Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Dana 35 and Dana 30 weaknesses? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/dana-35-and-dana-30-weaknesses-23051.html)

Rogue 11-10-2008 11:56 PM

Dana 35 and Dana 30 weaknesses?

Okay guys, I need someone to point me in the right direction.

I have a 2002 Jeep Wrangler Sport with the 4.0 liter 6 cylinder, auto trans, 4" lift, and 33" tires. I am relatively new to Jeeps, but am hearing much about the weakness of the factory Dana 30 front and Dana 35 rear combo. My Wrangler is mostly confined to light mud/sand duty with light hill climbing and such when I am lucky enough to go home.

I do not rock climb, nor do I jump the Jeep and such as that; I live in south Georgia, and the terrain is mostly flat here. Should I be worried about my setup? What should I be looking at as far as damage goes? I have read about differential trusses and beefed up differential covers to put on the 30 and 35 to strengthen them; should I invest in some of those?

Or, should I consider a Dana 44 front and rear from a junkyard? What about the Ford 8.8s from the Explorers? I am limited financially as most of us are. Any help is greatly appreciated!

emev0l 11-11-2008 12:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rogue (Post 281665)
Okay guys, I need someone to point me in the right direction.

I have a 2002 Jeep Wrangler Sport with the 4.0 liter 6 cylinder, auto trans, 4" lift, and 33" tires. I am relatively new to Jeeps, but am hearing much about the weakness of the factory Dana 30 front and Dana 35 rear combo. My Wrangler is mostly confined to light mud/sand duty with light hill climbing and such when I am lucky enough to go home.