Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Communications and Electronics (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/)
-   -   Amp getting no power (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/amp-getting-no-power-235254.html)

JayJitsu 04-14-2013 04:14 PM

Amp getting no power
 
Hey guys, I fixed my problem with my head unit thanks to your guys, so I'm hoping you can help me out one last time. After hooking up my amp and trying it out, I realized it wasn't getting any power. I have so many ideas of what could be wrong so I'm thinking the easiest way to figure this out would be to just going to tell how I hooked it up and the trouble shooting I've done so far and let you guys critique it.

After getting my head unit running good, I installed my new speakers and then started on the amp. I hooked up the ground first because it seemed like the easiest to do. After that I hooked up the power to the battery. when I attached it, It sparked a bit. I assumed that just meant i had a good ground and all was well. After that, i attached the constant 12V from the back plug of the head unit to the amp. Lastly, I attached the speaker wires to of the speakers (I only attached it to one because i wanted to test if it worked before I went further). After all that, I fired it up and no power. So, my first thought was maybe the ground was bad, so I moved it around to three or four spots and still nothing. Then I decided to test the power. I broke out the multimeter and attached it to the power line coming from the battery and a ground. Nothing.

What could be the problem here? When I used the multimeter, I didn't even use the wire for the ground, just the multimeter itself to ground. So that means the only problem could be coming from the battery power. Could I have blown a fuse or something when it sparked?

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated! :)

woansleftpeg 04-14-2013 05:06 PM

I presume you have used a fused power line from the battery to the amp? I would be very surprised if it was anything other than a blown fuse there.

Remember, when you do these installs you should keep the fuse out until everything is connected up, then put your fuse in last of all to complete the job prior to testing.

JayJitsu 04-14-2013 05:15 PM

Yup, fuse powered line. It makes sense that the fuse would be blown especially after testing it with the multimeter


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.