Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Off Road and External Lighting (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f132/)
-   -   HIDs confirmation (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f132/hids-confirmation-218735.html)

MarcelOrtiz 02-11-2013 05:10 PM

HIDs confirmation
 
(07 4 door rubi)

NOTE: i intend to do my HIDs the legal way but before i can start my retrofit project i would like to know it can in fact be wired the right way.

i want to install the HID kit H13/9008, 5k color temp with a wire harness. i know the computer will sense an open circuit, can i eliminate this by installing a second wire harness also straight to the batt to close the circuit?? have anyone done this? i know i will have 2 extra sockets but i dont mind that.
has anyoine done this??

thanks in advance.

Dick Blonov 02-11-2013 05:17 PM

My understanding is that you cannot make this legal using the stock reflector. One example here.

Scroll at the very bottom of that web page.

Tools Needed:
10mm Socket
Flat Head Screwdriver
T10 Torx Driver
Wire Cutters/Snips
Electrical Tape

Lifetime Warranty.

-->>For off road use only.<<--


Lighting experts may want to throw in their 2 cents.

DB

Dusthol 02-11-2013 05:26 PM

Mega light thread covers hid. Check it out.

onetraveller 02-11-2013 06:01 PM

Here's the straight dope.

Daniel Stern Lighting Consultancy and Supply

Mike

MarcelOrtiz 02-11-2013 07:03 PM

interesting reads but remember i said im only doing this if i can retrofit.

now can anyone please answer the question?

Dick Blonov 02-11-2013 09:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarcelOrtiz (Post 3353735)
(07 4 door rubi)

NOTE: i intend to do my HIDs the legal way

i want to install the HID kit H13/9008

What you want to do cannot be done the legal way in any way shape or form. Period.

Maybe I misunderstood your question.

DB

onetraveller 02-11-2013 10:29 PM

Technically none of these options are legal as the Hella and Cibie headlights are a euro spec not a US spec.

There is an option for HID headlights that is done correctly. Rallylights.com has an HID projector kit that replaces your entire headlight housing. They have an odd look (kind of a bugeye thing) but supposedly work very well. They are also one of the more expensive options.

Susquehanna MotorSports - Auto Performance Product

Mike

thomm99 02-11-2013 10:42 PM

On every good Jeep forum the HID post has to come up. It's highly illegal, you will go to jail, and kittens will die. And using a relay kit works without any issue. Please remember to adjust your lights down a bit. Especially if you have a lift.

SilverSport 02-11-2013 10:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarcelOrtiz (Post 3353735)
(07 4 door rubi)

NOTE: i intend to do my HIDs the legal way but before i can start my retrofit project i would like to know it can in fact be wired the right way.

i want to install the HID kit H13/9008, 5k color temp with a wire harness. i know the computer will sense an open circuit, can i eliminate this by installing a second wire harness also straight to the batt to close the circuit?? have anyone done this? i know i will have 2 extra sockets but i dont mind that.
has anyoine done this??

thanks in advance.

Yes the electronics in the TIPM will sense an "open circuit" but there is no need to run a second circuit. Use the factory harness to trigger the relays that will send power to the HID ballasts.

You will also need capacitors and diodes to "defeat" the PWM voltage from the factory harness.

When I did the Cibie upgrade, I used the factory headlight harness to trigger. Since the TIPM doesn't get a return signal on the factory harness, it will set two trouble codes, one for each headlight. Will not cause a CEL or any other malfunction. You won't know they are there unless you scan for codes.

Dick Blonov 02-12-2013 07:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SilverSport (Post 3355879)
Since the TIPM doesn't get a return signal on the factory harness, it will set two trouble codes, one for each headlight.

I would have thought you'd get one for low beam, one for high beam on one side (the one with nothing connected)?

DB

MarcelOrtiz 02-12-2013 09:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SilverSport (Post 3355879)
Yes the electronics in the TIPM will sense an "open circuit" but there is no need to run a second circuit. Use the factory harness to trigger the relays that will send power to the HID ballasts.

You will also need capacitors and diodes to "defeat" the PWM voltage from the factory harness.

When I did the Cibie upgrade, I used the factory headlight harness to trigger. Since the TIPM doesn't get a return signal on the factory harness, it will set two trouble codes, one for each headlight. Will not cause a CEL or any other malfunction. You won't know they are there unless you scan for codes.

So you are saying to add 1 relay harness + capacitors. Or just add the capacitors using only my factory withering (that's the way I have it on my 2012 silverado) in my 2011 Camry I had no capacitors but did have a relay harnes connected to the battery (I had to do that to eliminate flickering)

Thanks again.

SilverSport 02-12-2013 10:49 PM

Since HIDs require much less amperage than halogens, you may be able to get by with adding capacitors to the factory harness, but I don't have a definitive answer.

You could call SMS and ask for Ray; he is their wiring guru: Susquehanna MotorSports - Auto Performance Products Catalog

thelinux 02-13-2013 05:03 AM

go to retrofitsource.com and buy mopar specific h13 harness. thats what i am using.

MarcelOrtiz 02-13-2013 08:23 AM

Cool. I'm getting on it right now and hopefully can get that some this wknd.

Tks

caryt 02-13-2013 09:43 AM

I'd make sure you use a Hid Projection module in the housings of your choice..not just stick a set of bulbs in...

thelinux 02-13-2013 11:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarcelOrtiz (Post 3362326)
Cool. I'm getting on it right now and hopefully can get that some this wknd.

Tks

BTW, when you get that harness you may need to (I did) swap some wires as our jeep is ground switched.
read http://www.theretrofitsource.com/pdf...on_Harness.pdf and look for trouble shooting section.

good luck!

EMTJEEP 02-16-2013 09:28 PM

Check DDMtuning they have the wiring you need to make it not a read an open circuit and error eliminators.

asianhulk 09-16-2013 01:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thelinux (Post 3362869)
BTW, when you get that harness you may need to (I did) swap some wires as our jeep is ground switched.
read http://www.theretrofitsource.com/pdf...on_Harness.pdf and look for trouble shooting section.

good luck!

Linky no longer works but there is a troubleshoot checklist right cheah...

http://www.theretrofitsource.com/pdf...re_Harness.pdf


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.