Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Communications and Electronics (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/)
-   -   Alpine System Hookup (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/alpine-system-hookup-215062.html)

phanthom 01-26-2013 11:52 PM

Alpine System Hookup
 
Has anyone here installed an Alpine HU(CDE 134BT) with the Alpine KTP-445 U in their TJ? Or any Wangler for that matter. The last and only install I have ever done was a Craig FM/AM/Cassette in a 1979 Cutlass(in 1979).I have been studying the schematic, took the console apart and feel confident that I may be able to install this gear and save the $150+ that I have been quoted for and install. Your input/opinion is greatly appreciated.

coastalwrangler 01-27-2013 11:17 AM

It's not hard to do at all. I had never installed an aftermarket head unit before last year and now I've done it for a few of my friends who have jeeps. Just get your wiring diagrams for the jeep stock wiring and the harness for the alpine deck and take your time. Other than that make sure it's seated in the mounting adapter properly and you won't have any problems.

ob269 01-27-2013 12:08 PM

Or instead of having to figure out a wiring diagram you could spend an extra $10 and buy the adapter. It plugs into your factory plug out of the back of the old radio, then you match the color and stripe combos from the cd player to the adapter and you're golden..

phanthom 01-27-2013 05:28 PM

Will post once completed.

viperx6x9x 01-29-2013 10:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ob269 (Post 3284877)
Or instead of having to figure out a wiring diagram you could spend an extra $10 and buy the adapter. It plugs into your factory plug out of the back of the old radio, then you match the color and stripe combos from the cd player to the adapter and you're golden..

I did this, and after matching the wires up carefully, and double checking schematics again, I have no signal to my rear speakers or sub now.

I don't care about the sub, I am probably going to disconnect it anyway because it's blown and i don't wanna listen to it rattle. But why don't my rears work?

It was suggested on another thread that I need to connect the remote out wire to the factory amp (apparently there is one if you have a sub) but I can't figure out where to splice it in at. Is the amp located with the sub? and if so do I need to run a wire all the way to the console to splice into it?

eboven 01-29-2013 06:05 PM

Yes, check the amp turn on wires. On your new radio's harness, you should have a blue with a white stripe, which needs to be connected to the blue or blue/white wire on the adapter harness you purchased. This will turn on any factory amps and should get your rears and sub working again. If you plan to disconnect the sub, the best way to do so would be to disconnect the wires at the sub itself; you will need to disassemble the center console to get at it.

viperx6x9x 01-29-2013 06:44 PM

Yeah i will see how the sub sounds with a decent audio source in front of it first. Judging from how much better the front speakers sound with just putting in the sony, maybe the sub wasn't blown and just sounded like crap with the stock radio.

viperx6x9x 01-30-2013 08:32 AM

Thanks man, hooked up to the blue wire (power ant) and all is well. Unfortunately the sub does still sound like crap, but I will deal with that later.

phanthom 02-19-2013 04:02 PM

5 Attachment(s)
All right everyone LED lights are done. HU, speakers and power pack done.went for a road test and all of a sudden " check gages) light came on, heard a gushing sound and..... Radiator was spewing coolant everywhere(didn't even make it out of the neighborhood) but, now the radiator is done. Here's the checklist and misc pictures of my set up.

phanthom 02-19-2013 04:05 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by phanthom
All right everyone LED lights are done. HU, speakers and power pack done.went for a road test and all of a sudden " check gages) light came on, heard a gushing sound and..... Radiator was spewing coolant everywhere(didn't even make it out of the neighborhood) but, now the radiator is done. Here's the checklist and misc pictures of my set up.

Forgot to add the power pack!

4Left 02-19-2013 09:19 PM

Edit...wrong thread

phanthom 02-19-2013 10:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 4Left
Edit...wrong thread

The thread was for Alpine hook up..... So was the post.

4Left 02-20-2013 05:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by phanthom

The thread was for Alpine hook up..... So was the post.

I posted in the wrong thread and edited it. That's what I meant

phanthom 02-23-2013 06:35 PM

My appology to you 4left. Thought you were referring to my post.:surrender:

dbsanders 02-28-2013 11:54 AM

Curious - why did you go with the KTP-445U instead of the KTP-445? From what I'm reading, the KTP-445 is plug-n-play with Alpine units. The 445U is "universal", but requires a lot more wire splicing doesn't it?

phanthom 03-02-2013 12:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dbsanders (Post 3433038)
Curious - why did you go with the KTP-445U instead of the KTP-445? From what I'm reading, the KTP-445 is plug-n-play with Alpine units. The 445U is "universal", but requires a lot more wire splicing doesn't it?

It was the only one offered by Crutchfield


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.