Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Communications and Electronics (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/)
-   -   CB antenna height (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/cb-antenna-height-253726.html)

HunterTheBeagle 07-05-2013 03:04 AM

CB antenna height

Let me start with saying that I am new to CBs but I am learning and enjoying. My current set up is the cooltech complete kit with the hand held cobra, license plate mount, and 4ft firefly. I have been doing some research on mounting locations for various vehicles and everything I read says to get you antenna as high and centered in the vehicle as possible. My question is how much of a difference would that make with a fiberglass hardtop? My understanding is you want it up high to get as much of the antenna as possible above your roof line. Would I see a difference from switching to a tailgate mount like the teraflex? I'm also switching to a Francis antenna because I can't get my swr down but that's a different story. Thanks in advance for your opinions and advice.

RamP 07-05-2013 04:21 AM

I have a 3' firefly antenna mounted to the tailgate with the Teraflex mount. It extends about 13" above the roofline and I've never had a problem with it on the trail or on the highway to talk to truckers. I've seen guys on the trail have an antenna that barely goes over the roof. On the trail you don't need much range as the guys you will be talking too are usually within your line of sight.
I did have a problem with the coax getting broken from frequently opening and closing the tailgate though. I had followed the exhidting harness from the body to the tailgate and the coax broke from the severe bend. I had to rout it a different way.

HunterTheBeagle 07-05-2013 06:08 AM