Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   YJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/)
-   -   radio issues (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/radio-issues-228033.html)

kellerhudson 03-16-2013 11:53 AM

radio issues
 
originally had no radio when I got it, just bought a cd player/radio and harnesses..installed no prob. Its not getting power though. Im wondering what to do next. I reckon Ill get a volt meter to check the AC wire. Other than that Im at a loss as what to do. Any thoughts on troubleshooting this?

camarozz 03-16-2013 12:55 PM

Yup, verify you have voltages where you need them and go from there.

and by AC Im assuming you mean accessory and not actually looking for AC voltage.

General Confusion 03-16-2013 01:05 PM

It's possible that the fuse that protects the power circuit has blown while you were connecting the harness

kellerhudson 03-16-2013 01:06 PM

it's getting the proper voltage, and I've double checked the ground. still not working.

camarozz 03-16-2013 01:11 PM

even on the accessory wire?

There is typically two power connections on radios, One for constant 12v, the other for switched power. If one or the other isnt there sometimes the radio wont come on.

kellerhudson 03-16-2013 01:12 PM

where is that fuse?

General Confusion 03-16-2013 01:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by camarozz (Post 3511094)

There is typically two power connections on radios, One for constant 12v, the other for switched power. If one or the other isnt there sometimes the radio wont come on.

You just beat me to it. I don't think there are standard colours, but take a look at the red (power) and the orange (memory). They are generally accepted colours in England.

kellerhudson 03-16-2013 01:16 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Attachment 223338

I'm a dummy with electronics... so I need it practically drawn out. the red and yellow are my power source? I hooked the volt meter red lead to the red and black to the yellow and get 12+. all other wires are for speakers and are correctly hooked up to corresponding color. ground is set. this jeep originally had no radio so I'm at a loss getting one installed

General Confusion 03-16-2013 01:19 PM

If it is a modern unit, it will probably have a memory circuit which stores your radio pre-tunes and the CD position when you power the radio down. This needs to have a permanent 12V+ (I believe you call it the hot wire in the US) or the radio will not work.

kellerhudson 03-16-2013 01:21 PM

ok, I'm getting a reading from an orange wire... but this wire has no wire to hook up to on the radio... where does it go?

General Confusion 03-16-2013 01:23 PM

Do you have a wiring diagram for the radio?

If not do you have a make and model. You should be able to find a diagram on the internet.

I'm not familiar with the wiring on a YJ.

kellerhudson 03-16-2013 01:24 PM

cool. you guys have been helpful. thanks!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 AM.