Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Off Road and External Lighting (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f132/)
-   -   50" Rigid LED Light bar wiring (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f132/50-rigid-led-light-bar-wiring-243739.html)

lemitone 05-19-2013 08:08 PM

50" Rigid LED Light bar wiring
 
Jeep JK Upper Windshield Mount Kit for 50" E/SR Series Light Bar

am interested in these install

Q: how can that be wired?
A from rigidindustries: the wire can be passed through the upper windshield at the top between the roof seal and then down the inside of the A pillar.

that will leak like hell!

how can it be done propper??

jdwallsy 06-08-2013 11:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lemitone (Post 3772411)
Jeep JK Upper Windshield Mount Kit for 50" E/SR Series Light Bar

am interested in these install

Q: how can that be wired?
A from rigidindustries: the wire can be passed through the upper windshield at the top between the roof seal and then down the inside of the A pillar.

that will leak like hell!

how can it be done propper??

Did you ever figure this out? I am considering wiring options this weekend.

lemitone 06-08-2013 01:11 PM

unfortunately NOT... and I didnīt find better ideas here either

justin-branam 06-08-2013 04:09 PM

Why dont you just run the wire underneath the bracket and then down into the winshield wiper motor area, and then into the engine bay. Almost like you are hooking up a set of windsheild lights. I dont think it will hurt the wire to squish it between the bracket and the outisde pillar.

JKMigs 06-12-2013 12:06 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by justin-branam (Post 3839559)
Why dont you just run the wire underneath the bracket and then down into the winshield wiper motor area, and then into the engine bay. Almost like you are hooking up a set of windsheild lights. I dont think it will hurt the wire to squish it between the bracket and the outisde pillar.

That's what I was thinking but you can't squish the adapters smh trying to figure out solution.

Toolin Around 06-12-2013 07:47 AM

I would coil the wire up at the top and hide the connector at the top and run the wire down the bracket. Or you can take apart the light and extend the wire so the connector will be farther away and concealed in the cowl.

nwapache 06-12-2013 08:42 AM

I run mine down the windshield into into the engine bay. You can tuck the connector up top at the bracket and zip tie it, or cut and splice like I did. It's not like you're going to unplug it, or anything :)

jdwallsy 06-12-2013 08:45 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Toolin Around (Post 3852249)
I would coil the wire up at the top and hide the connector at the top and run the wire down the bracket. Or you can take apart the light and extend the wire so the connector will be farther away and concealed in the cowl.

I ended up running the wire through my light bar (round bar) and drilled into the windshield plate that sits under the light bar. It is stealth but in retrospect I wish I would have gone on the outside in case I need to fix something in the future. It also would be much easier to run the wire rather than fishing it.

Attachment 260592

TrueBlueJK 06-21-2013 01:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdwallsy (Post 3852401)
I ended up running the wire through my light bar (round bar) and drilled into the windshield plate that sits under the light bar. It is stealth but in retrospect I wish I would have gone on the outside in case I need to fix something in the future. It also would be much easier to run the wire rather than fishing it.

Attachment 260592

:eek:

jdwallsy 06-21-2013 03:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TrueBlueJK (Post 3885958)

:eek:

The end product is pretty clean! - it just increases my time if repairs are required

jdwallsy 06-21-2013 03:06 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by truebluejk (Post 3885958)

:eek:



Attachment 264246

NFRs2000NYC 06-24-2013 12:35 PM

Run it behind the PSC mount. I ran mine between the Jeep and the mount, and you can't tell anything is there. No need to drill into the jeep either.

AGGIE_Rubicon 07-03-2013 07:05 PM

I cut my plug off and extended the wire where I pushed the cable into the channel between the window and the a piller and then run it under the corner and cowl to the battery. I used a black silicone to seal the cable into the channel along the window just use your finger and make it really smooth so that it looks like the window seal. I tried running it between the bracket and a pillar but I couldn't get the holes to line up with the extra thickness.

RigidIndustries 07-11-2013 10:38 PM

If you guys have any problems installing our Lights and or bracket setups please feel free to call us and we will help you out with any questions or concerns. Thanks for supporting Rigid Industries!!!

MagicMtnDan 10-15-2013 11:38 PM

The connectors Rigid Industries provides are high quality units but I think many will find them either too bulky for a clean install or in the wrong place.

The simple answer is often to cut them off and use connectors to tie the light wires to the longer wires needed.

JKMigs 10-16-2013 12:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RigidIndustries (Post 3952954)
If you guys have any problems installing our Lights and or bracket setups please feel free to call us and we will help you out with any questions or concerns. Thanks for supporting Rigid Industries!!!

I had an issue with the connector being to short and when I called was told to just run the wire through the inside. I didn't like that idea so I just ran the wire behind the bracket as far down I could until the connector and the. Wrapped it in electrical tape so it doesn't stick out so much.

By the way thanks for sending the adapter for the whistle :)

HighlanderMike 06-28-2015 10:44 PM

I have a 50" led light bar and wonder if I can just wire this without a relay and just run it to my switch?

troyi 12-22-2015 04:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RigidIndustries (Post 3952954)
If you guys have any problems installing our Lights and or bracket setups please feel free to call us and we will help you out with any questions or concerns. Thanks for supporting Rigid Industries!!!

Digging up an old thread. I purchased a light bar from Krawl Off Road which apparently has the same set up as the Rigid Industries light bar described above. I went to install my light bar and found that the cable coming off the light is only 16" long, whereas the A-Pillar is about 25" tall. This has to be one of the dumbest design issues ever. Why not make the cable long enough to run between the light bar bracket and A-Pillar? I have an sPod, in part, so that I would not have to run cables through the weather strips or unnecessarily drill in to the body. The connections on the Rigid and Krawl lights are both of good quality and designed to be weather resistant, so why make it so difficult to install? :atomic:

Matt 06-15-2016 02:14 PM

Figured I'd resurrect an old thread than start new.

Has this been solved? I have this issue and after 2yrs of staring at the wire NEXT to my bracket I want it hidden. I called Rigid and was told "we don't install so we don't give advice on wiring." Wonderful.

troyi 06-16-2016 12:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 26220649)
Figured I'd resurrect an old thread than start new.

Has this been solved? I have this issue and after 2yrs of staring at the wire NEXT to my bracket I want it hidden. I called Rigid and was told "we don't install so we don't give advice on wiring." Wonderful.

I ran my wires through the roof / A Pillar intersection. I have not had any problems with leaks or wind noise. The problem I did have was that the connections were too big to fit inside the A pillar cover. I ended up cutting the wires and using some electrical wire connectors just to give me the option of removing the light bar without too much trouble. Just be sure to leave yourself some slack in the wiring so you have room to work with. Good Luck!!!

Matt 06-16-2016 05:47 AM

Thanks! Did you look at extending the wires and removing the outer black sheath to make the cable thinner? I'm fighting the idea of drilling into the pillar and the crease running down the mount's side looks like at least something should fit.

Luckily, I don't have a large connector in the way. On my Rigid E2 it's about 6ft from the light bar, so it easily reaches under the hood.

troyi 06-17-2016 01:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 26229729)
Thanks! Did you look at extending the wires and removing the outer black sheath to make the cable thinner? I'm fighting the idea of drilling into the pillar and the crease running down the mount's side looks like at least something should fit. Luckily, I don't have a large connector in the way. On my Rigid E2 it's about 6ft from the light bar, so it easily reaches under the hood.

Nop. Without the connectors, the cable was thin enough to run in between the A pillar and roof. My only issue was that the connectors were about 18" from the light. I have seen others who drilled the A piller, but that is not something I would have considered. The potential for wind noise and water intrusion would likely go way up.

Good luck!!

Matt 06-17-2016 01:40 AM

Can you post a pic? Where did you bring the cable out near the engine compartment? (I'm assuming it didn't fit between bracket/roof the whole way, and you came out the side near the bottom?)

Also, left a vmail for a tech at Rigid for that "wiring advice" they offered earlier in this thread. Silence.

Unstuck 16 06-18-2016 08:21 AM

You can see where I have my wiring coming out from behind my 50" bracket for my 50" Rigid Radiance here right next to my Rigid cube LED.
http://i678.photobucket.com/albums/v...psulkc4upj.jpg
This pic shows where the 50" and cube wiring runs into the engine bay, the wires are wrapped in wire loom.
http://i678.photobucket.com/albums/v...psisr0kxy1.jpg
I like to hide my wiring as much as possible.

caseyp1122 06-18-2016 01:17 PM

Yea seriously I have a few words for rigid and their fake concern/help. I have the same setup as unstuck and this experience has made think twice before ever buying their products again

Matt 06-18-2016 01:48 PM

I am doing the exact same setup, thanks @unstuck _16 - I will wire the same way.

Looks like you replaced the bolts to handle the additional thickness. Was the rigid recommendation of m8x1.25x35mm bolt long enough?

Unstuck 16 06-18-2016 08:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 26263993)
I am doing the exact same setup, thanks @unstuck _16 - I will wire the same way.

Looks like you replaced the bolts to handle the additional thickness. Was the rigid recommendation of m8x1.25x35mm bolt long enough?

Yes the M8 1.25x35mm bolt work perfectly. I bought an 8 pack of them on eBay, here is the link if anybody needs them in the future if you're using a 50" windshield bracket and A-Piller cubes brackets, you will need these longer bolts as mention by Rigid.
8 M8 1 25x35 Metric Hex Flange Bolts Grade 10 9 DIN 6921 | eBay
If you guys have anymore questions about wiring or anything feel free to ask.

Unstuck 16 06-18-2016 08:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caseyp1122 (Post 26263729)
Yea seriously I have a few words for rigid and their fake concern/help. I have the same setup as unstuck and this experience has made think twice before ever buying their products again

Casey, check out my post above, I also sent you a PM :beerdrinking:

Matt 07-11-2016 01:19 AM

Just to follow up, thanks to everyone for the advice. I wired the way @unstuck _16 suggested and got a significant amount of wire hidden.

I also added brackets for a-pillar lights and the Rigid recommended M8x1.25x35mm stopped going in on the driver's side. I tried a few times but no luck, just felt too long. So I picked up M8x1.25x30mm bolts and that worked perfectly. Finally have a great setup!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nwcg3agQ7Uw

jackor 07-14-2016 01:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lemitone (Post 3772411)
Jeep JK Upper Windshield Mount Kit for 50" E/SR Series Light Bar

am interested in these install

Q: how can that be wired?
A from rigidindustries: the wire can be passed through the upper windshield at the top between the roof seal and then down the inside of the A pillar.

that will leak like hell!

how can it be done propper??



go to a marine shop and buy a proper cable gland. It'll be 100% water tight and you can feed the cable through wherever you want to. It'll be a clean and great looking install of any wiring that goes from the outside to the inside. Forget about the backyard solutions involving grommets and 1/4 tube of silicone.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.