Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

Utah, teach me.

2K views 27 replies 14 participants last post by  Mavrick243 
#1 ·
Utah, I've had it with California, in particular southern California. I was born and raised but the taxes, over regulation, handouts, red carpet for illegal immigrants, crime, and gun laws, I've had it. There is legislation on the docket that will likely get signed making my 10/22 an assault rifle. Moving out has been in the thought process for a while but all this, coupled with my wife's difficulty finding a job in the healthcare industry, it may be time to split. Nice weather only gets you so far.

Were both in our thirties, I'm a professional BMW grease monkey, she is a registered respiratory therapist. No children, not religious, we do like good food and drinks (liquor laws?). She is a home body, and I like shooting, outdoors, wheeling, and tinkering. No worries of Prius driving, solar powered toaster owning, Tofu eating, raise your taxes liberal voting, social handout giving, you don't need guns California types here!

What I like:
Awesome places to wheel
Utah seems to have its head screwed on financially and politically.
Lower cost of living (I'm sure wages compensate for this as well)
beautiful scenery\awesome places to wheel
I wants my 20 acres and a mule.... or just a decent house in a nice neighborhood with a 3 car and a nice yard.....
Lower state taxes on income
awesome places to wheel

What I worry of
Adjusting to a smaller environment/not as populous or without a multitude of things to do
Snow, snow, snow I have driven on it a few times but mostly seen pictures, the wife has just seen pictures.
Mormons. We're not religious, don't care to be, don't care if you believe in Jesus, Buddha, or the flying spaghetti monster (google it). I worked for a family of Mormons once. Super nice, big into family. My understanding is though if you aren't Mormon, you are a second class citizen. Truth or trumped up myth?