Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   11 hard top fit on 08 (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/11-hard-top-fit-on-08-a-225901.html)

SoCaljeep08 03-07-2013 10:18 AM

If I buy a 2011 hard top will it fit on my 08 JK? I've been told I will need an adaptor, will there be any leaking problems?

Blastek 03-07-2013 11:29 AM

on the 08, the freedom panels latch to themselves near the mirror. on the 09+, they latch to the footman's loop behind the windshield. The footman's loop is not in the correct position on your 08 for the 11 top to latch. You could probably fashion some sort of adaptor to make it work.

not having them latch may mean that they could leak, but i'm not sure.

SoCaljeep08 03-07-2013 07:10 PM

I want to buy an 11 top this weekend for my 08. I don't have the adapter yet though, will I be able to put it on and drive home?

jkjeeper06 03-07-2013 10:10 PM

2 Attachment(s)
No worries on that. And no need for an adapter. I have an 11 top on my 08. It fits great no leaks. As for the footman's loop, you don't even have to hook it up. Or you can just do what I do with mine. Just rotate it and use the back of the latch

Get the 11 top and run it with no adapter. You'll like the bigger windows the 11 has

Blastek 03-07-2013 10:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SoCaljeep08 (Post 3473756)
I want to buy an 11 top this weekend for my 08. I don't have the adapter yet though, will I be able to put it on and drive home?

Yeah, you should have no problem.

SoCaljeep08 03-07-2013 11:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkjeeper06 (Post 3474940)
No worries on that. And no need for an adapter. I have an 11 top on my 08. It fits great no leaks. As for the footman's loop, you don't even have to hook it up. Or you can just do what I do with mine. Just rotate it and use the back of the latch

Get the 11 top and run it with no adapter. You'll like the bigger windows the 11 has

::thumb:: this made me very happy to hear! Thanks jkjeeper!

SoCaljeep08 03-12-2013 09:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkjeeper06 (Post 3474940)
No worries on that. And no need for an adapter. I have an 11 top on my 08. It fits great no leaks. As for the footman's loop, you don't even have to hook it up. Or you can just do what I do with mine. Just rotate it and use the back of the latch

Get the 11 top and run it with no adapter. You'll like the bigger windows the 11 has

Jkjeeper,

Thanks for the info, I'm running my 11 top and it is awesome! Love the big windows and it fit just like the top on my old 07.. Through for some reason I'm unable to get the big side of that front latch under the little bar.... Either way it doesn't need it!!! :thumb:

jkjeeper06 03-12-2013 11:14 AM

Glad to hear you like it! I think the latch may need to be loosened a bit to do that. I think it's a t30 or t40 bit to do that. Like you said tho its not really needed


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.