Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Rubicon Sway Bar mod w/Evo manual disco (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/rubicon-sway-bar-mod-w-evo-manual-disco-247419.html)

rics1997 06-05-2013 06:25 PM

Rubicon Sway Bar mod w/Evo manual disco
 
Bought a Rubicon E-Sway bar and got it in today. I am now waiting for my next package a EVO NoLimits Manual Rubicon Swaybar Disconnect. Hopefully before this week end.

http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n...psf4c979d4.jpg


The Evo manual conversion

http://www.offroadevolution.com/stor...ITS_medium.jpg

SilverSport 06-05-2013 08:07 PM

You got a good deal as far as the price of the sway bar?

rics1997 06-05-2013 08:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SilverSport (Post 3829779)
You got a good deal as far as the price of the sway bar?


I think that I did. It came off a 2012 so it's not that old. $325 for the bar with shipping and $98 for the Evo system with shipping so I will have $423 in it total

jkjeeper06 06-05-2013 08:18 PM

So it just looks like with that kit you'll just have to reach under the bumper and twist that knob to disconnect? That's pretty cool!

rics1997 06-05-2013 08:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkjeeper06 (Post 3829821)
So it just looks like with that kit you'll just have to reach under the bumper and twist that knob to disconnect? That's pretty cool!

Yelp... I watched the video, it looks like it is real easy to operate

SilverSport 06-05-2013 09:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rics1997 (Post 3829803)
I think that I did. It came off a 2012 so it's not that old. $325 for the bar with shipping and $98 for the Evo system with shipping so I will have $423 in it total

Yeah, that's a fraction of the cost of a new one. :thumb:

kjeeper10 06-05-2013 09:59 PM

That's pretty cool. Some recommend still disconnecting under extreme articulation. I saw recently where a member reversed the links and broke them.

rics1997 06-05-2013 10:20 PM

I think the ones that I have seen do that had not got the proper size sway bar link (too short for their lift). I have extended links where my current setup has the sway bar fairly level. Hopefully that is all it takes.

WatchThis! 06-05-2013 10:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rics1997 (Post 3830336)
I think the ones that I have seen do that had not got the proper size sway bar link (too short for their lift). I have extended links where my current setup has the sway bar fairly level. Hopefully that is all it takes.

Being level has nothing to do with if they are long enough to keep from flipping. You need to set it up to when one side is at full drop and make sure the sway bar is not close to the breakover point.

If you have a lot of down travel from ride height your sway bar will not be parallel at all.

kramer2k 06-06-2013 07:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kjeeper10 (Post 3830235)
That's pretty cool. Some recommend still disconnecting under extreme articulation. I saw recently where a member reversed the links and broke them.

:wavey:

That was probably me. I have the correct size end links and mine still flipped. I get tons of droop from my lift setup and the passenger flipped and snapped the end link like a twig.

I'll be manually disconnecting both links from now on.

live_slow 06-06-2013 08:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kramer2k (Post 3831341)
:wavey:

That was probably me. I have the correct size end links and mine still flipped. I get tons of droop from my lift setup and the passenger flipped and snapped the end link like a twig.

I'll be manually disconnecting both links from now on.


Dang. So you will just wrench it? Or you're working in some manual disconnects (like pins, like the old days, lol).

That's the only feature on my new Rubicon that I don't much like, that e-disconnect. I never minded the pins on my old RE quick disconnect. I'm always getting dirty anyway, so reconnecting them wasn't a big deal.

To the OP, that's cool. Let us know how it all works out!

kramer2k 06-06-2013 09:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by live_slow (Post 3831413)

Dang. So you will just wrench it? Or you're working in some manual disconnects (like pins, like the old days, lol).

That's the only feature on my new Rubicon that I don't much like, that e-disconnect. I never minded the pins on my old RE quick disconnect. I'm always getting dirty anyway, so reconnecting them wasn't a big deal.

To the OP, that's cool. Let us know how it all works out!

I have Rock Krawler end links and installed them with the optional quick disconnect method with pins.

kjeeper10 06-06-2013 10:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kramer2k (Post 3831341)

:wavey:

That was probably me. I have the correct size end links and mine still flipped. I get tons of droop from my lift setup and the passenger flipped and snapped the end link like a twig.

I'll be manually disconnecting both links from now on.

Yeupppp

rics1997 06-12-2013 09:28 AM

Got it installed. Had to give it a little test and pose. Very easy to use and only takes a couple seconds to disengage. After testing, I have no concern of sway bar flip

http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n...psb02af5bd.jpg

http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n...psb3e5a4f2.jpg

http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n...ps0f613a1e.jpg

Thorshammer7 06-12-2013 10:45 AM

Very nice !!! I want one too. :D

rics1997 06-12-2013 06:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thorshammer7 (Post 3852818)
Very nice !!! I want one too. :D


I got lucky on this one. Been looking to pick one up every since I seen someone else do this. Found this one for sale in the Forum For Sale section off a 2012. You can also modify the electronic section and hook it to a toggle switch but you have to drill out the rivets and bypass the circuit board. Might try that later on but for now, this is easy to use and you don't have to worry about the electronics failing.

Bubb 07-17-2013 04:48 PM

Did you have to buy any additional brackets or modify anything under there in order to install the Rubi parts?

RemoJK 07-18-2013 07:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bubb (Post 3973215)
Did you have to buy any additional brackets or modify anything under there in order to install the Rubi parts?

You just take out the actuator and put this in it's place. only thing you have to do is zip tie the plug somewhere to your cross member or where ever

Bubb 07-18-2013 10:45 AM

Sorry, I wasn't very clear. I have a '13 JKU Sport. Are there any brackets or other modifications necessary to install one of these on a non-Rubicon?

RemoJK 07-18-2013 11:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bubb (Post 3975982)
Sorry, I wasn't very clear. I have a '13 JKU Sport. Are there any brackets or other modifications necessary to install one of these on a non-Rubicon?

These are only required with rubicons with the auto sway bar disconnect. If you have a sport you can look at the quick disco's for your sway bar end links.

I use to have JKS quick disco's but there are plenty other brands that make them too.

Unless I'm reading this wrong, are you saying you want the whole rubi swaybar set up in your sport?

Bubb 07-18-2013 11:58 AM

Correct, I've seen used Rubicon e-disco bars on here and on my local CL from time to time, so I'm looking to see what it'd take to get this setup on my Sport. If I could find a good deal on a used/broken Rubi bar, it looks like this is very close in price to JKS Quicker discos, but more convenient. I just want to make sure I'm not missing anything.

RemoJK 07-18-2013 01:29 PM

got ya, I don't see why the rubi sway bar wouldn't just bolt up in place of your stock one. Seems like you would just need to sway bar, actuator, motor, and switches then just wire it up.
not 100% sure though

Bubb 07-22-2013 10:46 PM

After doing some more research I decided to pull the trigger myself

Bubb 07-22-2013 10:47 PM

Everything I've read indicates this should be able to fit on a 2013 JKU Sport as long as you have the Rubicon bracket(s)

Bubb 07-22-2013 10:47 PM

Ill try to post up some info after I install

Bubb 07-22-2013 10:48 PM

Anyone interested in a used motor and controller that works but sends errors to the computer?

RemoJK 07-23-2013 07:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bubb (Post 3992420)
Anyone interested in a used motor and controller that works but sends errors to the computer?

I may be interested, I never really tried to locate what crapped out on mine. I figured it was the motor or something. How much are you asking?

Bubb 07-23-2013 11:34 PM

It's on it's way to me now, let me get it in hand first. I was considering someday wiring up everything on my Sport but doubt ill ever get around to it.

RKracing 07-23-2013 11:41 PM

"Some recommend still disconnecting under extreme articulation"

I use to believe this too. Then I met a few (more than 6) hard core guys running this same set up that have traveled all over the U.S. and they love it. If they have no problems with this set up then I am sure that I am good to go.

Bubb 07-23-2013 11:45 PM

Maybe I can test it out and determine what's bad. I'd hate for you to have two broken motor/circuits!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 AM.