Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   Adjusting shift linkage after bl/mml (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/adjusting-shift-linkage-after-bl-mml-249222.html)

SaltyWaterTJ 06-13-2013 09:15 PM

Adjusting shift linkage after bl/mml
 
Did a 1" PA body lift with 1" RC mml. Everything bolted up just fine, no issues there.
Only issue is while driving in 2wd the 4wd light on the dash will pop on but still only be in 2wd. Shifts in and out of 4H, 4L, and N.
An suggestions on how to solve this? I drive home to see my family in 2 weeks (650 mile trip from Maine to Jersey) and really don't want any issues on the way down

Robertsk1 06-17-2013 12:57 PM

You might need a transfer case shift linkage relocation bracket. Some body lifts like the JKS kit come with one.

TJDave 06-17-2013 01:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robertsk1 (Post 3869512)
You might need a transfer case shift linkage relocation bracket. Some body lifts like the JKS kit come with one.

^ This. Did you adjust your linkage after install? Or, are you asking how to do it?

There is a slide-rod adjustment on the linkage itself. A 12mm or 1/2" wrench will unloosen the slide for adjustment.

The instructions on my JKS 1.25" BL/mml said that doing both at the same time, I may not need the supplied drop bracket. In my case, I did. It kept popping out of 4lo, even after adjusting linkage.

The best thing to do is get rid of that body-TC connection all together with a aftermarket shift linkage re-locator, which is what I ended up doing. Novak cable shifter is the best nowadays. But back when I did mine, an AA bracket was what I had to get.

SaltyWaterTJ 06-17-2013 02:13 PM

I asked around and was told that if I ran a mml at the same time as doing the bl I would not need to use any adjusters for the linkage. Assuming this is either not correct or every Jeep is a little different (some need it and some dont)

TJDave 06-17-2013 02:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SaltyWaterTJ (Post 3869760)
I asked around and was told that if I ran a mml at the same time as doing the bl I would not need to use any adjusters for the linkage. Assuming this is either not correct or every Jeep is a little different (some need it and some dont)

Even if you do not need the drop bracket plate supplied with the BL for the linkage, you will still have to adjust it. Did you adjust it? It is very simple to do. Think about the stuff that moved under there when you installed the BL/mml.

SaltyWaterTJ 06-17-2013 04:57 PM

For the longest time it didn't throw the 4wd light up so I thought everything was good to go. Just recently it started what I explained. I haven't adjusted it yet but thanks for the info. I'll adjust it over the weekend and see what happens.

Tomdata 06-17-2013 09:25 PM

Novak

Otto Man 06-17-2013 09:57 PM

x2 on the Novak Cable Shifter... it shifts better than it ever did stock.

IcarusLSC 06-17-2013 10:07 PM

I just did a JKS BL and MORE MM lift today. Going to install an AA bracket for the shift linkage tomorrow, ran out of time today as I started late. I hope this is all I need to do and adjust it :)

SaltyWaterTJ 06-18-2013 04:50 PM

Definitely ordering the shift cable. Perfect cable since I'll be doing an NP242 swap as well.
Thanks for all the help and link to the site.

IcarusLSC 06-18-2013 06:29 PM

The AA bracket I did today was pretty easy to install. I was worried about everything being rusty but it came apart good. Had a lil trouble with the one stud, but vice grips and some patience took it out ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.