Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   WF New Member Check In (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f12/)
-   -   BMW owner considering a Wrangler (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f12/bmw-owner-considering-a-wrangler-254555.html)

outdoorprogrammer 07-09-2013 07:05 AM

BMW owner considering a Wrangler

Yesterday I was in a Jeep dealership checking out the 2014 GC summit as a replacement for the family SUV - we have an Acura MDX right now and I can't stand driving it. I told the car dealer it felt like I was driving a pillow - falling asleep in that thing is actually a pretty big danger. :surrender:

So while I was there, out of the corner of my eye, I spied a 4 door all black Wrangler Sport Unlimited something.. (I'm a newb, so I don't know the jargon for what I was looking at).

Here's my dilemma.. I own a bright red 2012 twin turbo BMW 335i Sport with M-sport quick shifter and upgraded run flat wheels. This car is badass and frequently gets appreciative stares in parking lots and while I'm driving around. I have even had a cop at a seatbelt onramp check stop me and ask me questions about this car. It does 0-60 in less time than Dr. Who's TARDIS.

I am going back to this dealership on Thursday to test drive the wrangler but I remain skeptical. Consumer Reports rated the Wrangler at 20 while it rated the GC Summit at 80. The wrangler is on their "do not recommend" list, even as a potential zombie apocalypse survival vehicle (yes, they actually have an article about that...)

So, here's my challenge to the Jeep people here: convince me that I'm going to love driving this thing to the grocery store and to pick my daughter up from cheerleading. I know it'll be a blast to take off-road, and if I do swap, I will seek out trails... but, 90% of my driving will me around a small suburb or on New England highways.

The second challenge is, what would you say to the people who would inevitably say, "You traded a BMW 335i sport for a WHAT?!?"