Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   YJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/)
-   -   Sway Bar Disconnect ? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/sway-bar-disconnect-247350.html)

Meshugga 06-05-2013 02:15 PM

Sway Bar Disconnect ?
 
Hey all. When I disconnect my sway bar when I'm off pavement is it safe to just push the sway bar up and leave it or should I have something there to hold it up? Last time I was out I disconnected it but didn't know if it was safe to leave without strapping it down so I used the winch to hold it in place. It seems to stay put when I lift it but I don't want it falling and catching on things.

Also I can't seem to find the rear sway bar. Do YJs have one? As you can probably tell I'm pretty new to Jeeps and suspension in general.

AZ WRANGLER 06-05-2013 02:46 PM

Yes you can just tie it up against the frame, out of the way. I use some heavy duty Velcro strapping to wrap it against the frame.

The rear has no sway bar, just a track bar

Meshugga 06-05-2013 03:22 PM

What about disconnecting the track bars? Is that common or unnecessary?

Scott-CJ8 06-05-2013 04:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Meshugga (Post 3828664)
What about disconnecting the track bars? Is that common or unnecessary?

OMG .... don't ask THAT question! :eek:
That's been asked and debated alot here ...:deadhorse:
Please do a search on this foum for track bars and you'll get the low-down.
But the short answer is "They do help for stability on the road, but limit your articulation when off-roading".
Do you need 'em??? That's up to you.

AZ WRANGLER 06-05-2013 04:04 PM

I run without sway or track bars on. It's a personal choice that Jeep owners have to make for themselves.

jeff_in_rc 06-05-2013 04:18 PM

I use a disconnect for the sway bar and I just push it up as far as it will go and so far it had never even moved. YMMV.

Meshugga 06-05-2013 04:20 PM

Cool. Thanks everyone. I think I'll keep the trackbars on and make a strap of some sort for the sway bar.

StanF 06-05-2013 04:48 PM

I use a bungee cord. My sway bar bushings are so tight, that I'd be surprised if it moved.

Cowboy17 06-05-2013 07:05 PM

If you look on the frame there are two small holes near to where the swaybar would be if diconnected and up and out of the way.
You can buy some eyelets that will bolt into these holes. This will give a great anchor point. Then get appropriate bungees, one for each side, and tie them up.

Track bars, pull 'em. Keep them though in case you ever sell the vehicle.

4Jeepn 06-05-2013 07:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scott-CJ8 (Post 3828800)
OMG .... don't ask THAT question! :eek:
That's been asked and debated alot here ...:deadhorse:
Please do a search on this foum for track bars and you'll get the low-down.
But the short answer is "They do help for stability on the road, but limit your articulation when off-roading".
Do you need 'em??? That's up to you.

Also around here we don't tell folks to go search... we are a active forum, not a data base.. we like people ask any question they want even one that has been asked over and over.

As for the OP's question, nope you don't need either track bar for on road or off on a YJ... but as stated do your own testing and see what you like.

AZ_Zoner 06-05-2013 09:53 PM

I use a short bungee cord on each side to hold them up to the fender support bar, and a even shorter bungee to hold the bottom portion back to the axle. I did a 5 mile rocky trail one time with just the top bungee up and the bottoms had vibrated real close to the point where it could of destroyed the bottom part of the link. I have the JSK that split in the middle.

cb

Scott-CJ8 06-06-2013 11:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 4Jeepn (Post 3829395)
Also around here we don't tell folks to go search... we are a active forum, not a data base.. we like people ask any question they want even one that has been asked over and over.

My apologies to Meshugga.
Sorry about that... not meant to be a discouraging remark. That part wasn't serious, but was just giving reference to the vast discussions in the past. To avoid another long, drawn out post, I thought a reference point might help.

Keep the questions and discussions coming. There is a lot of good info here, current and in past posts as well.

cakes567 06-06-2013 11:55 AM

They do sell quick disconnect sway bars and track bars. Take em off when your off road and put them back on when your on road

jeff_in_rc 06-06-2013 12:14 PM

To me it would not be worth the hassle to constantly be removing and installing the trac bars to go wheeling, but hey thats me.

The sway bars is a no brainer but the trac bars, naw.

JD95YJ 06-06-2013 12:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 4Jeepn (Post 3829395)
Also around here we don't tell folks to go search... we are a active forum, not a data base.. we like people ask any question they want even one that has been asked over and over.

As for the OP's question, nope you don't need either track bar for on road or off on a YJ... but as stated do your own testing and see what you like.

lol it could've been worse.. For instance he could've said here's your answer: Let me google that for you

roadyrob 06-06-2013 01:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JD95YJ (Post 3832034)
lol it could've been worse.. For instance he could've said here's your answer: Let me google that for you

LOL, I've always liked that one. personally I always search before posting a new thread. the forums are a great source of knowledge, usually I can find dozens of answers to my question and I don't have to wait.

CumminsGift 06-07-2013 10:59 PM

Never experienced with either. . . . Just got my YJ and put a 2.5 susp lift. Think that I will roll with the Trac bar removed and then disconnect the sway when I go wheelin.

Thx guys

JD95YJ 06-08-2013 12:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CumminsGift (Post 3837812)
Never experienced with either. . . . Just got my YJ and put a 2.5 susp lift. Think that I will roll with the Trac bar removed and then disconnect the sway when I go wheelin.

Thx guys

Yeah definitely remove trac bars and just get quick disconnects for the sway bar (if you still want to use it)

WGHyrum 06-08-2013 12:54 PM

I run without track bars. I noticed that on my stock suspension the track bar made the left rear spring sag more because it pushes laterally that direction.
I tested out running with homemade q/ds on the sway bar for a while, but found that I prefer to keep it off, so I removed it. When I had it disconnected, I would just tie it up to the frame with paracord. I don't think it was necessary, but better safe than KLUNK!
By the way, I just drove 2200 miles this week without the sway bars on everything from flat Wyoming highways to Moab to crossing the Great Divide via curvy US 50 in Colorado without a sway bar, track bars, or problems.

petercass88 06-09-2013 12:16 AM

as someone who has always driven low to the ground cars with tight suspensions... i was pleasantly surprised and shocked to find out the YJ i bought had no track bars and no sway bars. I never feel like i am going to leave a stain on the drivers seat when hopping on the highway. (5" SUA Lift with 33" tires on Dana 60 1ton axles)

WGHyrum 06-09-2013 03:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by petercass88 (Post 3840688)
as someone who has always driven low to the ground cars with tight suspensions... i was pleasantly surprised and shocked to find out the YJ i bought had no track bars and no sway bars. I never feel like i am going to leave a stain on the drivers seat when hopping on the highway. (5" SUA Lift with 33" tires on Dana 60 1ton axles)

I am jealous of your axles.

Ibuildembig 06-09-2013 08:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by petercass88 (Post 3840688)
as someone who has always driven low to the ground cars with tight suspensions... i was pleasantly surprised and shocked to find out the YJ i bought had no track bars and no sway bars. I never feel like i am going to leave a stain on the drivers seat when hopping on the highway. (5" SUA Lift with 33" tires on Dana 60 1ton axles)

Sua 60 front? I'm not sure that's possible...

IndyJeepMan 06-09-2013 10:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ibuildembig (Post 3841189)

Sua 60 front? I'm not sure that's possible...

I agree. Not possible to my knowledge.

Also, 60's on 33"s? Talk about drag.

Ibuildembig 06-09-2013 04:23 PM

I'd prolly do it lol

petercass88 06-09-2013 11:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ibuildembig (Post 3841189)
Sua 60 front? I'm not sure that's possible...

naysayers gonna nay say.
http://i.imgur.com/EnrAh0G.jpg

They are beefcakes. The picture doesnt do them justice. They are bigger than the axles on my beastly ramcharger. they have 4.88 gears in em... I have been hunting for 35s but at least i know my odds of breaking an axle are slim lol! I wish i knew how to do SOA or if there was someone in my area that could. I know it involves welding which i CANT do.. BAAHH!!! But, it has a black diamond lift kit. PO said it was 5" but i doubt its that much. Revolver shackles on the back and reversal kit on the front. 3/4 ton disk breaks front and rear as well. With tiny 33's i can stop on a dime considering the little 4 banger cant get me going that fast anyways. I have been on the hunt for some nice 35's but its hard to consider parting with the 33's since they are practically brand new and I know i wouldn't get what i want for em.

Here are some more pictures of me not having a trac bar or sway bars.
http://i.imgur.com/8DXywww.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/tSWo75j.jpg
Dont mind my rusty mess of an exhaust...

Ibuildembig 06-10-2013 12:01 AM

Hate to be the bearer of bad news, but that's not a 60 front. Sorry :(

Ibuildembig 06-10-2013 12:05 AM

It's definitely odd though, it looks like a GM/dodge center section moved over to the drivers side. What's throwing me is that it appears to be hp and that's a ford only thing. We need more pics to determine what someone made.

petercass88 06-10-2013 12:14 AM

hmm i just had the seals in the front replaced and they required an older style D60 seal

Ibuildembig 06-10-2013 12:15 AM

Which seals?

petercass88 06-10-2013 12:16 AM

its definitely an older axle, its from Dynatrac. They dont even make it anymore, a phone call had to be made to get the seals.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 AM.