Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Builders Corner (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/)
-   -   Aftermarket turn signals (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/aftermarket-turn-signals-239719.html)

D12SOND12 05-02-2013 10:39 AM

Aftermarket turn signals
 
Alright guys heres what im facing...my wiring for my turn signals is a MESS, they dont work and i dont have time to tinker around (89 YJ). So im thinking an aftermarket turn signal in the rear and the front, something simple. Have all the wiring and everything needed, just need ideas!

Billmummey 05-07-2013 10:07 PM

I just wired mine, my column was all messed up and I couldn't afford 300 for a new column so I rewired them and used a toggle switch, it is actually pretty simple but since the brake light and the turn signal are on the same light and both rear light power wires meet at the power for the brake you have to go to a parts store and buy a little black box that you would use to wire up a car trailer.... I am trying to remember what it's called

D12SOND12 05-08-2013 08:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Billmummey (Post 3731654)
I just wired mine, my column was all messed up and I couldn't afford 300 for a new column so I rewired them and used a toggle switch, it is actually pretty simple but since the brake light and the turn signal are on the same light and both rear light power wires meet at the power for the brake you have to go to a parts store and buy a little black box that you would use to wire up a car trailer.... I am trying to remember what it's called

I was reading up on them, i know what your talking about. Tried to wire it, but no luck!

D12SOND12 05-08-2013 12:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Billmummey (Post 3731654)
I just wired mine, my column was all messed up and I couldn't afford 300 for a new column so I rewired them and used a toggle switch, it is actually pretty simple but since the brake light and the turn signal are on the same light and both rear light power wires meet at the power for the brake you have to go to a parts store and buy a little black box that you would use to wire up a car trailer.... I am trying to remember what it's called

Do you have a diagram for it?

Billmummey 05-08-2013 06:59 PM

I had on I found online ill try to find the link.... The Little box is called an electronic taillight converter, it cost me 22.00 at schucks you will also need a 3 way toggle switch and some wire. To start what I did was take off my front lense and use a test light I found my running light power Wire and then stripped the wire next to it assuming it was the blinker wire an ran a test wire to the positive of the battery and I was right.. I think the wire was brown... I then connected a long red wire to it and to the one on the other side and ran then both into the cab with one going to the left side of the toggle and one going to the right side... The center pin on the toggle I ran a wire to the flasher I robbed from the fuse box since I wasn't using that circuit anymore and the other pin on the flasher I ran a wire to my ignition on my fuse box.... Front is now complete... Rear was a little more tricky, by the left tail light inside the cab all the wires enter the cab this is where I was able to use my test light and find my power wire coming back for my breaks, you should find it spliced into 2 wires one for each rear light. This is where you will need the converter box... The box is labeled well, you won't need to use all the inputs on the box only the brake on and turn signals and you will have to drill a hole to attach the ground on both sides to... Once you have hooked up the brake wire on the input side you can now take the 2 wires that it was connected to and connect this to the output side of the box connecting 1 to each turn signal... You then have to run 2 more wires from the input side turn signals and splice then into each of the sides on your toggle switch where you connected your front ones. Now it may be all backwards as far as what lights come on but all you have to do is come back and swap them at the converter box... For me my ignition had to be on to allow it all to work ..... Hope this helps it was a pain to type

D12SOND12 05-09-2013 02:41 PM

I appreciate you taking the time to write that out, wish me luck !

Billmummey 05-09-2013 03:01 PM

No problem I just know how much of a pain in the ass it was for me without a diagram... Even after I got one I struggled to fugue it out because I didn't think I needed to ground both wires from the converter box

D12SOND12 05-09-2013 05:07 PM

Did you run the other wire from the flasher to the ignition fuse and put it in the socket with the fuse?

Billmummey 05-09-2013 06:07 PM

Yes but I put a male connector end on that wire that would actually slide into a spot, and on mine I don't use the cruise control and there isn't a fuse there so I just plugged it in there

D12SOND12 05-10-2013 09:34 AM

Alright so the male end acted as the "fuse" in a sense. I'll be attempting to wire everything this weekend


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.