Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Builders Corner (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/)
-   -   V8 TJ Conversion Wiring Help Needed (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/v8-tj-conversion-wiring-help-needed-240379.html)

XDR 05-05-2013 12:58 PM

V8 TJ Conversion Wiring Help Needed
 
Working on my modified harness..

For my VSS I'm using the one supplied with JB Conversions SS SYE. It is a 3 wire VSS, (signal, ground, 5v). I'm not running the stock PCM so need another source for the 5v, any easy route here?

For my backup lights, I see a 4 pin connector, new tranny has 2 pin sensor. What are the other 2 wires, I know one is ground but the 4th?
http://i913.photobucket.com/albums/a...psfd34d00b.jpg

Last, does anyone have a pinout of the two connectors shown here.
http://i913.photobucket.com/albums/a...ps59cce597.jpg
http://i913.photobucket.com/albums/a...psaf36c48d.jpg

XDR 05-05-2013 01:11 PM

I think on the VSS a GM VSS may fix that problem. Do you think the one here would work?

GM 4T65E OUTPUT SPEED SENSOR VSS 4T65E 1999-UP on eBay!

XDR 05-05-2013 03:34 PM

Figured out backup light wiring. For vss, do I have to run a gm two wire style? What would happen if I just ran vss to speedo and not PCM?

Blacksurt 05-08-2013 10:24 PM

Here is what I did with my conversion, if you look at #26 it has the info on the wiring. I went with aftermarket gauges. I have since went with a gps speedo from speedhut. As far as 5 volts I think usb is 5 volts and they make a usb unit that plugs into a power port, perhaps you can make that work. Good luck with the build..here is the link. http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/19...ild-86651.html

XDR 05-09-2013 06:39 PM

I figured out all the wiring.. I think. The ECM has a few 5v reference wires to tap off of.

jeeptester 05-11-2013 07:00 AM

Sounds like you got it and great. But for future searches IMO the best way to figure out what a plug is use the color code. Hows your build going ?

XDR 05-11-2013 07:03 AM

Some of the wires are hard tell tell even after they were wiped clean. I ohmed out most of them to the plugs to figure it out.

jeeptester 05-11-2013 07:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by XDR (Post 3743878)
Some of the wires are hard tell tell even after they were wiped clean. I ohmed out most of them to the plugs to figure it out.

Yep plan B for sure.

Im prob going to have to pull my harness and track each wire one at a time on a bench or something . I cant figure out why my ecu keeps thinking the driver side O2 is not there. The harness was modded by a guy that flashed the ecu. It runs, but for the 02 code, perfect. My thoughts on mine is he might have a wire going to the wrong pin or something. I have checked volts and changed o2. I haven't tested since changing the o2 sensors (In the middle of axle swap so that issue is next on list)

XDR 05-11-2013 08:09 AM

Running custom exhaust? May need to add a spacer so the sensor isn't so sensitive. I know my g35 threw codes with long tube headers until I did that. If you hook up a decent scan tool you can compare output and see if its a dead signal or just out of range.

jeeptester 05-11-2013 08:27 AM

deleted double post

jeeptester 05-11-2013 08:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by XDR (Post 3743996)
Running custom exhaust? May need to add a spacer so the sensor isn't so sensitive. I know my g35 threw codes with long tube headers until I did that. If you hook up a decent scan tool you can compare output and see if its a dead signal or just out of range.

I hadnt thought of that , it is a custom exhaust but is using the stock headers. I think the exhaust tubes are too small. I left it with a guy and told him 2" and I picked it up and its 1 1/2 but its is true duals. (I told that can rob torque IDK) I thought true duals was a good thing. :-) It sounds good

XDR 05-11-2013 09:05 AM

No x or h pipe? That could cause it maybe.. That is designed to equalize pressure between sides on the compression stroke. I plan on running the two into one right near the tranny, then do a e-cutout and run single back with dual mufflers. So I can have loud at the push of a button. Prob run 2-1/2 all the way back.

jeeptester 05-11-2013 05:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by XDR (Post 3744116)
No x or h pipe? That could cause it maybe.. That is designed to equalize pressure between sides on the compression stroke. I plan on running the two into one right near the tranny, then do a e-cutout and run single back with dual mufflers. So I can have loud at the push of a button. Prob run 2-1/2 all the way back.

Nope no cross over at all just straight dual.

Yea I should have just made him redo it to 2 or 2 1/2 , he did it very very cheap so I couldn't say much I guess. One of the mufflers is loose at the back prob not fixable so I plan on getting them redone and go with a better system and I guess a x pipe if you guys think it will help.

and thats cool about the push of a button :-)

Here is a link for the duals


http://%3Ca%20href%3D%22http//i620.p...22_blank%22%3Ehttp://i620.photobucket.com/albums/t...psd8759ea7.jpg%3C/a%3E

XDR 05-11-2013 06:09 PM

Llink is dead. Any reason you would want duals other than looks? I would just run 1 larger single to save room and cost, you wont gain much if any performance from duals. I plan on running my exhaust out the stock configuration once I have both sides merged.

jeeptester 05-11-2013 09:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by XDR (Post 3745215)
Llink is dead. Any reason you would want duals other than looks? I would just run 1 larger single to save room and cost, you wont gain much if any performance from duals. I plan on running my exhaust out the stock configuration once I have both sides merged.

Yea I guess its just a nostalgic thing lol and I think it sounds better. And yea it was hard to get the driver side out an area that was not intended to have an exhaust. Link hmm I'll try again.

http://i620.photobucket.com/albums/t...psd8759ea7.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 AM.