Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   Transmission fluid question (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/transmission-fluid-question-240543.html)

mlmf 05-06-2013 09:18 AM

Transmission fluid question

I am new to the jeep (2006 Wrangler X) world coming from a Honda S2000.

I want to change the tranny fluid (manual) and wonder if anyone has used the GM Fluid Synchromesh Friction Modified Manual Transmission Fluid?

I used it in my Honda and it greatly improves the feel while shifting gears.

Thanks in advance for any answers.

MadMike84 05-06-2013 10:12 AM

Personally I'd use what your manual calls for.

Jerry Bransford 05-06-2013 10:18 AM

GM Synchromesh and Pennzoil Synchromesh (same product, different brand names) both technically meet the requirements of the NV3550 5-speed and NSG370 6-speed transmissions. However, not many who used it in those transmissions liked the shifting afterward. Not to mention both of those are a conventional gear lube, not a sythetic gear lube like most prefer for their transmission.

For your transmission, most prefer these lubs... Redline MTL, Amsoil Synchromesh, Royal Purple Synchromax, or Royal Purple MaxGear 75W-90. All of those get rave reviews and all are synthetics.

Not that I'm a synthetic lubricant fanatic, I use both synthetics & conventional lubes in my vehicles depending on what the component is. But for transmissions, I do prefer a synthetic. Especially for cold places like where you live in Wyoming where a synthetic transmission lubricant helps a lot with shifting in uber-cold conditions. :)

mlmf 05-06-2013 06:14 PM

Thanks for the replies.

I will go with the Royal Purple, because it has be the best oil I have ever used. I hope it is the same in the Jeep.

Jerry Bransford 05-06-2013 07:11 PM