Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   2013 JKU Audio Questions (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/2013-jku-audio-questions-243183.html)

alaska_av8r 05-16-2013 10:42 PM

2013 JKU Audio Questions
 
Okay I am a bit older but still want some quality audio, just not as loud as I used to love. I have the 130 with uconnect which I use with my iphone4 and love the system. I have not delved into quality audio in many years so I have quite a few questions.

I am looking at the Pioneer Pioneer Z140BH as the head unit, my main question is how good is the navigation. I know Garmin and have used their products for years, so I know they aren't going out of business tomorrow. This other company I have never heard of, matter of fact cannot remember their name. What are your thoughts? and do they offer updates? etc....

Additionally, in my day Alpine, Marantz and Blaupunkt used to be the ultimate. However, my local audio shop only has Infinity, Rockford Fosgate, Kicker and a few other names. I am looking at the Infinity Kappa Series 60.9 CS and another infinity pair for the roll bar. In other words how does Infinity compare to Polk etc? Remember I don't want to totally blow my hat off, I just want good clear audio while the top is off.

Another question, I would like to find an amp that will fit in the space used by the manufacturer. So does anyone know the size of the factory Alpine? or the model number since they can cross reference to find the dimensions? Also I want to replace all the speakers and add a subwoofer, so do I need a 5 channel amp? or will a 4 channel work? Also can you guys verify where the factory sub is normally located? I assume I will need to purchase an enclosure and cut a hole. I want to stay as close as possible to where factory components would be located.

I am looking to spend appx $1300 for the total system give or take a few dollars and apologize for my lack of audiophile knowledge but life sometimes takes us on paths that other things become more important. So we lose track of what is good and what's not.

Crap one last question, I also plan on purchasing the harness adapter that is supposed to make the uconnect system work so I don't lose my steering wheel controls, however, if I install this system would I have to take the jeep to the dealer to the computer flashed?

Once again apologies if these are stupid questions but I have searched and read tons of topics on here and still just a little in the dark.

thanks,
Tim

woansleftpeg 05-16-2013 11:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alaska_av8r (Post 3764059)
Okay I am a bit older but still want some quality audio, just not as loud as I used to love. I have the 130 with uconnect which I use with my iphone4 and love the system. I have not delved into quality audio in many years so I have quite a few questions.

I am looking at the Pioneer Pioneer Z140BH as the head unit, my main question is how good is the navigation. I know Garmin and have used their products for years, so I know they aren't going out of business tomorrow. This other company I have never heard of, matter of fact cannot remember their name. What are your thoughts? and do they offer updates? etc....

No idea on this one, sorry.

Quote:

Additionally, in my day Alpine, Marantz and Blaupunkt used to be the ultimate. However, my local audio shop only has Infinity, Rockford Fosgate, Kicker and a few other names. I am looking at the Infinity Kappa Series 60.9 CS and another infinity pair for the roll bar. In other words how does Infinity compare to Polk etc? Remember I don't want to totally blow my hat off, I just want good clear audio while the top is off.
I have the Polk speakers, they're pretty good. I believe that the Infinity speakers are both better, and more expensive. The Polks are marine-rated, so if I get caught in a downpour with my roof off I don't have to worry about my speakers. Only my wiring, amp, carpet, dash electronics, upholstery.......

Quote:

Another question, I would like to find an amp that will fit in the space used by the manufacturer. So does anyone know the size of the factory Alpine? or the model number since they can cross reference to find the dimensions?
The Alpine MDX and PDX ranges will fit in the factory location, I believe. I hope so, because I have one on the way. The Rockford Fosgate Prime range won't. Ask me how I know. Want to buy one?

Quote:

Also I want to replace all the speakers and add a subwoofer, so do I need a 5 channel amp? or will a 4 channel work?
You'll need five channels in total. You can do that as a five channel amp, or a four channel amp for the speakers and a mono amp for the sub. There are arguments for both, but I would suggest that based on what you've said so far the simplicity of a five channel amp will be a better option.

Quote:

Also can you guys verify where the factory sub is normally located? I assume I will need to purchase an enclosure and cut a hole. I want to stay as close as possible to where factory components would be located.
Factory sub has an enclosure on the right side of the trunk, but it's shallow and only designed for an 8" unit. Don't use it, get a custom sub enclosure and a proper sub. No hole cutting required.

Quote:

I am looking to spend appx $1300 for the total system give or take a few dollars and apologize for my lack of audiophile knowledge but life sometimes takes us on paths that other things become more important. So we lose track of what is good and what's not.
Including installation, or just components? The former you're probably cutting it tight if you're including the cost of your head unit, the latter you're probably in pretty good shape.

Quote:

Crap one last question, I also plan on purchasing the harness adapter that is supposed to make the uconnect system work so I don't lose my steering wheel controls, however, if I install this system would I have to take the jeep to the dealer to the computer flashed?
No, it's plug and play. Just be aware that some have reported issues with some PAC harnesses working with the firmware on more recent '13 JKs. I haven't experienced it myself, and I don't know if other vendors such as Metra and Scosche have the same issues.

Quote:

Once again apologies if these are stupid questions but I have searched and read tons of topics on here and still just a little in the dark.

thanks,
Tim
Not stupid questions, and you're more than welcome.

alaska_av8r 05-17-2013 09:44 AM

Thank you very much for your responses, good information for me there. In regards to your comments on the Sub mounting location, if I get a custom sub enclosure, does this mean one of those boxes that I will have to mount somewhere in the back?

woansleftpeg 05-17-2013 09:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alaska_av8r (Post 3765211)
Thank you very much for your responses, good information for me there. In regards to your comments on the Sub mounting location, if I get a custom sub enclosure, does this mean one of those boxes that I will have to mount somewhere in the back?

Correct. Your options are;

- Buy a ready made enclosure. Will take up more space than any other option, and will sit loose in the trunk unless you bolt it down (which is obviously recommended if you're going to run with the roof down or leave it parked anywhere iffy with a soft top on).

- Have someone make you a custom enclosure. Will be sculpted to fit your chosen location and sub, done right it will be unobtrusive and look relatively stock. Most expensive option.

- As above, but do it yourself.

Subs and their enclosures are relatively big things, whatever you do is going to impact upon your cargo space in the vehicle. I'm going with a good quality 8" sub and the smallest enclosure I can get away with (I'm fabricating my own) on the basis that I'm not especially concerned about rattling my neighbours' windows from three blocks away, and I do use my Jeep to hump stuff around quite a lot. You need to figure out the balance between your practical needs and your need to have your vehicle capable of bothering the seismologists.

alaska_av8r 05-17-2013 02:41 PM

Like you I don't mind building an enclosure myself either, I work with boats and am not a stranger to fiberglass and could likely fabricate something. Is the factory mounted sub in an additional box that I don't have on my jeep or did they stick it in the side, not sure if there is much room for that though. Actually I could probably go by a dealer and take a peek if they have one on the lot. Wow, so much to catch up on! I don't really need totally booming base, I'm afraid it would cause alcohol abuse (spill my beer). lol I guess as bad as I hate to, I'm going to have to slow down some and really think all of this through to keep from spending a fortune. I have too many other goodies to buy, bumper, winch, lights etc. I love this forum and the wealth of knowledge, I have one like this but for boats.

woansleftpeg 05-17-2013 02:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alaska_av8r (Post 3766157)
Like you I don't mind building an enclosure myself either, I work with boats and am not a stranger to fiberglass and could likely fabricate something. Is the factory mounted sub in an additional box that I don't have on my jeep or did they stick it in the side, not sure if there is much room for that though. Actually I could probably go by a dealer and take a peek if they have one on the lot. Wow, so much to catch up on! I don't really need totally booming base, I'm afraid it would cause alcohol abuse (spill my beer). lol I guess as bad as I hate to, I'm going to have to slow down some and really think all of this through to keep from spending a fortune. I have too many other goodies to buy, bumper, winch, lights etc. I love this forum and the wealth of knowledge, I have one like this but for boats.

The factory sub comes as part of the Premium Audio package - when that is fitted, they replace the trim panel at the base of the roll cage on the right hand side of the trunk with a wider piece that houses the sub. Honestly, if you don't have it installed from the factory I wouldn't bother adding it in - I'm actually removing it from my Jeep this weekend to get the space back, and building a custom enclosure.

alaska_av8r 05-17-2013 06:22 PM

I want to see your enclosure if you don't mind when you are done. I was just out there looking at mine trying to envision something. Another day, another project...haha

JEEPbug 05-17-2013 08:11 PM

Subscribed

10Anvil 05-17-2013 08:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by woansleftpeg (Post 3766182)
The factory sub comes as part of the Premium Audio package - when that is fitted, they replace the trim panel at the base of the roll cage on the right hand side of the trunk with a wider piece that houses the sub. Honestly, if you don't have it installed from the factory I wouldn't bother adding it in - I'm actually removing it from my Jeep this weekend to get the space back, and building a custom enclosure.

you buying the new replacement panels?

woansleftpeg 05-17-2013 11:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alaska_av8r (Post 3766712)
I want to see your enclosure if you don't mind when you are done. I was just out there looking at mine trying to envision something. Another day, another project...haha

Happily. I actually had an inspiration this evening - I'm planning this weekend to build some in-fill platforms to go in the footwells for the rear seat so that my dog has a bigger area to sit/sleep/roam, and my nephew suggested I build the sub into that. The beauty of doing that is that it will leave me with maximum trunk space.

Quote:

Originally Posted by 10Anvil (Post 3767022)
you buying the new replacement panels?

Another WF member who had removed his was good enough to let me have them.

alaska_av8r 05-18-2013 12:01 AM

Quote:

Happily. I actually had an inspiration this evening - I'm planning this weekend to build some in-fill platforms to go in the footwells for the rear seat so that my dog has a bigger area to sit/sleep/roam, and my nephew suggested I build the sub into that. The beauty of doing that is that it will leave me with maximum trunk space.
Good deal, my hounds shed too much...lol

alaska_av8r 05-19-2013 06:50 PM

I just realized I probably should have posted this in the electronics section....doh
I started a new but slightly different topic over there with my current plan, which delays the installation of a new head unit for now http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/201...ml#post3772097

CoreyZ 05-19-2013 07:05 PM

I've been working on my own upgrade for the last week. I posted it on a JK specific forum but maybe I'll have to cross post it here too. Custom sub enclosures, amps mounted in the rear foot wells etc....

alaska_av8r 05-20-2013 02:52 PM

:thumb:

alaska_av8r 05-22-2013 09:35 PM

Well the Alpine MRX series does not fit....bummer
I'm not sure that PDX will fit in there either... I cannot find a MDX series are you sure they have those?

Not sure what I'm going to do now that I have an amp that won't fit...

woansleftpeg 05-22-2013 09:38 PM

You sure? I picked one up a couple of days ago but I haven't played with it yet, I'll give it a try tomorrow. It should fit quite easily.

alaska_av8r 05-23-2013 01:38 AM

It looks like the brake light switch is in the way, I cannot find a way to get the amp in there where it will fit. I'm hoping you find a solution because I really don't want to mount it under the seat.

This thing is 9 7/8 wide by 9 inches long and for the life of me I can't get it to fit in there without it resting against the brake pedal.

woansleftpeg 05-23-2013 02:17 PM

I just had a quick play, it certainly doesn't seem to want to go in from underneath. I'm going to have a try at the weekend when I have time to take the dashboard out and see if I can fit it that way, but I've got to say I'm a little less hopeful than I was. I only spent five minutes on it but it looks like it might be tight - underseat mounting could be a better option.

CoreyZ 05-23-2013 02:41 PM

My old PDX5 wouldnt have fit, thats for sure. At least not without some serious modifications to metal framed brackets and whatnot.

Just as a possibility, you could always mod your glove box and mount the amp behind it....
Shorten the depth of the glove box so its thinner, mount the amp against the blower motor behind it..

alaska_av8r 05-24-2013 12:22 AM

Well its in, or under the seat. Overall pleased with the sound except the Polk MM651's in the bar don't sound that well to me, maybe more adjusting needed. The 6501 components will blow your hat off though.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.