Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   YJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/)
-   -   Oil Pressure Gauge Stays at 0psi (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/oil-pressure-gauge-stays-at-0psi-234723.html)

makingaYJ 04-11-2013 09:22 PM

Oil Pressure Gauge Stays at 0psi
 
Hey guys I've got a issue with my oil pressure gauge on my: 1992 YJ, 2.5l, 5 speed manual with the gauge type sending unit.

When i turn the key to the ON position the needle goes from the far left of the gauge and comes up to the 0 line. but when i start the engine the needle does not move, it stays in the same spot all the time.

I have checked the oil pressure with a manual gauge and it is 60psi cold and about 30psi warm at idle. I have also replaced the sending unit and took the gauge cluster out to inspect the back of the gauge. Nothing looks out of the ordinary as far as i can see.

I checked the connector that goes to the sending unit with a test light and it is getting power but makes the light very dim (not a full 12v is going to it) i am not sure if it is supposed to be that way or not.

I don't know what else to do, if anyone has any ideas or has had the same problem please chime in.

:confused:

thanks guys

-Nate

makingaYJ 04-12-2013 10:05 AM

Anyone have any ideas???

Jeeptrd 04-12-2013 10:31 AM

Ill be watching this thread I have the exact opposite problem with mine. The oil pressure gauge is consistently pinned at 80 psi. Maybe related?

OverkillYJ 04-12-2013 10:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeeptrd (Post 3627747)
Ill be watching this thread I have the exact opposite problem with mine. The oil pressure gauge is consistently pinned at 80 psi. Maybe related?

If it is pinned at the top of the gauge I bet your wire is not connected for whatever reason. That is when happens when it is not connected at all.

bigtoysforbigboys 04-12-2013 01:42 PM

Check the sensor itself ...switch a multimeter to ohms and check the sensor itself ....not running should have no continuity and running should read continuity ....if not then its bad and needs replaced

makingaYJ 04-12-2013 03:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigtoysforbigboys (Post 3628344)
Check the sensor itself ...switch a multimeter to ohms and check the sensor itself ....not running should have no continuity and running should read continuity ....if not then its bad and needs replaced

do you mean the "sending unit itself" i have already replaced the sending unit. and there was nothing wrong with the old one.

the gauge is making a connection and the sending unit is good it just will not sweep away from the 0 and towards the 80. i have actually taken the cluster out and manually moved the needle with my finger to insure that it was not stuck, and it is free.

so what i have is: 1.good sender 2.continuity 3.free gauge needle 4.no reading

bigtoysforbigboys 04-12-2013 07:01 PM

Ok so with the battery unhooked check your wires for continuity to ground...if their is continuity to ground then you have a short in the circuit

OverkillYJ 04-12-2013 08:10 PM

Still check the sending unit using ohms.

bigtoysforbigboys 04-12-2013 08:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OverkillYJ (Post 3629596)
Still check the sending unit using ohms.

Very true...new doesn't always mean its good


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 AM.