Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Would upgrading the stock 130 to 430 increase audio quality? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/would-upgrading-the-stock-130-to-430-increase-audio-quality-241722.html)

WhiteCloak 05-10-2013 07:01 AM

Would upgrading the stock 130 to 430 increase audio quality?
 
Hey guys,

Just bought my first JK about a month ago.
I'm looking to eventually replace all of the stock sound system for something with a little more kick. I'm wondering if buying the Mopar nav upgrade would do anything on its own to improve sound quality?
And if not, would it do anything for sound quality when eventually paired with better speakers and an amp?

Sorry if this is a stupid question, but until recently I lived in New York, and never needed a vehicle, so my knowledge is limited.

vacca foeda 05-10-2013 08:00 AM

Short answer... No


The speakers are crap. If you switch speakers and the add an amp, it'll help. In that case, a 430 most likely wont give you any better audio than the 130. I just switched from a 130 to a 430 rbz, and will have to redial in my amp, but sound quality doesn't seem to have changed much.

I'm using the oem head unit to a jl 700/5 amp to aftermarket speakers and sub

LewdDude 05-10-2013 08:44 AM

I have to disagree with vacca, as sound is subjective. I swapped my 130 for a 430N and it was noticeably louder and clearer. From what I understand is that the 430 has a higher output than the 130. I have the alpine 7 speaker OEM system though, so I cant speak for the 6 speaker system. Though I think the stock Premium sound in my '08 was better than the Alpine in my 2013...

Arch 05-10-2013 08:46 AM

Save yourself some cash, stick with the 130 and add an Alpine power pack behind the dash and some new speakers and enjoy...

WhiteCloak 05-10-2013 08:56 AM

Thank you fellas for the responses... what is this I hear about in-dash nav systems being obsolete in a couple of years? They can't be upgraded via firmware?

laollis 05-10-2013 09:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lewddude (Post 3740716)
i have to disagree with vacca, as sound is subjective. I swapped my 130 for a 430n and it was noticeably louder and clearer. From what i understand is that the 430 has a higher output than the 130. I have the alpine 7 speaker oem system though, so i cant speak for the 6 speaker system. Though i think the stock premium sound in my '08 was better than the alpine in my 2013...

+1

CoreyZ 05-10-2013 09:28 AM

430 does have more power output at the HU, however its marginal. The 430 is typically partnered with the premium amp, which is garbage. Not partnered with the amp means it is at least outputting all channels through the head unit rather than the amp controlling them all. Makes it easier in the long run to use a 430 without the amp ever being installed in your Jeep, and then adding an amp of your own later on.

If you are upgrading and buying the 430, skip it. You can get a better nav/head unit from an aftermarket head unit than it typically costs for the 430. Ive got the 430N and will be getting rid of it as fast as I can so I can get a real head unit that functions like I want it.

WhiteCloak 05-10-2013 10:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoreyZ (Post 3740852)
430 does have more power output at the HU, however its marginal. The 430 is typically partnered with the premium amp, which is garbage. Not partnered with the amp means it is at least outputting all channels through the head unit rather than the amp controlling them all. Makes it easier in the long run to use a 430 without the amp ever being installed in your Jeep, and then adding an amp of your own later on.

If you are upgrading and buying the 430, skip it. You can get a better nav/head unit from an aftermarket head unit than it typically costs for the 430. Ive got the 430N and will be getting rid of it as fast as I can so I can get a real head unit that functions like I want it.


Something like the top of the line pioneer with voice activation to play nice with Uconnect?

xirtic 05-10-2013 11:35 AM

Last month I did the 130 -> 430 RBZ (non-nav) swap, and the sound quality was greatly improved. I have the 2013 JKU Sport S....without the Alpine Upgrade. On the 6 speaker system, the sound is vastly improved. My wife even made a comment after the swap that it "actually sounds good". From her that is a ringing endorsement. I like that it improved the sound, while at the same time was a seamless change for the uConnect and steering wheel controls. $300 on eBay for a green buttoned unit was also tough to pass up. I cannot see going with OEM NAV....but for a touchscreen seamlessly integrated solution..the RBZ is nice.

ahsumtoy 05-10-2013 11:41 AM

Stick with the 130
 
For better audio, the 430 and the 130 suck. Jeep uses 2-ohm cheap speakers and a cheap HU. I have a 130N premium system. I replaced all 7 speakers, put in a power amp, and the appropriate parts to use 4-ohm speakers. I used very high-grade speakers, including the sub-woofer. All my controls on the radio, and steering wheel still work, and I put a controllable sub-woofer knob inside the console. You would never know I changed anything until I turn on the system. My audio now ROCKS. See below what I did:

o (2) 6.5 Hybrid Audio Imagine Speakers for Dash 161-2
o (2) 6.5 ARC Audio Speakers for Light Bar XD1602
o (2) Hybrid Audio Tweeters going into Dash Tweeters (from Hybrid Speakers - just pull them out and use for tweeters)
o Kenwood 5-Chan Amplifier under Passenger Seat x700-5
o 8 JL Audio Subwoofer 8W1v2
o Stinger 8 GA Pro wiring kit SPK5681R
o Stinger 12 4chan RCA SI4412
o PAC RCA Line Level Controller LC1
o AAMP Gold RCA Couplers GRCAS
o PAC 2ch Adj LOC with Auto Remote SOEMT
o PAC 4ch Line Output Converter SOEM4

CoreyZ 05-10-2013 12:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WhiteCloak (Post 3740987)
Something like the top of the line pioneer with voice activation to play nice with Uconnect?

No reason to keep the uconnect crap. Use the new head unit's bluetooth connection and a new mic, Couple it with a PAC to keep the steering wheel controls.... they enjoy.

WhiteCloak 05-10-2013 09:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ahsumtoy (Post 3741288)
For better audio, the 430 and the 130 suck. Jeep uses 2-ohm cheap speakers and a cheap HU. I have a 130N premium system. I replaced all 7 speakers, put in a power amp, and the appropriate parts to use 4-ohm speakers. I used very high-grade speakers, including the sub-woofer. All my controls on the radio, and steering wheel still work, and I put a controllable sub-woofer knob inside the console. You would never know I changed anything until I turn on the system. My audio now ROCKS. See below what I did:

o (2) 6.5 Hybrid Audio Imagine Speakers for Dash 161-2
o (2) 6.5 ARC Audio Speakers for Light Bar XD1602
o (2) Hybrid Audio Tweeters going into Dash Tweeters (from Hybrid Speakers - just pull them out and use for tweeters)
o Kenwood 5-Chan Amplifier under Passenger Seat x700-5
o 8 JL Audio Subwoofer 8W1v2
o Stinger 8 GA Pro wiring kit SPK5681R
o Stinger 12 4chan RCA SI4412
o PAC RCA Line Level Controller LC1
o AAMP Gold RCA Couplers GRCAS
o PAC 2ch Adj LOC with Auto Remote SOEMT
o PAC 4ch Line Output Converter SOEM4

I am a complete noob when it comes to stereo...That list is intimidating and I wouldn't have the slightest idea where to begin. Hate to say it but I'll probably end up spending 3-4K and have a audio installer do it all for me :9lame:

whayes 05-10-2013 10:14 PM

I replaced my 130 with a 430N RBZ unit today, and I honestly can't tell much of a difference in the sound quality. Prior to the swap, I had already replaced all four stock speakers with Kickers and stuffed the sound bar and front speaker boxes with polyfill. Those changes made a big difference, so maybe there wasn't much more improvement available.

I'm really happy with the swap. The touch screen is much easier to use, especially with my iPod.

chisox711 05-11-2013 07:41 AM

My buddy swapped. 430 is nice, no sound difference whatsoever. I think people who swap like to tell themselves that because it makes them feel better about the purchase. I was on the fence, because I like the ipod integration, and sirius readout on the 430 much better. Just don't think it justifies the price.

ahsumtoy 05-11-2013 09:14 AM

The list
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by WhiteCloak (Post 3743206)
I am a complete noob when it comes to stereo...That list is intimidating and I wouldn't have the slightest idea where to begin. Hate to say it but I'll probably end up spending 3-4K and have a audio installer do it all for me :9lame:

I gave you the list of everything I put in. It cost about $1200 in parts. My local place would put in everything for around $250. That's a lot less than the 3-4k you are talking about. If you showed them the list above, they would know exactly what I did and how to do it. If not, go to another place to get it done.

WhiteCloak 05-11-2013 09:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ahsumtoy (Post 3744143)
I gave you the list of everything I put in. It cost about $1200 in parts. My local place would put in everything for around $250. That's a lot less than the 3-4k you are talking about. If you showed them the list above, they would know exactly what I did and how to do it. If not, go to another place to get it done.


Ahh! I was under the impression that I should buy all that and then install it myself! No way I could pull that off! I think I'll do what you say then, just buy everything and have them install it!!!

Quick question, and forgive me if it's retarded, stereo noob remember ;)

Do you have to replace all the speaker wires in the jeep when replacing the speakers themselves? Or is a wire a wire a wire? No difference in audio quality amoung "thicker" or more expensive wiring?

If I had to guess I'd say no, but I'd like this verified.

Oh! And also, my set up is the 6 speakers...no sub for me, so I can still use your set up minus the 'woofer, yes?

woansleftpeg 05-11-2013 10:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WhiteCloak (Post 3744241)
Ahh! I was under the impression that I should buy all that and then install it myself! No way I could pull that off! I think I'll do what you say then, just buy everything and have them install it!!!

Quick question, and forgive me if it's retarded, stereo noob remember ;)

Do you have to replace all the speaker wires in the jeep when replacing the speakers themselves? Or is a wire a wire a wire? No difference in audio quality amoung "thicker" or more expensive wiring?

If I had to guess I'd say no, but I'd like this verified.

The million dollar question. Sometimes almost literally.

If you're talking to a real audiophile, they'll tell you that good quality cable is essential. If you're doing an expensive home audio set up, they might be right. In a vehicle that will spend a lot of time with wind rushing through it, there's no problem with re-using the existing cable. Some installers might prefer to run new wires, but don't get suckered into paying hundreds of dollars for them doing so.

Quote:

Oh! And also, my set up is the 6 speakers...no sub for me, so I can still use your set up minus the 'woofer, yes?
You can still add a subwoofer, you'll just need an enclosure for it. They're not expensive to supply or build, but they do take up a bit of space.

WhiteCloak 05-11-2013 10:16 AM

Awesome Woansleftpeg! I think I'll stick with the vanilla wiring then, and probably skip the 'woofer as I'd rather not kill what little space I have :)

Also, I think I'll get the 430 RBZ (non-nav) and install that. Not for audio fidelity increase, but simply to have the touchscreen and nicer interface. I'll see if I can grab one off ebay for a reasonable price. Almost 2K for the nav version is insane.

ahsumtoy 05-11-2013 11:35 AM

Wires and Nav
 
For home sterio I have all monster cables. For my Jeep upgrade, I used new wires (not real expensive types) since all the wires from the speakers no longer went to the HU, they go to the amp which is under my drivers seat. The system sounds awesome. I already had a sub but had to re-route the wires to the amp, so I used new wires. My friend, who runs an audio store said he would have charged about $250 to do it. I conferred with him before I did anything to make sure I was doing it the correct way. If you are not going to use a sub (I sure like mine), you won't need a 5-Chan amp, only a 4-Chan.

As far as the Nav unit you got, no problem. I'm glad you stayed away from the one that has GPS. Many don't know (I believe it is the 430N), you will be paying $80-90 4 times a year if you want database (new maps) upgrades. Also, you can't put in programmed POI's into it and you can't put Lon/Lat into them. Stay with an external GPS.

The main thing to take away from this is you can use other speakers than I did. I went with Hybrids because they are rated the number one speaker in England. Also, they are near water proof, which makes them almost near dust proof, plus they sound incredible. But whatever speakers you use, make sure they are 4-ohm, not 2-ohm and you use another amp - don't use the amp that is part of the HU. The sterio place should know what to do.

WhiteCloak 05-11-2013 11:45 AM

Thanks Ahsumtoy,
I'm almost certainly going to run a set up like yours ;)
Just probably without the sub.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.