Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Off-Topic (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f6/)
-   -   Mechanic by profession? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f6/mechanic-by-profession-241200.html)

Willybusmc 05-07-2013 09:11 PM

Mechanic by profession?

I work for enterprise rental car at the Atlanta airport, as a maintenance tech. I was just curious to see who else on here works as a professional mechanic? I know most of us are at least backyard mechanics, just curious to see who does it for a living

Mcatt 05-07-2013 09:17 PM

I was a Chevrolet tech for about 13 years. ASE Master Tech. Changed careers and now retired. Still have my big ole Snap on box full of tools that still get a regular work out.

kyjeep 05-07-2013 09:22 PM

Turned wrenches for almost ten years ASE master. Got tired of it and bought a Snap On franchise. Love selling tools but I really miss the garage.

Willybusmc 05-07-2013 09:46 PM

I'm 19 and still in tech school. Going for my ase soon. Any advice y'all master techs can give me?

kyjeep 05-07-2013 09:58 PM

Pay really close attention to the question and read all possible answers. Don't let the Technician A Technician B crap throw you off.

MonkeyMonsoon 05-08-2013 07:21 AM

Been working at a private shop for 10 years now. ASE master tech.

1jeeplvr 05-08-2013 06:45 PM

Im a VW tech & seems to me the ASE tests are geared towards GM.

1jeeplvr 05-08-2013 06:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kyjeep (Post 3731438)
Turned wrenches for almost ten years ASE master. Got tired of it and bought a Snap On franchise. Love selling tools but I really miss the garage.

You miss the garage? Getting cut up and dirty on a regular basis was fun to you lol ? What do you miss about it? I think If I found something I liked to do I wouldent miss turning wrenches.

BlueRidgeYJ 05-08-2013 07:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kyjeep (Post 3731438)