Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Uconnect Software Upgrade (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/uconnect-software-upgrade-247157.html)

BLK2012 06-04-2013 03:23 PM

Uconnect Software Upgrade
 
I searched and didn't see anybody who mentioned this disc.

I received it in the mail and upgraded and really don't notice a difference yet (better graphics, faster loading as they mention).

Does anybody else see a difference?

kash 06-04-2013 03:25 PM

what head unit?

BLK2012 06-04-2013 03:37 PM

430 RBZ and 430N RHB, mine read 2012 models...

LoveJiuJitsu 06-04-2013 03:47 PM

We have a 430n that also prompted for an update. Can you take it into the dealership and have them update it if you have a warranty?

mjohnson2400 06-04-2013 03:54 PM

Where did you get the disc from??? Would love to try an update my RBZ.

bushey 06-04-2013 04:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mjohnson2400 (Post 3825274)
Where did you get the disc from??? Would love to try an update my RBZ.

Ditto.

Garyk 06-04-2013 06:07 PM

Mine works just fine...hate to screw with it.....

Gewch 06-05-2013 12:35 AM

Does this update the System Information > Software > Application to a new version?

My RHB is running Application 43.00.13

BLK2012 06-05-2013 05:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mjohnson2400 (Post 3825274)
Where did you get the disc from??? Would love to try an update my RBZ.

It came in the mail right from Chrysler...

BLK2012 06-05-2013 05:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gewch (Post 3826928)
Does this update the System Information > Software > Application to a new version?

My RHB is running Application 43.00.13

This disc says 33.01.23 Garmin 3.0 on it, which it loaded on the Jeep.

My old RHB software was 33.00.xx.

It went through a process of updating the baseline data files, and then the application software.

The package says improved navigation graphics, quicker GPS signal acquisition, and shorter processing times. Nothing to do with map updates, etc.

I'll test it more today.

Riccochet 06-05-2013 07:14 AM

Odd. I have a 2012 with the 430n. Never received a disc. Maybe I'll call the dealer.

DocT 06-05-2013 07:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Riccochet
Odd. I have a 2012 with the 430n. Never received a disc. Maybe I'll call the dealer.

I have read on this forum that 2013 owners with 430n's have stated that their graphics are not as good as the 2012's. I'm not going to update until I hear that the graphics don't change.

nycenglish 06-05-2013 08:54 AM

I got one in the mail yesterday also. I have a 2012 JKU.

It does mention that the update includes 'better graphics'.

Marc W 06-05-2013 08:58 AM

The nav screen definition on my '13 430n is not good. My basic Garmin Nuvi is much better and I would love to be able to change it to the same as the Nuvi. If this does that... I'm all over it. I haven't gotten anything in the mail so I'll go by the dealer and see if they know anything about this. I'll be surprised if they do.

LewdDude 06-05-2013 06:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BLK2012 (Post 3827232)

This disc says 33.01.23 Garmin 3.0 on it, which it loaded on the Jeep.

My old RHB software was 33.00.xx.

It went through a process of updating the baseline data files, and then the application software.

The package says improved navigation graphics, quicker GPS signal acquisition, and shorter processing times. Nothing to do with map updates, etc.

I'll test it more today.

My '13 Sahara is running 44.00.01 it's a 430N RHB. I have not updated at all...

Supperfast 06-05-2013 07:04 PM

Just tried to update mine ... 13 JKUR with 430 RHB and it didn't work.. Said pnd did not update . Tried it three times and all three times it said the same thing and stared over. But it turned my screen blue like in the 12 models.... Wish I didn't do it now...

laollis 06-05-2013 08:25 PM

2012 needs update, not 2013.

LoveJiuJitsu 06-06-2013 06:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nycenglish (Post 3827718)
I got one in the mail yesterday also. I have a 2012 JKU.

It does mention that the update includes 'better graphics'.

We got our disc in the mail yesterday. Scared to try to update it.

xsdbs 06-06-2013 07:32 AM

opps. Your 2013 had a different SW version on it and with this disc (which is for 2012 vehicles) you went backwards. What color was your screen before? What SW version is now on the radio (look into the menu settings)


Quote:

Originally Posted by Supperfast (Post 3829530)
Just tried to update mine ... 13 JKUR with 430 RHB and it didn't work.. Said pnd did not update . Tried it three times and all three times it said the same thing and stared over. But it turned my screen blue like in the 12 models.... Wish I didn't do it now...


stroked250 06-06-2013 09:03 AM

I loaded the 33.01.23 update a few weeks ago and have been running it since. I see no difference in anything. I just downloaded it from the internet. I also updated my Gracenotes.

Supperfast 06-06-2013 09:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by xsdbs (Post 3831297)
opps. Your 2013 had a different SW version on it and with this disc (which is for 2012 vehicles) you went backwards. What color was your screen before? What SW version is now on the radio (look into the menu settings)

Yeah I messed up... I talked to Uconnect on the phone and I have to take it to the dealer to get it fixed.. They said I'm not the first one to do it .. I guess it pays to read the directions first..

dvitous 06-06-2013 11:57 AM

I haven't seen an update yet. I did just get the message that my maps are a year old... and where to go to BUY them. :(

Precisely the reason I didn't want Nav... but it was on the only model available with the rest of the specs I wanted.

Haven't looked at the price yet... but if it's anything like my Honda Odyssey... it'll cost about the same as a new Garmin with LIFETIME map updates :banghead:

Sherifftruman 06-06-2013 01:39 PM

We have a 2012 and my system graphics already look like what they say are new, so I wonder what the deal is. If it might help bluetooth streaming from my iPhone 5, which is always glitchy I'll gladly do it.

I checked the other day for a map update and it sucks because I can't see what roads are on it from the Navteq site. My area is constantly expanding and there's definitely no point paying $150 if it's not 100% up to date, but since we regularly drive on a 20 mile toll road that is brand new it would be nice. It is really funny to drive on it with the navigation going through nothing with neighborhoods on each side so it tries to send you through there.

lesgoff 06-06-2013 01:41 PM

I also received the disc in the mail today. Anyone know if the update will cause any problems with MyGig Lockpick V5?

KarlG 06-06-2013 06:48 PM

Warning! Warning! Warning!
 
So I got the Complimentary Software Upgrade from Chrysler and attempted to update my 430N RHB in my 2012 Wrangler Build Date 09/15/2011. After following all the steps in the install instructions, I got to the enter security code section and did as instructed and entered code "0000". I got the message "Incorrect Code Try Again". I reentered the code twice more, same message then...Security lockout and message to wait 30 minutes on screen. :doh:

Called Uconnect customer service...Responce, "Oh yeah, this happens. You will have to take your vehicle to the dealer". :banghead::banghead::banghead:

Great.

Despite hopes, same message of security lockout persisted way past 30 minutes. Disk would not eject or unit respond to command to eject disk. I pulled the ground to battery and reattached after about 10 minutes. The radio was now in off position with time only displayed . I successfully ejected the disk prior to pushing the nav power on button. Unit booted upon pushing the start button after the disk was removed with no further security lockout screen. System data showed software had updated to 33.01.23. Unit seems to be fine now.

Consider yourselves warned. You may be headed for a dealer rescue from the software update experience. I would suggest if you get an incorrect security code message after entering the 0000 as instructed once you DO NOT reenter the code but try to eject the disk before the unit locks up from an incorrect code entry time out from too many trys. Good luck out there! :wavey:

jwilson2598 06-06-2013 07:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lesgoff (Post 3832547)
I also received the disc in the mail today. Anyone know if the update will cause any problems with MyGig Lockpick V5?

It shouldn't have any effect on the Lockpick

xsdbs 06-07-2013 06:20 AM

when you performed the update, was the ignition in the "acc" or "on" mode?





Quote:

Originally Posted by KarlG (Post 3833537)
So I got the Complimentary Software Upgrade from Chrysler and attempted to update my 430N RHB in my 2012 Wrangler Build Date 09/15/2011. After following all the steps in the install instructions, I got to the enter security code section and did as instructed and entered code "0000". I got the message "Incorrect Code Try Again". I reentered the code twice more, same message then...Security lockout and message to wait 30 minutes on screen. :doh:

Called Uconnect customer service...Responce, "Oh yeah, this happens. You will have to take your vehicle to the dealer". :banghead::banghead::banghead:

Great.

Despite hopes, same message of security lockout persisted way past 30 minutes. Disk would not eject or unit respond to command to eject disk. I pulled the ground to battery and reattached after about 10 minutes. The radio was now in off position with time only displayed . I successfully ejected the disk prior to pushing the nav power on button. Unit booted upon pushing the start button after the disk was removed with no further security lockout screen. System data showed software had updated to 33.01.23. Unit seems to be fine now.

Consider yourselves warned. You may be headed for a dealer rescue from the software update experience. I would suggest if you get an incorrect security code message after entering the 0000 as instructed once you DO NOT reenter the code but try to eject the disk before the unit locks up from an incorrect code entry time out from too many trys. Good luck out there! :wavey:


Pattynole 06-07-2013 06:29 AM

got mine in the mail yesterday. went thru the update process. never got the "security code" screen. everything seems to work fine.

KarlG 06-07-2013 10:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by xsdbs (Post 3835111)
when you performed the update, was the ignition in the "acc" or "on" mode?

Hi xsdbs! I am pretty sure it was in the acc mode. One click forward. No USB device present although I permanently have an iPhone 4S cord attached to the USB port in the center console.

KarlG 06-07-2013 10:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pattynole (Post 3835122)
got mine in the mail yesterday. went thru the update process. never got the "security code" screen. everything seems to work fine.

Interesting because the security screen is specifically shown in the installation instructions and the directions state to enter "0000" at this screen.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.