Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Off Road and External Lighting (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f132/)
-   -   Bumper Driving/Fog Lights Question? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f132/bumper-driving-fog-lights-question-217983.html)

TCogley 02-08-2013 01:48 PM

Bumper Driving/Fog Lights Question?
 
I just recently bought a 2006 Wrangler. If you see my previous posts youll see that its still at the dealer since they left a wheel loose, so they are replacing the rim and 2 new tires. My car DOESN'T have the fog/driving lights mounted on the bumper. I am new to Jeep's I was wondering if all Jeeps come with the harness for those lights even if they aren't on the car...can I just buy replacement Fog/Driving lights and will I have the harness there or will i need to get a harness as well, any help would be awesome, thanks guys!

Todd

CarolinaBound 02-08-2013 02:29 PM

You don't own a car. You do have a jeep/rig/wrangler/nickname though. And the harnesses should be dangling down or tape up somewhere...70ish% sure

TCogley 02-08-2013 02:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CarolinaBound (Post 3338997)
You don't own a car. You do have a jeep/rig/wrangler/nickname though. And the harnesses should be dangling down or tape up somewhere...70ish% sure


awesome...thanks

CarolinaBound 02-08-2013 02:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TCogley (Post 3339029)
awesome...thanks

More specifically along the inside edge of the fenders behind the turn signal

TCogley 02-08-2013 03:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CarolinaBound (Post 3339108)
More specifically along the inside edge of the fenders behind the turn signal


what about a switch...does the factory headlight switch control the fogs? or do i need a switch now that has a fog feature?

Mulvihill64 02-08-2013 04:01 PM

No, the jeep will not have the wiring harness if it did not come with factory fogs. If yours was wired for fogs most likely you will still have a switch for them. If not, check out the kc Apollo pro kits, as they come with a full harness that is very easy to run. Here's a link to them http://www.quadratec.com/products/97048_3512.htm

Rude Dog 02-08-2013 04:01 PM

If equipped, it should be @ the very end of the blinker arm. The very end part should "Pull out & push in" (on/off)

mwashburn 02-08-2013 04:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rude Dog (Post 3339416)
If equipped, it should be @ the very end of the blinker arm. The very end part should "Pull out & push in" (on/off)

But it only works if the headlights are on...

03ShaleGreenSahara 02-08-2013 04:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mwashburn (Post 3339444)

But it only works if the headlights are on...

This is not true on my 03 Sahara. I have the factory fog lights and can run them with just the running lights on.

Phil.Dye 02-08-2013 04:18 PM

On my rig the headlights do not need to be on, but the parking lights do.

Neil F. 02-08-2013 04:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mulvihill64 (Post 3339414)
No, the jeep will not have the wiring harness if it did not come with factory fogs.

Some that did not come equipped with the factory fog lighs do have the wiring harness to the bumper.

AFJeep 02-08-2013 04:22 PM

Bought a 06 TJ X several years ago. Put fog lights on. I did find the harness along the inside edge of the fenders behind the turn signals. I bought a used multi-function light switch from Davey's Jeep, which is how you turn on the Fog lights if factory installed. Also had to purchase the fog light relay. Then I bought a new PIAA Fog light kit (they look so much better than stock) for my Jeep. A complete harness came in the kit, but I didn't use it. I also installed factory Cruise Control, 06 Sport wheel/tires and the premium sound system. A work in progress.

WVU Mountainman 02-08-2013 06:00 PM

I installed KC daylighter 130 watt. Came with a harness. Super easy to install and I hate Electrical stuff. Very bright, I love em

TCogley 02-08-2013 06:03 PM

i was thinking about just doing the kc 1133's in the factory spot, but i guess ill just wait until i get the car back from the dealer to order those! thanks guys

TCogley 02-08-2013 06:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mulvihill64 (Post 3339414)
No, the jeep will not have the wiring harness if it did not come with factory fogs. If yours was wired for fogs most likely you will still have a switch for them. If not, check out the kc Apollo pro kits, as they come with a full harness that is very easy to run. Here's a link to them KC HiLiTES 152 - KC HiLites 6" Apollo Pro Series 100 Watt Fog Lamp System with Stone Guards in Black - Quadratec


and those some with the proper mounting for the factory bumper spot?

TCogley 02-12-2013 05:28 PM

UPDATE!!

Just got the Jepp back from the dealership, New Rim, 2 new Tires, New radio, and a new belt and tensioner later! I just checked and i have the harness connectors under my blinker...but my headlight switch does not pull out or push in...if i install the fogs do I need to run a switch for them or will they work off my headlights?

thanks

(ps, i bought the rugged ridge lightbar kit with the bar 3 lights and the harness and switch...is it possible to run those fogs to this switch or no?

todd

Luck881 02-12-2013 06:34 PM

You'll need the 03(I think)-06 MF switch, older jeeps had a dash mounted switch. Also need to ensure the relay is there. The owners manual will tell you where it should be.

TCogley 02-12-2013 07:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Luck881 (Post 3359405)
You'll need the 03(I think)-06 MF switch, older jeeps had a dash mounted switch. Also need to ensure the relay is there. The owners manual will tell you where it should be.


yeah i opted to go with the kc kit...that comes with a new harness relay and switch...it was only 15.00 more expensive then the lights themselves thanks tho

Sccrbrg 02-12-2013 08:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TCogley (Post 3359157)
UPDATE!!

Just got the Jepp back from the dealership, New Rim, 2 new Tires, New radio, and a new belt and tensioner later! I just checked and i have the harness connectors under my blinker...but my headlight switch does not pull out or push in...if i install the fogs do I need to run a switch for them or will they work off my headlights?

thanks

(ps, i bought the rugged ridge lightbar kit with the bar 3 lights and the harness and switch...is it possible to run those fogs to this switch or no?

todd

It looks like those are 100w lights. IMO they might be too much for the stock wiring to handle.

JGreen06TJ 02-12-2013 08:34 PM

I installed the multi-function switch for my 06X that had the wiring harness but did not have a switch. MANY on here recommended wiring a separate toggle switch but I preferred the column mounted multi-function switch. Don't forget the relay in the fuxe box in the engine compartment. Without adding the relay the fogs still won't work.

TCogley 02-12-2013 09:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sccrbrg (Post 3359718)
It looks like those are 100w lights. IMO they might be too much for the stock wiring to handle.

yeah thats kinda what i thought, which is why i ultimately got the kit with a new harness relay and switch

JerryJeepster 02-13-2013 04:44 PM

I'm installing fogs in my ace rear bump. I will use factory fogs and need a wire harness to hook them directly to the reverse lights. Anyone have a harness they're not using? Or know where I can get one without having to purchase the full kit with the light/blinker stem? They want $125 for the entire kit. Is this average pricing?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.