Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   New jeep?!?! (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/new-jeep-249852.html)

Wade88 06-17-2013 12:47 AM

New jeep?!?!

I have been looking for a good jeep. Not too many crazy mods. Maybe just a lift and decent wheels. Prefer lower miles. 100xxx between 98-01 for around $4500 to $5000. Am I just crazy for wanting one in this price range. Maybe I am. I'm a newb. Someone help me. Am I chasing an in reachable goal. Should I lower my standards?!?
Jeep guy from Arkansas

RevCo666 06-17-2013 01:06 AM

To be honest I doubt you'll get a jeep in that price range/condition/millage unfortunately. I paid 6.5K(private sale) for my 2001 TJ, mind you I have no lifts(nor did I want any), no mods, new 31's which were added a week before purchasing and both tops. It had about 100K miles or 184K KM for us Canadians. I wanted a stock jeep in good mechanical and cosmetically sound shape. Traveled 6 hours outside my area to get it... Good luck in your search!

Wade88 06-17-2013 08:54 AM

So maybe I'll shoot for $6000 to $8000 range. Thanks for the advice

SurfKaster 06-17-2013 09:02 AM

6-8k is more realistic, even higher with it being summer. 5K is usually YJ territory. That being said deals are there, but you'd have to be willing to wait.

biggus35 06-17-2013 09:14 AM

It took me 3+ months to find a deal on my 2002 TJ. It has 163K miles on it but is in decent shape. I paid $4,500 and have put a little over $1200 more into it since purchase (repairs, new top, bedrug). It is not lifted (yet) but did have new tires on it when I bought it.

From watching the market for 3+ months I suspect you will have to pay $7500+ for a TJ with a decent lift kit, bigger tires, and average miles.

jickey 06-17-2013 09:33 AM