Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   YJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/)
-   -   Why won't these brake pads from autozone fit? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/why-wont-these-brake-pads-from-autozone-fit-249388.html)

88Laredo 06-14-2013 07:05 PM

Why won't these brake pads from autozone fit?
 
I got everything to do a complete brake job. Put the new discs and pads on the front and tightened the wheel and the wheels are extremely hard to turn. I took it apart and put the wheels on without the calipers/brakes and it spun freely. I tried for hours to figure this out. The discs are exactly the same as the old and the pads are too except that they are obviously new and a lot thicker. I put the old brakes/discs back on and it spun freely again. I am at a loss on this one. I have the stock 88 Laredo wheels just in case anyone was wondering. Also the wheels were hard to turn even before I pumped the brakes to seat the caliper so that rules that out. The pads being too thick is the only thing I can come up with.

xjrjrx 06-14-2013 07:14 PM

Did you compress the caliper piston to accommodate for the thicker pads????

overthehillsahara 06-14-2013 08:30 PM

Check your calibers to make sure the pistons are freely moving and lube the calibers where they slide on the mounts.

DILLIGAF 06-14-2013 09:00 PM

I bet ya need to break out the C-Clamp and squeeze the piston back in the calipers, just do it slowly 1/2 turn at a time should do..

88Laredo 06-14-2013 09:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DILLIGAF (Post 3861969)
I bet ya need to break out the C-Clamp and squeeze the piston back in the calipers, just do it slowly 1/2 turn at a time should do..

No problem with the calipers. I compressed the piston before I put the new brakes on the new disc. Everything moves fine until the rim is bolted on with the lug nuts. Then you can barely spin the rim it's so tight. Wheel bearings are also good. I have a new set of calipers coming tomorrow since Autozone screwed up my order and gave me 2 passenger side calipers. I was using the old calipers and they seem fine but the price was right so I ordered 2 new ones along with brake hoses. I also tried to find the bolts that hold the new hose banjo fitting to the caliper since the ones on the old hose are toast but autozone didn't have them.

DILLIGAF 06-14-2013 09:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 88Laredo (Post 3862042)
No problem with the calipers. I compressed the piston before I put the new brakes on the new disc. Everything moves fine until the rim is bolted on with the lug nuts. Then you can barely spin the rim it's so tight. Wheel bearings are also good. I have a new set of calipers coming tomorrow since Autozone screwed up my order and gave me 2 passenger side calipers. I was using the old calipers and they seem fine but the price was right so I ordered 2 new ones along with brake hoses. I also tried to find the bolts that hold the new hose banjo fitting to the caliper since the ones on the old hose are toast but autozone didn't have them.

Cool let us know how you make out, sorry for the previous, was assuming again..

AllMudd 06-14-2013 09:32 PM

Curious to see a pic of the caliper and pads assembled and also installed on the caliper bracket awaiting tires.

2xs 06-14-2013 09:58 PM

Autozone?

Might be the problem....

OverkillYJ 06-14-2013 10:26 PM

Are you sure you didnt cross thread caliper bolt? It s super easy to do, and would cause the problems you are having since the caliper would not sit aligned correctly with the rotor.

AllMudd 06-14-2013 10:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OverkillYJ (Post 3862280)
Are you sure you didnt cross thread caliper bolt? It s super easy to do, and would cause the problems you are having since the caliper would not sit aligned correctly with the rotor.

I was kind if leaning in the same direction. That's why I was curious if he would post a pic. Not sure about the bolt idea tho I can see it happening.

Oz82 06-15-2013 12:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 88Laredo (Post 3862042)
No problem with the calipers. I compressed the piston before I put the new brakes on the new disc. Everything moves fine until the rim is bolted on with the lug nuts. Then you can barely spin the rim it's so tight. Wheel bearings are also good. I have a new set of calipers coming tomorrow since Autozone screwed up my order and gave me 2 passenger side calipers. I was using the old calipers and they seem fine but the price was right so I ordered 2 new ones along with brake hoses. I also tried to find the bolts that hold the new hose banjo fitting to the caliper since the ones on the old hose are toast but autozone didn't have them.

My set from Autozone came with those bolts. :confused:

Maybe the correctly ordered ones will for you as well.

I had to replace them both due to the vehicle being covered and forgotten for a few years. Mine were doing the same thing yours are, and the new calipers did the trick. Good luck!

SCOOPYS-YJ 06-15-2013 07:08 PM

check to see if the rotors are the same

88Laredo 06-16-2013 08:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCOOPYS-YJ (Post 3864405)
check to see if the rotors are the same

Yes, the rotors are the same in size/hat height. I just picked up new calipers from Autozone part C252 and C253 and once again they gave 2 of the same calipers in 2 different number specific boxes. Both calipers are exactly alike. If I were to install the drivers side caliper the hose connection and bleeder valve would be on the sides but higher up near the top of the caliper with the hose connection on the left and the bleeder on the right (If you are looking directly straight on at the disc/caliper).If I were to install the passenger side the caliper would be the exact opposite with the hose fitting and bleeder being on the sides near the bottom of the caliper and the hose connection on the right and bleeder on left. Am I missing something here or is Autozone just packaging the calipers wrong? Once again both calipers I bought are exactly the same vs the ones on the jeep that are side specific. Is it possible I have the wrong calipers from the factory?

phnguyen7 06-16-2013 09:28 AM

make sure auto zone gave you the right pads. i had them give me the wrong pads yesterday that were too thick and the wheels were not spinning like yours.

88Laredo 06-16-2013 11:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by phnguyen7 (Post 3865815)
make sure auto zone gave you the right pads. i had them give me the wrong pads yesterday that were too thick and the wheels were not spinning like yours.

This could be a definite possibility. They have given me the wrong calipers twice! I reordered at Advance auto. If that doesn't work I will go to one of the tried and true parts dealers that are locally owned. Guys at the large corporate stores seem to think it's no big deal and a common practice to give out the wrong stuff!

jk'n 06-16-2013 12:13 PM

I just replaced my front calipers. I purchased them at NAPA. They had two different numbers and were a mirror image of each other. Put them on and the brakes worked flawlessly. I re-used the pads from the old calipers because they were still relatively new. I was replacing the hard lines and broke the bleeder valve off. Decided that the price of new calipers was better than trying to recover from the broken bleeder. I say two strikes and they're out. Get the calipers from a different company. If you are still having problems with binding after getting the right calipers, bring back the pads and get the pads from someplace different also.

Oz82 06-16-2013 12:43 PM

The bleeder valves should be on the top for both sides. If this isn't the way they are, take them back. You might get one to work with the bleeder on the bottom, but it won't be easy or as reliable.

I never have issues with my Auto Zone like this, but maybe they're not as tight in Penn as they are here. Also, I did not have to wait to have mine shipped; they were in stock at every store within driving distance.

Try another store if there's one around.

88Laredo 06-22-2013 10:42 PM

Just an update on the calipers. Autozone did in fact give me the wrong calipers not once but twice. Advance Auto gave me the correct ones that are mirror images of each other. What a waste of a weekend!

2xs 06-22-2013 11:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2xs (Post 3862197)
Autozone?

Might be the problem....

Quote:

Originally Posted by 88Laredo (Post 3890106)
Just an update on the calipers. Autozone did in fact give me the wrong calipers not once but twice. Advance Auto gave me the correct ones that are mirror images of each other. What a waste of a weekend!

I had a feeling......


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.