Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   Speedo gear (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/speedo-gear-2525.html)

BlueBoy 08-08-2006 04:55 PM

Speedo gear
 
I bought a new speedo gear since I went up to 33's. I bought one off of quadratec and when I went to get it installed the mechanic said it was to small and wiggled around. So i returned it and went to the dealer and ourdred another one. Of course it was the same size. I asked about it and they all said that was the right size even though I didnt need it b/c I have to reset the computer. I told them I dont have a rubicon, I have an 05 X and they said that they have computers in them. The manager asked two different mechanics and they both said I have a computer. I couldnt believe the Jeep mechanics didnt know that the rubicon has a computer, not an X. So i dont know who to trust anymore, well actually I only trust you guys now. Anyways, should the 32 tooth speedo gear fit a certain way or do I need to get something else to make it fit since it is smaller than a stock one?

1BLKJP 08-08-2006 05:59 PM

The only thing I can think of is that maybe the little rubber o-ring isn't with it that should be to make it fit snugly in it's spot.

BlueBoy 08-08-2006 06:03 PM

The O-Ring was there but didnt help. The stock gear is almost 30-40% bigger. Jeep told me this is the only size they have, just different tooth counts. Whats going on!?!

Tdad 08-08-2006 09:30 PM

Read this page.
Does this look like what you're working with?

BlueBoy 08-08-2006 10:15 PM

That sure is. The diameter is smaller than stock.

willness33 08-09-2006 02:28 AM

Be sure to check out #9 in the directions posted in the link above. With the sending unit aligned in the proper postion, there should be no problem with the new speedo gear.

BlueBoy 08-09-2006 03:39 PM

I think I am going to just tackle this myself. If you want something done right, you got to do it yourself. Ill let you guys know how it goes.

mrbigjeep 08-09-2006 04:04 PM

do it...it seems pretty easy and you don't need that many tools and you can use the instructions that the link gave if you don't already know how...let us know how it goes

BlueBoy 08-09-2006 08:15 PM

Speedo, HELP!
 
I put the new speedo gear in myself and everything went smoothly. Except now my speedometer DOESNT MOVE! Due to the decrease in size of the new speedo, its not catching anything. HELP! I followed the instructions to the T.

bluvikng 08-09-2006 08:51 PM

I am by no means an expert on this subject, but I was under the impression, from some mechanics at Chrysler, that the speed was calibrated by the computer on the newer Wranglers. I do not think it is only the Rubicon that is done that way. From what I was told, they calibrate your tire size, with gear ratio, type of tranny, type of t-case.

BlueBoy 08-09-2006 08:59 PM

Is there a way to figure out if i have a computer? Because 1 said I didnt while 2 said I did. Thanks!

bluvikng 08-09-2006 09:09 PM

Your whole engine is run by a computer, PCM. Any fuel injected engine has to have a computer. The one I put in my YJ, is a ECM, which just controls engine functions. The newer ones have the PCM's which is, Powertrain control Module. That is how I understand it. The OBDII data link connector, should be under your dash on the drivers side.

BlueBoy 08-09-2006 09:20 PM

Well I got some GOOD news!! I had to twist the case just a tad more than I did. I went back and perfectly lined 26-31 with the raised dot and the speedometer moves!! I was off by a tad before. Except when I took ity out again, quite a bit of fluid came out, not a few drops. Do i need to worry about this? It wasnt anything more than a couple sheets of paper towel could clean up. I am quite excited even though this is one of the easiest things to fix I guess. Thanks for all of your help guys.

bluvikng 08-09-2006 09:24 PM

That is great........take it for a spin, and see if it works. I would like to know if it can still be manually changed like that.
You can check the level of fluid on the side of the case, by removing the bolt near the top, and seeing if you can touch the fluid with your pinky.

mrbigjeep 08-09-2006 10:45 PM

yeah let us know how it works...i too would like to know if it is run by computer or if it is still manual

Wr@ngler00 08-09-2006 11:31 PM

All cars and trucks have computers. they started using computers in the late 80's if i remember correctly. Like blu said if its got fuel injectors it has a computer. I cant think of a car today that is sold new that doesn't have one!!! this is silly! Someone correct me if im wrong...

bluvikng 08-10-2006 12:26 AM

The thing that concerns me the most is the fact that you said the speedo gears are different in size. Please check out this web page, you will see the gears are the same size. Also, it is a 98 model TJ. See what you think, BlueBoy.

http://stu-offroad.com/engine/speedo/speed1.htm

BlueBoy 08-10-2006 12:30 AM

The stock speedo gear is bigger than the new one I installed, much bigger. You must twist the case to make sure the tooth count on your speedo matched the range on the casing. So far so good, but I havent taken it on the highway to do the 60 mph test yet.

bluvikng 08-10-2006 12:35 AM

That is good, just hope it works. Will be good to hear back from you, when you have tested it on the highway.

1BLKJP 08-11-2006 04:30 PM

Fellas, I believe that it's only the 242 case in the Rubicon model that handles speed calibration by the PCM (I could be wrong, but I don't think so). All 231 cases will have the speedo gear on them. Except mine because I run the Tera ESS SYE and it uses a tone ring now that if I should want to calibrate mine I would have to by a control module from Skyjacker for a hundred bucks (not worth it)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.