Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Need Help with Mygig RBZ install (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/need-help-with-mygig-rbz-install-217502.html)

mjohnson2400 02-06-2013 02:12 PM

Need Help with Mygig RBZ install
 
3 Attachment(s)
I decided to pull the trigger on what I thought would be an easy install with a plug and play Mygig RBZ.

Vehicle Background - 2011 JKU with connectivity - replacing 130N with Sirius
Purchased - Mygig RBZ - P05064678AF Date Code 2959

I've read success others have had with this same manufacturing number. Everything seemed right but when I turn the key and the power comes on the radio will light up (green buttons) but the screen remains blank and nothing happens. There were connections for the connectivity group as well as the sirius. Took the new unit out and put my old one back in and everything works fine so it's not the Jeep connections.

Any idea how to fix the issue - is it possible to have a dealer run their little magic wand (scanner) over it? Or is this just not a compatible unit?

Any help would be appreciated.

panthermark 02-06-2013 03:01 PM

Could simply be a bad RBZ... I'm pretty sure that is a high-speed bus....so it should be OK.

Where did you get it from?

mjohnson2400 02-06-2013 03:20 PM

Purchased from an Ebay retailer that has been very quick with communication both before and after purchase. Unit is in flawless condition not so much as a scratch on it. I took a look and there are no bent pins or any other visual imperfection.

They've offered a return and even a swap - waiting to see pictures of the production tag on the other unit they have - but I'm hesitant now that this one wouldn't fire right up.

fawsty 02-06-2013 09:40 PM

I have a friend who installs these, and all radios. He has a similar radio for sale. I know it works, because he plugged it into mine, and it fired right up. It's the 430 RBZ, without Navigation.

He told me to list it at $300.00 plus shipping.

If you get your money back, I can get this to you pretty quick.

BTW, I absolutely love mine.

Steven

mjohnson2400 02-07-2013 09:16 AM

Thanks Steven - I might have to take you up on that. I'll send you a PM once I get this one settled.

nwbronco 02-07-2013 09:47 AM

I'd try it again. Disconnect the battery while swapping. Then hook up the battery backup. Maybe the Canbus is fighting you.

Bob K.

panthermark 02-07-2013 09:58 AM

On another forum, someone had the same problem. They swapped HU's and everything worked out fine.

Love my rbz....

mjohnson2400 02-07-2013 11:14 AM

I tried the disconnect trick - same results.

I've been trying to figure out if it's just the date this RBZ was made and the possibility of my Jeeps build date not being cohesive. Seems like it's hit or miss for quite a few people. Wish I had another Jeep at my disposal to test this thing out.

mjohnson2400 02-20-2013 07:25 AM

Success
 
2 Attachment(s)
Figured I'd post a follow up - seller swapped out unit with a second one (slightly earlier build date within same year 09) and this one worked perfectly. Switched over to the Jeep logo upon second start up and had the correct green backlit buttons. All of the Uconnect features work including the steering wheel functions.

Now I just need to find the correct lockpick so I can install a backup camera.

Pictures of the finished product attached.

pazbich3 02-20-2013 07:46 AM

Glad to see the new unit is working. I bought almost an identical unit, and should be here by Thursday or Friday. Hoping to get it installed this weekend. For reference, the model number is: P05064678AE, Date Code: 1959, and has green-lit buttons.

mjohnson2400 02-20-2013 07:51 AM

My unit was built the day before yours...

P05064678AE Build Date 1949

Goodluck - install is a breeze - hardest part is getting the power window controls harness off (that is if you have power windows). Don't be afraid to give it a good pull once you slide the red clip up.

panthermark 02-20-2013 07:54 AM

Soooo.......am I the only one left that still has the Chrysler logo?

OK, does your new one end in 78 or 79?

I'm starting to think that the 79's (out of a Ram 1500?) will switch over on their own, but the 78's (out of a Chrysler T&C) will not.

Edit...just saw your latest post.

Well, scratch that.

I wonder if it is updated software?

And yeah...install is really, really, really, easy....

mjohnson2400 02-20-2013 07:59 AM

I'll check and see later on what version software is on it.... I installed late last night and now I'm stuck at the office. Maybe I'll sneak out at lunch to play around with it.

pazbich3 02-20-2013 08:08 AM

Thanks for the tips. I'll let you know how it goes.

Also, Panthermark, I'll let you know if my logo switches over. Although I'm not sure what vehicle it came out of. (unless you can tell by the model number).

mjohnson2400 02-20-2013 10:55 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Panther -

I took a pic of my current software screen.

stzd8 03-16-2013 09:51 AM

no other hardware required for install
 
Hey there,

I just got same receiver with the same number P5064678AE, do I need a install bracket or anything like that like on other radios? Gonna try to install mine on weekend when I got time. Hope mine is not a dud.

panthermark 03-16-2013 10:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stzd8 (Post 3510471)
Hey there,

I just got same receiver with the same number P5064678AE, do I need a install bracket or anything like that like on other radios? Gonna try to install mine on weekend when I got time. Hope mine is not a dud.

Nah, if you have the right one, it is 100% plug and play, no brackets needed.

First time you swap....it will take you 20-30 minutes from start to finish....mostly because you don't quite know what you are doing and you will struggle with the stupid connectors...especially the power window one.

By the 3rd time...when I say 10 minutes to swap....I'm serious...it is that simple.

stzd8 03-16-2013 11:12 AM

Thanks, Panthermark.

I noticed lot of posts claiming same thing. The delay due to the window controls that maybe one may be afraid to break if too much force is used to pull the cables. Hopefully next weekend everything should work dandy. Can't believe I have to work tomorrow (Sunday) ARRGGHHH

new2SWA 09-08-2014 02:16 PM

I'm new to this, and I'm sorry if I'm out of place asking this on here.
I have a 2011 JK sport, with the OEM radio and no bluetooth or phone.
And I am looking at getting this GPS, will it fit? What parts will I need to get?
Thanks,

2011, 2012, 2013 Jeep/Dodge MYGIG 430 RBZ multimedia unit

pazbich3 09-09-2014 09:18 AM

The one you have linked to will not fit in a Wrangler. The holes on the tabs in that one are top and bottom whereas the ones that fit the Wrangler are on the sides. Also, the RBZ unit does not have any GPS. You would need a 430N or 730N unit.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.