Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Off Road and External Lighting (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f132/)
-   -   Electrical Wiring Assistance for Rock Lights... (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f132/electrical-wiring-assistance-for-rock-lights-250219.html)

Boobooo 06-18-2013 05:29 PM

Electrical Wiring Assistance for Rock Lights...
 
First time doing electrical wiring so thought it best to ask for confirmation and recommendations on my planned setup.
Iím wiring in 6 rock lights. Each light will pull about 18 watts and 6amps. 18W Bolt Rock Lights ( 3 Pair )

Would it be better to split them up into two separate connections by attaching 3 of the lights to a 40amp relay (12 VDC Waterproof 5-Pin Relay SPDT 30/40A with Metal Bracket 330-079)
And use a 20 amp fuse (In-line ATO/ATC Fuse Holder 10 AWG 070-675)
Connected to a switch inside the cab?
Or is it safe to wire them all together to the same switch with a larger fuse?

Also Ė for the fuse Ė do you fuse the connection between the light and the relay or the relay and the switch? Or bothÖ

Havenít decided yet on the switchÖ

Hard to justify the cost of these but they look cool- Plasmaglow 11010 Blue Stainless Steel LED Activator Switch (On/Off Version) : Amazon.com : Automotive
May just go with standard factory lookalikes - Rocker Switch 315 12 Volt Rock Light TJ Jeep Wrangler 96 06 Driving Spot Rock | eBay

dr_jenkem 06-19-2013 10:52 AM

I used one fuse for switches on inside, and one fuse for each relay (rock lights/spot lights). Iím only using 3 cheepo floods now but the effect is cool and light the entry way pretty good. Iím using the factory looking switches as you mentioned, but donít know if I care for them, the LEDís are not very bright and the light is inconsistent. Took one of them apart and adjusted the light, helped a bit. They do fit in the factory spot perfect but was thinking of trying the daystar type down the road.
If they really pull that much could just up to a 50 amp relay?

http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o...508_194313.jpghttp://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o...508_195529.jpg

Boobooo 06-19-2013 11:39 PM

good info dr_jenkem - and thanks for the pictures of your install.

BlueRidgeYJ 06-21-2013 08:59 PM

Those lights only pull 6A when powered at 9V, your draw will be more like 4.5A at 12V.

Fuses go close to the power source (battery) and protect the entire circuit. Only one is needed per power leg, regardless of loads or switches in the circuit.

Either switch will work, but the fancier one will only carry 10A (vs 15A in the rocker). If you upgrade lights, you would need to use a relay switch or replace that switch to handle additional amperage.

That said, I would still probably use a relay to provide more direct power and remove the switch as a point of failure, though at that low amperage (<10A) it really is not required at all, as smaller gauge wire can easily handle that and run all over the place.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.