Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   YJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/)
-   -   350TBI Swap (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/350tbi-swap-249975.html)

blakeq63 06-17-2013 03:50 PM

350TBI Swap

I am starting my 350TBI swap this Friday. We will be pulling the 2.5L, AX5, and NP231J out of my 1993 and replacing it with a 350TBI, Turbo 400, and NP241C from a running 1990 Chevy 4x4 truck. I will have part-time help from a few friends (one is a welder). I have no hands on knowledge at all. I have been reading a lot.

Things I look to use: all applicable parts from the truck, M.O.R.E or AA mounts?, Dakota Digital Tach and Speedo Interfaces to retain gauges, Affordable Fuel Injection Wiring Harness and Chip, Aluminum Radiator, EFan, Posi-Lock Kit, and aftermarket headers?.

Can I retain the in tank fuel pump? I have read a lot of conflicting posts.

Will I have room to keep the mechanical fan?

I would like to take the PO's 3" BL/1" Shackle Lift off and replace it with a 2.5" or 3" SL. Should I do this before swapping anything?

There will definitely be more questions.

I have never used forums for much more than reading, so please be patient and kind. LOL

kywaterman 06-17-2013 10:23 PM

Looking forward to seeing more from your swap, I myself am in the parts gathering stage of my swap. Ive going to use more mounts, they've already arrived and the quality looks amazing. Very stout and superb welds. What made me go with them is that they are suppose to locate themselves in the perfect location and take the guess work out of it, they are also offset to the passenger side to allow clearance of the front driveshaft Some say that is a bad idea in that not all spots work which could be true but to me it seemed the best way for me to do it.