Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   North Carolina Jeep Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f73/)
-   -   Uwharrie Training Course 4WD - 101 Training (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f73/uwharrie-training-course-4wd-101-training-255765.html)

arctic318 07-14-2013 04:35 PM

Uwharrie Training Course 4WD - 101 Training

I'm looking for feedback on the Uwharrie 4wd training course Scott Fields hosts. I have zero off-road experience with jeeps but years of ATV experience (I understand obstacles, getting hung-up etc.). It's $225 for the day and wondering if it's worth it considering I may only going to Uwharrie a couple times a year (need to find a group to educate the new guy). Any feedback is appreciated. My jeep is stock so I want to get out in the woods to see what I really need as it's my DD and I can't wreck it. Thanks!

GreenRubi 07-14-2013 05:03 PM

I don't know much about the Uwharrie 4wd training course, but I just checked out their facebook site and it looks pretty interesting. If you are brand new to wheeling it could be well worth the $225. Their site says that includes 10 hours total of instruction, freebees, lunch and a trail ride.

There are several trails at Uwharrie you can do in a stock jeep without any issues. For example, Wolf Den, Falls Dam, Slab Pile and Sawmill. Another option is to go out to Uwharrie with a group from the forum. It wouldn't cost you anything and you could get tips and advice from the more experienced wheelers in the group.

For your first trip I would try to go out there when it is dry. It has been wet a lot this summer and Uwharrie is more challenging when it is wet.

Riccochet 07-15-2013 05:06 AM