a new bumper and the delta fog lights. They seem to be higher wattage than the stock fogs, and instead of using a relay from my factory fog light wiring, I'd kinda like to run a separate line.

I've installed a couple other mods for speakers and additional lights, so my battery is starting to get a bit crazy looking. What is the best way you guys have seen extending a fuse block or battery range and integrating additional switches?

I did some searching, but most questions were more specific rather than general strategies. Please shout out another thread if I missed one that already exists!

Thanks! :punk:

Commodore Perry 01-19-2013 09:25 PM

Get a spod, it's awesome. A little pricey but extremely well made...and made in USA. I just installed one, I love it.

4x4 SPOD Since 2005 - The ORIGINAL JEEP Over The Windshield Switch Console - Jeep Power Distribution System

MrSig 01-20-2013 06:04 AM

I went a cheaper way than the SPOD. Been working great for over 2 years now.
http://www.aaof.us/images/underhood.JPG

http://www.aaof.us/images/snorkel6.JPG

Jeep757 01-20-2013 08:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrSig (Post 3251917)
I went a cheaper way than the SPOD. Been working great for over 2 years now.

What kinda box is that and where did you get it from?

kramer2k 01-20-2013 11:00 AM

That's neat looking Sig. I'd like more info as well.

I'm going to start adding items soon but I'd like to not go with the sPod. I just can't justify the expense for it.

nicovalencia 01-20-2013 11:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Commodore Perry (Post 3250824)
Get a spod, it's awesome. A little pricey but extremely well made...and made in USA. I just installed one, I love it.

The spod looks way cool, seems a bit pricey though. Is it worth the $?

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrSig (Post 3251917)
I went a cheaper way than the SPOD. Been working great for over 2 years now.

This setup looks pretty nice. Do you have an all-in-one switch board inside, or individual switches for each source?

MrSig 01-21-2013 05:28 AM

I got it from Boat Owners Warehouse it is like a west marine but cheaper and I have it ran to a bunch of switches on my Daystar panel and dash.
http://www.aaof.us/images/Switch1.JPG

Commodore Perry 01-21-2013 07:51 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Attachment 200229

Here's the switch panel that comes with the spod for reference. Perfect fit between sun visors, looks really clean. You can get different colors or combinations if colors but I liked the all blue look. You can turn these on and run accessories with the engine off - it will shut its self off when battery gets to a certain point so that you have enough juice to start again.

WhiskeyMike 01-21-2013 08:59 AM

Here's link to Sig's fuse block. Browsing Store - 12 CIRCT FUSE BLOCK W/GRD

Here is same thing on Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/Blue-Sea-Syste...rds=fuse+block

Anyone know how you might get half of these constant power and half ignition switched power? Thinking you would have to go with 2 of them.

WhiskeyMike 01-21-2013 09:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WhiskeyMike (Post 3255775)

Anyone know how you might get half of these constant power and half ignition switched power? Thinking you would have to go with 2 of them.

Actually, I was just looking at the circuit diagram and it appears to have two incoming power sources if I'm reading it right. But I only see one feed in MrSig's picture.

Update: when looking at the circuit diagram on bluesea's site, it show's only one feed.

mikeym 01-21-2013 06:36 PM

Here's what I did on mine, very similar to the above

http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/mad...up-187491.html

IBgeocaching 01-21-2013 06:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WhiskeyMike (Post 3255819)
Actually, I was just looking at the circuit diagram and it appears to have two incoming power sources if I'm reading it right. But I only see one feed in MrSig's picture.

Update: when looking at the circuit diagram on bluesea's site, it show's only one feed.

First review on amazon by ReyAce says "The unit comes apart with screws, with a metal centerline providing power to all the fuse bays. If you cut the metal centerline (I used a regular pair of wire snips) then only the top section of the centerline (and consequently the upper fuses) will now have power. (The bottom fuses will no longer be getting power from the cut centerline.) From there, if you run a separate power feed to the bottom centerline, (let's say a constant hot, as opposed to switched hot on the top), then the fusebox will be providing two types of power - switched on the upper fuses, constant on the bottom."

nicovalencia 01-21-2013 11:00 PM

Thanks for all the great replies! I'm torn between the spod panel (looks really nice) and the other type that mounts under the HVAC controls. I have a manual, so I'm not sure the lower panel will fit, and I have a Tuffy overhead console so I'm not sure that the spod switch panel will fit up top in the middle (first world problems). Is there any way to run it on the side? mikeym you have a pretty cool side panel - how do you like it?

mikeym 01-21-2013 11:16 PM

I love it, the color and texture is spot on, and unless you knew it was after market, you'd never know. Mine is also a manual, so I almost had to go that route. You can buy the same panel, loaded with switches, or do what I did and buy switches at radio shack. I do want to get a relay box like the guy above has, just haven't gotten around to it

TJX02 05-13-2013 11:05 AM

Mrsig, how did you go about mounting that Aux fuse box? I have the same one and was looking at where/how to mount it in the hood and your set up looks really clean. I may have to steal with pride......


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.