Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Can a 2013 JKU Sahara Alpine 730 system DVD be bypassed to play while in motion? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/can-a-2013-jku-sahara-alpine-730-system-dvd-be-bypassed-to-play-while-in-motion-250525.html)

FIREMIA 06-19-2013 11:52 PM

Can a 2013 JKU Sahara Alpine 730 system DVD be bypassed to play while in motion?
 
I have a 2013 JKU Sahara fully loaded with the premium alpine 730 stereo system. Hypothetically speaking, can the safety feature that prevents viewing while in motion, be bypassed?

donmeca2020 06-20-2013 12:00 AM

a fellow south Floridian !!! let me get to it before they all shoot you down. that is 100% illegal to have a vehicle in motion and still play movies,videos, etc. but yes it can be done. i would suggest finding a forum dedicated to your brand of head unit and ask there.

woansleftpeg 06-20-2013 12:35 AM

Hypothetically speaking yes, it could be. Obviously as donmeca suggests it would be illegal to bypass the parking brake connection, but if one were to be purely planning to use one's Jeep off road and therefore not subject to such rules, it would probably be possible to get permanent video replay by just connecting the e-brake wire from the head unit to the ground cable in the harness. I have found such a connection to be effective in other vehicles that I have owned for off road use only.

If this isn't successful, it is likely that you could make it work by inserting a relay into the e-brake/ground connection and wiring it to a switched live from the head unit (because the head unit is looking for an active ground), or if you want to go manual just inserting a switch and toggling it when you want to watch video. Again, I would stress that this would only be appropriate for a vehicle that was exclusively for off road use.

NMBruce 06-20-2013 03:05 AM

Lockpick

donmeca2020 06-20-2013 10:26 AM

there is i believe also something you can do with the wiring harness that comes with the headunit as well. i recall my friend doing it for me year ago with my pioneer unit. it's as easy as pulling a wire out of the harness and repositioning it in another slot.

woansleftpeg 06-20-2013 11:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by donmeca2020 (Post 3881052)
there is i believe also something you can do with the wiring harness that comes with the headunit as well. i recall my friend doing it for me year ago with my pioneer unit. it's as easy as pulling a wire out of the harness and repositioning it in another slot.

If only someone could actually specify which wires those are.....

donmeca2020 06-20-2013 11:11 AM

I think if one of us did, a mod would delete the post or thread....

woansleftpeg 06-20-2013 11:14 AM

Did you read any of the other posts in this thread?

There's nothing illegal about bypassing the e-brake cutout for video playback on a vehicle that is being used solely for off road purposes.

panthermark 06-20-2013 11:23 AM

Disclaimer:
Video in motion (up front) is illegal.

Now...."hypothetically speaking"...yes...easily.

I sent my broken Lockpick V.5 back and installed a working one over the weekend...and was able to view a DVD while in drive (with the brake on in the garage of course).

I would strongly advice against playing a DVD while driving...it will be very distracting. As as someone who spends a lot of time on a motorcycle....a distracted driver in a 4000 pound vehicle is not a good thing.

MJGM 06-20-2013 12:07 PM

I would love to be able to do this as well w/ out having to purchase a lockpick.

woansleftpeg 06-20-2013 12:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MJGM (Post 3881386)
I would love to be able to do this as well w/ out having to purchase a lockpick.

I've already told you how. Post #3.

MJGM 06-20-2013 12:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by woansleftpeg (Post 3881454)

I've already told you how. Post #3.

I knew when I posted my response I should have been way more detailed. I understand what you are saying but w/out wiring diagrams or wiring locations the info is pretty much useless.

woansleftpeg 06-20-2013 01:05 PM

Ground is black. No idea what colour the e-brake wire is on the HU, but you can probably figure it out fairly easily by process of elimination; just connect the e-brake wire into the ground with a vampire tap and you're good to go.

donmeca2020 06-20-2013 01:10 PM

there is also way to do it, without doing anything with wires but by booting the headunit into windows and entering a command as well. let me see if i can find some info and i'll post it.

BenHedrick 06-20-2013 01:11 PM

NAV-TV makes a kit, does a lot more too. And they are in Boca Raton I think.

woansleftpeg 06-20-2013 01:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by donmeca2020 (Post 3881663)
there is also way to do it, without doing anything with wires but by booting the headunit into windows and entering a command as well. let me see if i can find some info and i'll post it.

Booting a 730N into Windows? It was my understanding that the Chrysler head units are QNX-based.

donmeca2020 06-20-2013 02:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by woansleftpeg (Post 3881734)
Booting a 730N into Windows? It was my understanding that the Chrysler head units are QNX-based.

i am mistaken then. i was under the impression at first that this was an aftermarket head unit. i am certain though that there is a way to boot it in a different format other then regular stereo mode and mess with it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.