Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Torque Pro OBD2 App.... anyone? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/torque-pro-obd2-app-anyone-215612.html)

Gold Miner 01-29-2013 12:31 PM

Torque Pro OBD2 App.... anyone?
 
Wondering if anyone is currently running this OBD2 tool: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...l.torque&hl=en

It requires an OBD2 bluetooth adapter... then download Torque Pro as an app (android in my case).
Seems like a no-brainer as it has really good reviews.
Anyone have experience with this product?
I just ordered an OBD2 bluetooth adapter and will probably try this app.

Curious to know if it's all that and a bag of peanuts.

RevCo666 01-29-2013 05:13 PM

Yep, program works as good as what ur using... Meaning if you buy those cheap elm 327 obd2 Bluetooth readers from china on ebay your wasting your money. Tried with my laptop, and two sets of tablets with no results. Even tried it with several different vehicle types... Nadda. So unless you know your obd2 reader is good, don't bother. Also, i thought it might of been the app, so i tried numerous others that work on the same principle. Same results. As they say, you get what you pay for...

03JeepRubicon 01-29-2013 05:22 PM

I used it on my car that I had and it worked perfectly, it could read anything I wanted to and I could create graphs and plots of engine specs such as oil pressure, intake air temp, just about anything. (It was on a 2006 Audi A4, I haven't tried it yet on my jeep...)

RevCo666 01-29-2013 05:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 03JeepRubicon (Post 3295718)
I used it on my car that I had and it worked perfectly, it could read anything I wanted to and I could create graphs and plots of engine specs such as oil pressure, intake air temp, just about anything. (It was on a 2006 Audi A4, I haven't tried it yet on my jeep...)

Which obd2 reader do you own?

dklassen 01-29-2013 05:50 PM

I bought three from Amazon, they are the cheap clone models that are about $15 each. They all work perfectly. I'm running Torque Pro on a Nexus 7 tablet.

Patuoxun Bluetooth Super Mini Diagnostic Scanner - ELM327 v1.5, Supports OBD-II Protocols : Amazon.com : Automotive

03JeepRubicon 01-29-2013 05:53 PM

^^^What he has will work fine, it's basically what I was using.

RevCo666 01-29-2013 05:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dklassen (Post 3295846)
I bought three from Amazon, they are the cheap clone models that are about $15 each. They all work perfectly. I'm running Torque Pro on a Nexus 7 tablet.

Patuoxun Bluetooth Super Mini Diagnostic Scanner - ELM327 v1.5, Supports OBD-II Protocols : Amazon.com : Automotive

Arrrghhh, hmmm sell me yours lol

dklassen 01-29-2013 07:00 PM

Sometimes it's not always good to see your gas milage in real time... especially in a Wrangler. ;)

RevCo666 01-29-2013 08:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dklassen (Post 3296135)
Sometimes it's not always good to see your gas milage in real time... especially in a Wrangler. ;)

Normally I would agree with you but im putting some new ntk front o2 sensors next Monday some that would actually give me the right readings on what i might gain back... :popcorn:

Gold Miner 01-30-2013 07:13 AM

Thanks gang.... looking forward to trying it!

Giljorak 01-30-2013 07:36 AM

This scanner has worked well for me:
BrainyTrade Super Mini ELM327 V1.5 OBD2 OBD-II Bluetooth CAN-BUS Auto Diagnostic Tool : Amazon.com : Automotive

All Terrain JK 01-30-2013 07:36 AM

Quick question, will this app act as a DRB scan tool? Specifically I just replaced the cam synchronizer on my son tj. I got it running but FSM says hook to DRB scan tool to dial in adjustment. Thanks:)

jgorm 01-30-2013 10:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by All Terrain TJ (Post 3298454)
Quick question, will this app act as a DRB scan tool? Specifically I just replaced the cam synchronizer on my son tj. I got it running but FSM says hook to DRB scan tool to dial in adjustment. Thanks:)

It wont act as a DRB, and its doubtful that it could be used to adjust your cam synchro.

All Terrain JK 01-30-2013 11:41 AM

Bummer my accutron won't either. Thanks:)

TLATEOTW 02-16-2013 12:30 PM

I just ordered 2 of the cheap ELM 327 units from china 15$ each and free shipping.

It's good that i bought 2 since the 1st one i tried died in 5 min. the other one is working well since a week.

i'm using torque app as well, it is working gr8. i was about to open a thread for it just before i found this one.

anyone would like to share some results and tips?

TLATEOTW 02-17-2013 03:13 PM

ok the second one died today, dunno if they are so bad or i have a problem in my jeep.

flynhi4u 05-14-2013 06:52 AM

Just got my adapter and purchased the app yesterday. My jeep had no stored codes, surprising, ad my Tracker that never misses a beat had two, WTH! Very nice setup for less than 20 bucks. I will use it a lot. Or at least till the adapter fries! I did notice that our 99 TJ has less streams of info available for it than my 02 Tracker.

friedfish 05-14-2013 07:50 AM

I got a matco determinator scanner at home. It's great and is a lot smarter then me. How does this app compare to the big high dollar scanners off the truck? We need a new one at my shop. Maybe I can convince the boss to getting a tablet and running this.

Kssig1 05-14-2013 08:05 AM

I have the cheap Mini ELM327 adapter that I got off Ebay for $13 and have an old Droid phone I don't use anymore with the Torque program on it I just leave in my TJ. The update rate on the cheap clone adapters is not super fast, but it works perfectly for what I use it for. I have reset codes on several vehicles with mine. It even picked up a P0303 code warning before it turned on the check engine light. I may bite the bullet and buy the bluetooth adapter that torque recommends for the program.

flynhi4u 05-14-2013 08:13 AM

Not sure how it compares to the ones of the truck but one really sweet thing is that when it does find a code you click on the code and it will take you directly to a website that tells you what the code is the possible causes for it. I doubt the ones of the truck will do that for you.

MFsoftball22 05-14-2013 08:40 AM

Does anyone have a programmer along with one of these? I have a programmer and was looking at getting the Torque Pro App but i wanted to make sure that they would work together and wouldnt mess anything up. I wouldn't see why it would considering that this is simply a scan/monitoring app. But wanted to know if anyone had any extra insight on this? I also thought about getting the ScanGuageII. I have heard a lot of good things about it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 AM.