Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   PLease give opinion on DIY BB/BL kit (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/please-give-opinion-on-diy-bb-bl-kit-230947.html)

mikemounlio 03-28-2013 09:35 AM

PLease give opinion on DIY BB/BL kit

I am a drafter by trade. I work in a cnc machine shop. I have all the tools i need to actually make a coil spacer or body lift kit. I have been looking at all the different kits. It looks as if i could make the kit myself (only because i have a small budget right now {many reasons but the biggest is the wife is switching jobs so funds have to be watched closely})

I do have a few questions tho.

1. how would the ride be if the coil spacers (2") were made from delrin?
2. How would the ride be if i used the stock spacer on top of a 1.75" delrin spacer?

3. If i made spacers for the body could i reuse the stock body mounts ontop of aluminum mounts?

I know that the BB/BL are very cheap. I know most of you will say just save the trouble and buy a kit. My only reason for even thinking about a DIY is because i work in a cnc shop with fully trained machinist and material is all over. All i would have to do is buy new hardware for the BL.

The many thing is just the ride.

Dextreme 03-28-2013 10:49 AM

The ride will be close to what you have now since you are using the stock spring and current shocks.

You can reuse the stock spacers for the springs and BL. Many kits on the market expect you to anyways.

CarolinaBound 03-28-2013 10:54 AM