Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Nitro amp on base radio ? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/nitro-amp-on-base-radio-259160.html)

FritzII 07-29-2013 03:22 PM

Nitro amp on base radio ?
 
I have acquired a nitro amp. The JK does not have an amp in it now. Is it possible to add this amp to the base radio ? If so, can someone tell me the part numbers for the harnesses and other needed parts/items ? I've been searching for quite a while with no luck. TIA.

Tweak 07-29-2013 06:20 PM

Sure is! PAC audio makes a line out convertor, they make one designed for Chrysler as well as one you need to wire yourself. I have installed 2.

panthermark 07-29-2013 06:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FritzII (Post 4016229)
I have acquired a nitro amp. The JK does not have an amp in it now. Is it possible to add this amp to the base radio ? If so, can someone tell me the part numbers for the harnesses and other needed parts/items ? I've been searching for quite a while with no luck. TIA.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tweak (Post 4016704)
Sure is! PAC audio makes a line out convertor, they make one designed for Chrysler as well as one you need to wire yourself. I have installed 2.

I think the OP is referring to a Dodge Nitro amp...

If that is the case, it won't be that easy. The base and premium systems have different wiring harnesses. I think it would be a hassle to rewire.

Tweak 07-29-2013 07:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by panthermark (Post 4016739)

I think the OP is referring to a Dodge Nitro amp...

If that is the case, it won't be that easy. The base and premium systems have different wiring harnesses. I think it would be a hassle to rewire.

Ha with so many different car audio brands its good to be a little more clear.

FritzII 07-30-2013 08:46 AM

I kind of figured it might be tough to do. I'll probably just toss it. I figure the cables would be more than the amp is worth even though it's brand new.

Rico1111 07-30-2013 09:02 AM

Try some of the other jk sites. I guarantee you can make it work. There are many threads on using the nitro amp Many have said it is plug and play so it is def compatible you just need to wire it in. Good luck

lolpetewtf 07-30-2013 09:28 AM

Upgrade your stereo, you'll be glad you did.

panthermark 07-30-2013 09:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FritzII (Post 4018851)
I kind of figured it might be tough to do. I'll probably just toss it. I figure the cables would be more than the amp is worth even though it's brand new.

Don't toss it just yet. Maybe you can find the parts cheap...or sell the amp or something. I know people were putting Nitro amps in their premium Wrangler systems for awhile. But I don't think anyone has taken a base Wrangler system and turned it into a premium system. Most just go aftermarket amp.

Mr.Dave 07-30-2013 10:22 AM

Ive considered trading out my my amp for the nitro, but to me its a risk. shoot me a pm with an offer if you decide to sell it.

panthermark 07-30-2013 10:41 AM

Yeah, I've considered swapping mine out as well. But it is one of those things where I need to know if it works and how it sounds before I would actually buy a Nitro amp. I remember reading something about the early versions of the amps working better than newer versions.

FritzII 07-31-2013 09:04 AM

PM sent to Mr. Dave

FritzII 07-31-2013 09:24 AM

I bought the 07 cheap with 39,000 miles because it had the death wobble. It does have a line out converter professionally installed with everything run to the back of the JK. The owner removed the additional speakers and amp which wasn't a problem.
I don't think I'm going to run an external amp because this is not my primary vehicle and there are no doors and roof on it for about 8 months out of the year.

In a nutshell, thanx for all the help and comments !!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.