Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   2003 jeep tj 4.0 performance chip (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/2003-jeep-tj-4-0-performance-chip-236815.html)

Bangert 04-21-2013 07:03 PM

2003 jeep tj 4.0 performance chip
 
Okay guys I'm going to chip my jeep, best chip for the money? I'm deadest on chipping it so there's no need to tell me to not chip it

OhSixTJ 04-21-2013 07:12 PM

You'll hear it whether you want it or not haha

Big Cole 04-21-2013 07:39 PM

I bet if you post a wanted ad about a dozen guys would be willing to sell you a used chip for a fraction of retail cost.

TJ-GTR 04-21-2013 07:53 PM

I've got a couple of poker chips from the Wynn in Las Vegas I'll sell you cheap.

Patrick H 04-21-2013 11:00 PM

Just buy one that's the very cheapest so you won't be as disappointed.

99tj707 04-21-2013 11:20 PM

Just send me the money if you like throwing money away..

Bangert 04-21-2013 11:22 PM

Haha guys its more to compensate for tire size and to view specs then for a performance boost. I know you guys tend to be kind of hard on the news that post looking for chips, I just really don't know enough about jeeps! I spend hours and hours reading up every night

Patrick H 04-21-2013 11:24 PM

Quote:

Haha guys its more to compensate for tire size and to view specs then for a performance boost.
A "chip" won't do either of those things.

Bangert 04-21-2013 11:26 PM

As far as I know, my buddy's half tons chip shows 0-60 etc. and if you have abs you have an electronic speedo and the programmer will correct it. I think...

Patrick H 04-21-2013 11:44 PM

I thought you were just talking about a "performance chip". A simple mem-cal replacement.

MFsoftball22 04-22-2013 12:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Patrick H (Post 3666488)
I thought you were just talking about a "performance chip". A simple mem-cal replacement.

X2 What are you wanting? Performance Chip or Programmer? A Performance Chip will not do any of the things that you are looking for. You will notice no difference in performance. If you are talking about a programmer then there is some difference. I have a superchips programmer on my 05 TJ with 4.0L. When you turn it up you get a little better acceleration and better throttle response. Nothing dramatic though. But a plus side to programmer is you can check engine trouble codes.

Also keep in mind that you might have to run higher octane fuel with some programmers or chips. (what they recommend) Mine requires 91+ octane fuel for the performance mode.

UnlimitedLJ04 04-22-2013 12:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bangert (Post 3666424)
Haha guys its more to compensate for tire size and to view specs then for a performance boost.

then why not save some money and just buy a new speedo gear for the tire size?

http://www.stu-offroad.com/engine/speedo/speed1.htm
http://www.4x4xplor.com/speedo.html

for viewing what your engine is doing, I'd suggest a ScanGauge II, or $15 Ebay Bluetooth OBDII reader + free Torque app. I have both actually....

Marcwakefield22 04-22-2013 12:32 PM

One question regarding the chips... When I bought mine it had a Jet performance chip in it and I am getting terrible gas mileage... If I could get a programmer for it would I be able to change the settings and get better mileage? If so where could I get one?



Attachment 239556

This is what is in it now. I have a 4.0 6 speed

MFsoftball22 04-22-2013 01:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marcwakefield22 (Post 3668367)
One question regarding the chips... When I bought mine it had a Jet performance chip in it and I am getting terrible gas mileage... If I could get a programmer for it would I be able to change the settings and get better mileage? If so where could I get one?



Attachment 239556

This is what is in it now. I have a 4.0 6 speed


On my Superchips programmer there is a Fuel Economy setting. I have personally never ran my jeep on that mode as it is my toy and I'm not really worried about MPG. Mainly Stock or Performance mode for me. I'm sure that you would show some improvement on MPG if you removed the chip and got a programmer, but i dont know how beneficial it would be. You could simply remove the JET chip and replug the wiring harness directly in to the ECM and your jeep would run on its stock setting. This in itself would probably boost your MPG a little bit. Most Chips are solely for performance which they provide very little if any. A programmer might be able to boost your MPG a little more but enough to justify the cost i dont know. Like i said before you can scan trouble codes and also reset them with a Programmer but there are other cheaper ways to do this too.

There is also a lot of other things that affect your MPG as most people on here will tell you. Tire Size, Lift, Gears etc.

DarrenT 04-22-2013 01:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by UnlimitedLJ04 (Post 3668305)
then why not save some money and just buy a new speedo gear for the tire size?

'98 TJ Speedometer Gear
Changing Your Jeep Speedometer Gear

for viewing what your engine is doing, I'd suggest a ScanGauge II, or $15 Ebay Bluetooth OBDII reader + free Torque app. I have both actually....

+1 for this. I use OBD2 bluetooth adapter and Torque pro for android. Torque pro has every conceivable sensor readout you could think of, many of which aren't on a Jeep. And you can customize the layout, probably the best $20 I ever spent on my Jeep. It also reads and resets ECU codes, has a built in web database for the codes, and calculates my MPG based on fuel flow and other things to reasonable accuracy (26-28mpg). :thumb:

Gold Miner 04-22-2013 01:20 PM

Darren,
Which OBD adapter worked for you?
I have Torque Pro but I bought a cheapo adapter and had no luck. I gave the adapter to my neighbor and it works well in his Toyota (with Torque).
Thinking I may skip bluetooth and go with one of the hard-wired OBD adapters.

Giljorak 04-22-2013 01:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gold Miner (Post 3668549)
Darren,
Which OBD adapter worked for you?
I have Torque Pro but I bought a cheapo adapter and had no luck. I gave the adapter to my neighbor and it works well in his Toyota (with Torque).
Thinking I may skip bluetooth and go with one of the hard-wired OBD adapters.


This one has worked very well with Torque Pro on my 2000 Sport:
BrainyTrade Super Mini ELM327 V1.5 OBD2 OBD-II Bluetooth CAN-BUS Auto Diagnostic Tool : Amazon.com : Automotive

SecretAgentMan 04-22-2013 01:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bangert (Post 3665264)
I'm deadest on chipping it . . .

That's about right . . . :rofl:

1rbotma 04-22-2013 02:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 99tj707 (Post 3666413)
Just send me the money if you like throwing money away..

:rofl:

ill pm my address so you can send me your money as well.:punk:

Marcwakefield22 04-22-2013 04:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MFsoftball22 (Post 3668482)

On my Superchips programmer there is a Fuel Economy setting. I have personally never ran my jeep on that mode as it is my toy and I'm not really worried about MPG. Mainly Stock or Performance mode for me. I'm sure that you would show some improvement on MPG if you removed the chip and got a programmer, but i dont know how beneficial it would be. You could simply remove the JET chip and replug the wiring harness directly in to the ECM and your jeep would run on its stock setting. This in itself would probably boost your MPG a little bit. Most Chips are solely for performance which they provide very little if any. A programmer might be able to boost your MPG a little more but enough to justify the cost i dont know. Like i said before you can scan trouble codes and also reset them with a Programmer but there are other cheaper ways to do this too.

There is also a lot of other things that affect your MPG as most people on here will tell you. Tire Size, Lift, Gears etc.

Ha well I'm in college and it's my DD and I'm getting about 9 mpg right now and guys on here have had 6 in lifts and 35s getting at least 13. All I have are 33 x 10.50s. So all I have to do is take that out? I don't have to find a stock chip or anything?

Marcwakefield22 04-22-2013 04:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marcwakefield22 (Post 3669131)

Ha well I'm in college and it's my DD and I'm getting about 9 mpg right now and guys on here have had 6 in lifts and 35s getting at least 13. All I have are 33 x 10.50s. So all I have to do is take that out? I don't have to find a stock chip or anything?

And I just went out and unplugged it but I can't take the actual module off.. Would do I get that off?



Attachment 239673



Attachment 239674



Attachment 239675

MFsoftball22 04-22-2013 04:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marcwakefield22 (Post 3669185)
And I just went out and unplugged it but I can't take the actual module off.. Would do I get that off?



Attachment 239673



Attachment 239674



Attachment 239675

Usually there is a button that you have to push or pull up on a locking mechanism. I will tell you this they are a pain in the butt sometimes. I had one for my 5.2 Dadge Ram that sucked to take off.

Be careful not to damage the ECM ports otherwise your day could get really bad.

No you do not need any aftermarket chip. If you get the chip off and plug the wiring harness back in then the vehicle will run on the stock settings. All the Chip does is overrides the stock settings.

Marcwakefield22 04-22-2013 04:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MFsoftball22 (Post 3669223)

Usually there is a button that you have to push or pull up on a locking mechanism. I will tell you this they are a pain in the butt sometimes. I had one for my 5.2 Dadge Ram that sucked to take off.

Be careful not to damage the ECM ports otherwise your day could get really bad.

No you do not need any aftermarket chip. If you get the chip off and plug the wiring harness back in then the vehicle will run on the stock settings. All the Chip does is overrides the stock settings.

Ok thanks. Ill try and look for it. One last question.. I know it isn't a true "chip" but is it possible to program ones like this or is it just one set setting that is already on it from the manufacturer?

MFsoftball22 04-22-2013 05:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marcwakefield22 (Post 3669248)
Ok thanks. Ill try and look for it. One last question.. I know it isn't a true "chip" but is it possible to program ones like this or is it just one set setting that is already on it from the manufacturer?

The module that you have only has one factory setting and there is no way that i know of to change it or reprogram it. Programmers do come with USB ports that you can get on and update your programmer. But for this chip there would be no way to reprogram it.

I would try that and see if you have any improvements. A lot of chips require a certain High Octane fuel which could effect your results if you are using 87 Octane. The stock setting will be rated for 87 Octane fuel.

Also remember that just because you are running lower RPM's doesnt always mean that you are getting the best MPG. You want the engine to be working as effeciently as possible at highway speeds. That will get you the bes MPG results.

SeVeReDiStOrTiOn 04-22-2013 08:46 PM

+1 on buying used if you can. Just make sure it's unmarried to the original owners vehicle otherwise you just bought yourself an expensive scanner. Don't buy a module or any other crap that stays plugged in like that JET module...those aren't tunes they just change sensor readings to trick the PCM.

I've had good luck in the past buying programmers through the forums..usually if the seller is well known (high post count, long time member) you're less likely to get screwed over with a locked programmer.

Bangert 04-26-2013 07:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SeVeReDiStOrTiOn (Post 3670181)
+1 on buying used if you can. Just make sure it's unmarried to the original owners vehicle otherwise you just bought yourself an expensive scanner. Don't buy a module or any other crap that stays plugged in like that JET module...those aren't tunes they just change sensor readings to trick the PCM.

I've had good luck in the past buying programmers through the forums..usually if the seller is well known (high post count, long time member) you're less likely to get screwed over with a locked programmer.

Okay thanks


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.