Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Communications and Electronics (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/)
-   -   Nice little CB install (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/nice-little-cb-install-248034.html)

darticus 06-08-2013 03:15 PM

Nice little CB install
 
3 Attachment(s)
Just put in the Midland 75-822 Two in one radio in my wrangler. Seems nice, small and works good. Using a Firestik Firefly FL4 4 foot antenna and Quadratec's stainless rear spare tire mount bracket. Real nice mount. Usually use the old bigger CB's like Cobra 148's and Galaxy DX66. They seem too big for the jeep although many want them. I have a bunch sitting on a shelf and if this little midland don't perform thats where I'm going to get the next radio. Always like to hear about your setups so speak up. Ron

JoshCOS 06-19-2013 04:20 PM

Where did you run your ground to?

darticus 06-19-2013 05:16 PM

2 Attachment(s)
HI!
I hate wires so I put a cigarette lighter plug on the end and pluged it in the cigarette lighter socket in the console. The antenna wire goes into the side of the console through the wire opening, on the bottom side of lid and the mic wire comes out of the console on opposite side of lid wire opening. Mic or radio sits right on the brake lever. Lighter plug stays hot so I have to make sure the CB radio is off. Ron

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoshCOS (Post 3878332)
Where did you run your ground to?


JoshCOS 06-20-2013 08:49 AM

Nice and clean, well done.
I was having tuning issues and thought it was the ground, thus the question, but turned out to be the antenna cable connection. All good now!

Das_Jeep 06-21-2013 06:56 PM

I did a very similar install a few weeks ago. The only thing I did different was run the antenna up into the rear of the center console and drilled a 3/8 hole with a rubber grommet. Now the antenna is hidden inside the console and is easily attached to the midland CB.

I just hook up the antenna and plug the cb into the 12 power port and rout it out the side when I need it...just haven't found a good way to mount the hand held, it has a belt type of clip on the back and I am trying to find a cb type of quick release to us so I can mount it and use it just like a regular cb mic.

The Green Monster 06-21-2013 07:17 PM

Did the same thing this week, but fed the coax wire to the console. I have found this little midland great for a trail CB.

http://i1123.photobucket.com/albums/...ps48f695cb.jpg

http://i1123.photobucket.com/albums/...ps3d53962b.jpg

Tanks 06-21-2013 07:22 PM

I love those midlands. My dad and I have them to use for our in helmet radios so we can still talk to the jeep when my lady drives it. I carry one on the trail too for spotting and whatnot. Even with the rubber ducky antennas they do really well. I have mag mounts for them also and give them to folks as loners or my dads VW when he is towing our quads out somewhere and the jeep is coming too.

Das_Jeep 06-21-2013 07:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Green Monster (Post 3886913)
Did the same thing this week, but fed the coax wire to the console. I have found this little midland great for a trail CB.

http://i1123.photobucket.com/albums/...ps48f695cb.jpg

http://i1123.photobucket.com/albums/...ps3d53962b.jpg

Yep...looks identical to my setup :thumb:

Moonrider 06-26-2013 05:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by darticus (Post 3839450)
Just put in the Midland 75-822 Two in one radio in my wrangler. Seems nice, small and works good. Using a Firestik Firefly FL4 4 foot antenna and Quadratec's stainless rear spare tire mount bracket. Real nice mount. Usually use the old bigger CB's like Cobra 148's and Galaxy DX66. They seem too big for the jeep although many want them. I have a bunch sitting on a shelf and if this little midland don't perform thats where I'm going to get the next radio. Always like to hear about your setups so speak up. Ron

Hi, did you have to buy an SWR Meter for tuning this CB radio or anything like that? I wanted to see if there is anyth else i need to buy to run that CB.

Tanks 06-26-2013 12:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Moonrider (Post 3900405)

Hi, did you have to buy an SWR Meter for tuning this CB radio or anything like that? I wanted to see if there is anyth else i need to buy to run that CB.

You should always tune your antenna no matter what radio is on the other end or you can damage the radio pretty bad or have it perform really poorly.

Just my 2c.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.