Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   wiring harness thru firewall? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/wiring-harness-thru-firewall-251865.html)

okcscott 06-26-2013 11:14 AM

wiring harness thru firewall?
 
Made several small wiring harnesses, (12v aux, power locks, and power for alarm) Is there any place to pull thru the firewall on the pass side without drilling a hole? I did see a large rubber boot with a wiring harness pulled thru with both sides taped?? Thanks also photos might help. Trying to do this right

http://i312.photobucket.com/albums/l...h_IMG_0341.jpg[/URL]

derf 06-26-2013 11:43 AM

There's a hole with some insulation you can push through. I don't have my camera handy but I'll try to explain.

If you open the passenger side door you can see on the side of the dash there is a panel that is right up against the door when it closes. If you carefully wedge a knife in the seam you can pry it out. It's plastic and easy to damage so take your time and be careful you can avoid damaging it. Once you get the first couple of clips to pop loose you can get a finger in there and pull the panel off. It's only clips, no screws.

Once you have that open you can see on the firewall a hole in the aluminum bracket maybe 1/2 to 3/4 of an inch in diameter. It will be filled with what looks like expanding foam insulation.

You can straighten up a coat hanger and push it through the insulation.

With the hood open you will be able to see the end of the coat hanger pushed through. Tie your wire to the coat hanger and pull it through. It's a good idea to protect the wire as it routes into the engine compartment to keep it from wearing a hole in the insulation. But that's not too terribly hard to figure out.

I can probably take pictures later in the day.

BManz 06-26-2013 12:01 PM

I had to wire up some strobes and used an access hole filled with foam. I believe these are on both sides, and here is a pic of the passenger that I used as it's closer to the battery (I wanted a hard connection). It comes out along the edge of the hood. I recommend running a coat hanger from the engine-side and poke it through; it's very lightweight foam.
http://s13.postimg.org/u6udt7k3r/JK_...irewall_RT.jpg
http://postimg.org/image/8x6rid3sz/

okcscott 06-26-2013 01:00 PM

Thanks to both derf & BManz. The boss's jeep has a RockHard roll cage so no plastic panel just plate steel, no clips to break! She has been trying to decide how to cover or paint that open place. That should be fine to pull my wires. save me lots of work. Thanks for the quick reply.

http://i312.photobucket.com/albums/l...t/IMG_0345.jpg

SpottyJ 12-25-2014 01:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BManz (Post 3901196)
I had to wire up some strobes and used an access hole filled with foam. I believe these are on both sides, and here is a pic of the passenger that I used as it's closer to the battery (I wanted a hard connection). It comes out along the edge of the hood. I recommend running a coat hanger from the engine-side and poke it through; it's very lightweight foam.
http://s13.postimg.org/u6udt7k3r/JK_...irewall_RT.jpg
http://postimg.org/image/8x6rid3sz/



So I ran a wire through this foam filed hole - thanks. But is there a clean way to get the wire from under the hood cowl to the fuse box? Right now I would have to pull the wire over a fender lip to get to fuse box. Looking for clean way to get to the actual engine compartment to access the fuse box.

TIA.

SC Billet 12-25-2014 09:58 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by SpottyJ (Post 15751049)
So I ran a wire through this foam filed hole - thanks. But is there a clean way to get the wire from under the hood cowl to the fuse box? Right now I would have to pull the wire over a fender lip to get to fuse box. Looking for clean way to get to the actual engine compartment to access the fuse box.

TIA.

I drilled a small hole and used a rubber grommet. Clean and easy

SpottyJ 12-26-2014 07:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Billet (Post 15757185)
I drilled a small hole and used a rubber grommet. Clean and easy


Thanks, I just did the same.

Arkas954 12-26-2014 07:49 PM

AWESOME, thanks for posting.....Just wired my KC 6" and 21" light bar and didn't know this little hole existed. Now its a nice clean install thanks to you.
Cheers


Quote:

Originally Posted by BManz (Post 3901196)
I had to wire up some strobes and used an access hole filled with foam. I believe these are on both sides, and here is a pic of the passenger that I used as it's closer to the battery (I wanted a hard connection). It comes out along the edge of the hood. I recommend running a coat hanger from the engine-side and poke it through; it's very lightweight foam.
http://s13.postimg.org/u6udt7k3r/JK_...irewall_RT.jpg
http://postimg.org/image/8x6rid3sz/


Here is my install below


https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.n...19aaa2bf8ea681


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.