Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Complete axle swap (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/complete-axle-swap-245089.html)

black betty2012 05-25-2013 09:11 PM

Complete axle swap
 
Will all jk axles interchange with each other? Will 2 door fit on 4 dr? I know rubicon has the the locker and axle is diff but will it f

Bolt on a sport, just have to wire up locker? Complete as in- complet housing with hubs and everything.

rtguy 05-25-2013 10:26 PM

The axles are interchangeable. Just be sure the gear ratio is the same and u can bolt it right up:wavey:

DJL2 05-25-2013 10:34 PM

Yes, excepting the electrical bits and the brake lines, about the only part of the Jeep that actually interacts with the axle is the drive shaft. The suspension - the control arms, the coils and the shocks - don't really care what they bolt to as long as it's more or less where it's supposed to be.

Take a look under your Jeep, for giggles, and look at what actually connects to the axle. You might be surprised what you find.

rtguy 05-25-2013 10:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DJL2 (Post 3793223)
Yes, excepting the electrical bits and the brake lines, about the only part of the Jeep that actually interacts with the axle is the drive shaft. The suspension - the control arms, the coils and the shocks - don't really care what they bolt to as long as it's more or less where it's supposed to be.

Take a look under your Jeep, for giggles, and look at what actually connects to the axle. You might be surprised what you find.

Hmmm...don't see why you would change the brake lines for an axle swap unless you were gonna install extended lines at the same time. The calipers are separate. Wheel speed sensors etc just plug back in. The spring perches, shock mounts, control arm mounts etc. all are the same regardless of 2/4 door and model. You can reuse your driveshaft as long as the new axle has the factory yoke

black betty2012 05-26-2013 09:22 AM

Cool. Thinking about putting some rubicon axles on it and just hook locker up on a switch.

JEEPDON 05-26-2013 09:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by black betty2012 (Post 3793924)
Cool. Thinking about putting some rubicon axles on it and just hook locker up on a switch.

It works great...........just ask me how I know!!!:thumb:

HAFICON 05-26-2013 09:42 AM

Would love to do this but the cost for a set of used Rubicon axles around here.. WOW. Also the OEM rubicon switch is only about $80 bucks and the OEM wriing is is about $100 bucks that is the cheap part.

But ont forget to get your AEV Procal to put your new gear ratio into your computer this might be 2012 or newer only though.

JEEPDON 05-26-2013 09:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HAFICON (Post 3793983)
Would love to do this but the cost for a set of used Rubicon axles around here.. WOW. Also the OEM rubicon switch is only about $80 bucks and the OEM wriing is is about $100 bucks that is the cheap part.

But ont forget to get your AEV Procal to put your new gear ratio into your computer this might be 2012 or newer only though.

Just forget the OEM switches and wiring
Build your own. :thumb:
http://i1228.photobucket.com/albums/...v/DSCN1007.jpg

JEEPDON 05-26-2013 09:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HAFICON (Post 3793983)
Would love to do this but the cost for a set of used Rubicon axles around here.. WOW. Also the OEM rubicon switch is only about $80 bucks and the OEM wriing is is about $100 bucks that is the cheap part.

But ont forget to get your AEV Procal to put your new gear ratio into your computer this might be 2012 or newer only though.

An d I could have traded for a new Rubbycon for about the same money as I put into my conversion; but then I would have had to start over with bumpers, flares, lift, and other sheeit that I had done to my JEEP also.
Now mine is kind of unique!!!!!! :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.