Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   05 Rubicon Lockers Dont Work (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/05-rubicon-lockers-dont-work-225548.html)

hondarider6 03-05-2013 09:55 PM

05 Rubicon Lockers Dont Work
 
I recently bought a 05 jeep rubicon. I put it into four low. Press the axle lock button down, and nothing happens. The orange light on the switch doesn't light up or any of the indicator lights on the dash, the switch does glow when i have my lights on, so i know there is power to the switch, but do you think my switch is bad? i checked underneath and everything is plugged in on the compressor, but i dont here it make any sounds when i try pushing the switch either.

hondarider6 03-05-2013 10:20 PM

I made a video of what is going on. here is the link
Jeep rubicon lockers don't work - YouTube

Murphy-C 03-06-2013 11:14 AM

I thought I might as well hop onto this, My 03' Rubicon rear lock works but the front just blinks the light on and on with no end.

rubiconvict05 03-06-2013 11:50 AM

I would pull your dash and check with a test light to see if you have power going to the switch. If there is no power tot he switch then you will not be able to send power to the relay and compressor also your dash 4x4 light is post switch. With no light there I would begin checking to see where you have power. Did you check fuses as that would be the logical place to start. I can get a wiring diagram fro the compressor and switch later today and post it for you.

hondarider6 03-06-2013 12:27 PM

i only checked my relays to the front and rear lockers, under the hood. What other fuses should i check? ill check today for power at the switch.

rubiconvict05 03-06-2013 12:38 PM

Did you have power at the relays? you could jump or bypass the relays and go from there. If you have power at the relays but no power to activate them it most likely will trace back to no power at the switch.
I just thought of this, did you see if the connector in the back of your switch is connected or even pushed in all the way? It very will could have been removed or pulled out when the other switch was installed or the radio was installed. I know that the switches don't need to come out but I am trying to help troubleshoot.
as for other fuses I would assume that there are fuses to the switches and or to the compressor itself. Don't quote me on it I have to check a wiring diagram at the shop.

hondarider6 03-06-2013 01:59 PM

i just looked at the relays, and they didn't look burnt or anything. But i didn't think both relays would just go out at once. I did check the connector as well behind the switch and it was connected, i even undid it and plugged it back in, just in case

jkp 03-06-2013 06:31 PM

Fuse no. 24 under the hood.

You can download a user's manual for free from Jeep.

Crawl underneath and check the to be sure the wiring harness is correctly plugged into the t-case.

1jeeplvr 03-06-2013 07:51 PM

I bet the fuse is blown.If you do have pwr to the switch you could prob jump the switch to see if the switch is bad.If theres more than 2 wires (prob is) going to switch make sure you jump the correct ones.

Silvertip 03-06-2013 08:02 PM

Check to see if your getting power at the compressors, run the lines and look for holes/leaks/poor connections.

There is a wire that enters both diff's for the locker sensor and an air line for both as well. there is a air line connection in the diff ( these ) come loose and will not engage your locker, So the dash light will flash for ever! Also if there is a broken wire on the sensor the locker will engage but the light will flash!

McGuyver 03-06-2013 08:02 PM

It was hard to tell in your video but is your 4x4 low indicator light coming on? If the switch on the transfer case is bad, the circuit does not know you are in 4 low and it will not allow lockers to engage.

hondarider6 03-06-2013 09:57 PM

i don't have any lights coming up on the dash, even the 4x4 light isn't coming on

commodore_dude 03-07-2013 01:13 PM

Sounds like the TC switch is the problem then.

hondarider6 03-11-2013 11:42 PM

Anywhere have a picture or diagram where the TC switch is. i bought one, but not exactly sure where it goes in.

Jason1348 03-12-2013 04:59 AM

Wow can't believe this im having the same problem no lights no switch lights whe u find out whats wrong let me know

Jason1348 03-12-2013 05:09 AM

I did the bypass a few year's ago where it will allow lockers to work in any transfer position if thst mod is done whould that completely bypass the tc sensor all together and is there a way to just get rid of the stock switch and put lockers on separate switches im hoping to get this fix soon have a trip planned begin of the month

McGuyver 03-13-2013 07:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hondarider6 (Post 3491675)
Anywhere have a picture or diagram where the TC switch is. i bought one, but not exactly sure where it goes in.

It is on top of the transfer case, best access is from the drivers side front. Clean the area, unplug the electrical connector and unscrew with big socket, stubby wrench or pair of channel locks. Don't forget the oring when installing the new one. Here is a link to an earlier thread ...http://www.wranglerforum.com/f5/rubi...or-213847.html

Jason1348 03-15-2013 05:08 AM

Any updates I still have not got mine working

Ops5 03-15-2013 01:24 PM

If you are getting flashing lights the first thing I would check is that the fill plugs on the diff cover are not in too far/to tight. If you tighten the fill plugs to far, you will get a flashing light for the locker because the locker ring is not able to move to the lock position.

Jason1348 03-15-2013 01:38 PM

No im getting nothing no lights not even a light on the switch they were working on lasy trail ride now just nothing acts like no power but fuse is good

Ops5 03-17-2013 03:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jason1348 (Post 3507649)
No im getting nothing no lights not even a light on the switch they were working on lasy trail ride now just nothing acts like no power but fuse is good

Well, you say you did the bypass mod, so you would need to troubleshoot if the switch works, power going where it is supposed to, etc

Jason1348 03-17-2013 03:18 PM

It was the switch it was bad wired separate switches now all is good


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.