Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Best engine upgrade help? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/best-engine-upgrade-help-239712.html)

ssgmiller558 05-02-2013 10:15 AM

Best engine upgrade help?

I am new to Jeeps and trying to learn as much as I can. I recently purchased a 2001 Sahara and having gone from riding a Harley for fun to a Jeep (a different kind of fun) I miss the ability to maintain a decent highway speed. It seems this 4.0 has a very difficult time maintaining highway speeds without having to shift down to gain power. Is there something I can do like add a supercharger, a turbo or install a larger engine without getting into too much of a hassle? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

freeskier 05-02-2013 10:18 AM

Do you have larger than stock tires? What is your gear ratio?

ssgmiller558 05-02-2013 10:22 AM

35" tires and 3.73 I believe, still learning about this Jeep, everything was already done to it when I bought it. Has lift kit, 35" tires, and a bunch of other stuff. Its a manual transmission. Lots of low end power but trying to drive down the highway in 5th gear (especially against the wind) drives me crazy. Seems I have to hold the pedal all the way down to the floor and/or downshift.

sduncan 05-02-2013 10:23 AM

Start by doing a google search. If you had a Harley then you know that there is an endless amount of $$ that can be spent. Jeeps are no different and probably even worse depending on how far you want to go....gears, axles, tires, V8 conversions, etc.
Give us some info on the current specs of your TJ and that will give a starting point...tire size, gear ratio, trans type, what your intended uses are going to be ect.