Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   California Jeep Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f55/)
-   -   Rubicon Trail Tips. (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f55/rubicon-trail-tips-248082.html)

Serg5000 06-08-2013 07:06 PM

Rubicon Trail Tips.

I am no expert by any stretch of the imagination. I have only been on the world famous Rubicon Trail once. However. I did learn some things and would like to share them here for those that are planning a future trip.

1. A few things I learned, or rather we learned the hard way was prepare.
As I entered the gate keeper, about 1000 feet into the trail. I pealed the rear diff cover back and lost all my gear oil. So my tip is to either get a stronger aftermarket cover. Or at the very least, remove the stock cover and move it up so there isn't a lip to get hung up on. If it still hangs past the diff when moved up. Grind some off. There is plenty of meat to do this. Extra diff oil. Make sure you carry at least two quartz. Trust me on this one folks. I was lucky the group I was with had some.

2. TPMS's or steel valve stems. Unless they are away from the outer part of the rim. Get rid of them. When pressed agains a rock, and trust me they will be. They do not flex. They just break off. And you know what happens next.
Either way carry extra valve stems and the tools needed to make that kind of repair. You may opt to just change the tire while on the trail. But once you get to camp, you will want to fix that stem. A high lift jack works great to break the bead on the tire to make the repair. Also a means to air back up will be important.

3. I also recommend a tail pipe spreader tool. My friend Glen fixed two or three tail pipes while at camp with those tools. One of those tail pipes was almost smashed closed. So be sure someone in your group has that tool. HF Carries that tool and its not to expensive.