Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Duratrac's or BFG All-Terrain KO? Central Texas (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/duratracs-or-bfg-all-terrain-ko-central-texas-247305.html)

dontlaughmeow 06-05-2013 09:53 AM

Duratrac's or BFG All-Terrain KO? Central Texas

I've been researching new tires for my 2013 JKUS on order. I'm swapping out the 18" wheels for 17's. I bought the Quadratec MOAB style alloy's (4.7" BS). Now the big decision is what tires to dump my funds into. I won't be doing any hard-core off-roading, just camping and other light off-road stuff. It will be 95% DD, highway/city. I'm moving to Austin, TX in a couple months and want to make sure I get the right tire for the area. Dry, hot and some wet/rain conditions, don't care about snow/ice conditions for obvious reasons. Won't really be doing any mudding or rock climbing.

I want to get the best MPG possible, quiet ride, smooth cornering, good tread life.

The size I am going with is 285/70/17. Not quite a 33" but almost there. No lift, everything else is stock except the wheels. I wanted wider tires and different rims.

I want to get opinions on which of these tires would be best for my area and driving conditions. Best MPG, handling, tread life. I like the Duratrac's aggressive look a little more but I've heard a lot of good things about the BFG's. I've heard the Duratrac's sidewalls are really soft when cornering, I'm not too keen on that, is that true?

What are your opinions?
  • Goodyear Duratrac
  • BFGoodrich All-Terrain T-A KO
Thanks in advance!

Blkfenderslookbetter 06-05-2013 10:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dontlaughmeow (Post 3827875)
I want to get the best MPG possible, quiet ride, smooth cornering, good tread life.